We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay....excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Kilauea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Kilauea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One night stay....excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed our one night on the Big Island at Chalet Kilauea with the idea of staying very close to the volcano national park. The location of this hotel is excellent for this: maybe a 5-10 min drive to the park. Everything in the town of volcano is very accessible during the day from this location provided you have a vehicle.
We stopped in early to see if our room happened to be available are we're pleasantly surprised with the ability to check in quite early. Staff was pleasant and very helpful with map of area and directions to restaurants and park.
We stayed in the Continental Room and it was great! Quirky and cute in its decor, spacious enough for what we needed (king bed in bedroom, huge 2-shower head shower, nice sized kitchenette/desk area). No outdoor space in this room but we did not feel ripped off: the weather was cooler anyway and there is a beautiful shared outdoor space to use. Only bizarre thing for this room is layout of the three rooms, bedroom connects to bathroom and then bathroom connects to kitchenette. Didn't really bother us though, bathroom door shuts between each of the other rooms.
Grounds of hotel are beautiful! Didn't use the hot tub outside but looked nice. Didn't have the add-on continental breakfast but delicious hot coffee was offered at no additional cost (also coffee available to make in room)
Room had dehumidifier which was a bit loud but we just left it on while we were out of the room and turned it off when we wanted peace and quiet.
Beautiful little jungle retreat with all we needed in the perfect location for a day at the volcano park!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmtreeVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location to be convenient for your itinerary. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed the continental room and all it's provided amenities. We try to provide everything you might need and more while vacationing in Hawai'i, so we thank you for your wonderful comments on this. We hope to see you again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i!! Aloha and mahalo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    123
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
45
273
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in the Bamboo room, upstairs, overlooking the pond. Everything in the room was recently updated beautifully. Huge shower. Microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Nice bed linens and towels. An excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TJLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Aloha and mahalo for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are so excited to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Bamboo room. We did in fact recently upgrade that room and is one of our favorites!! It's also great that you found the amenities in the room helpful and made use of them:) Please come back and visit on any future trips to Volcano, Hawai'i. Aloha!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Tree House suite, and it was fabulous! So unique, and looking out the windows actually gave the sensation of being in a tree. The rooms were immaculate, very comfortable bed up the winding staircase and nice TV. WiFi worked fine. Spacious bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. Nice small private porch was fun, although we didn't use it. The grounds were pretty with the plantings and a fountain in the pond. Breakfasts were nothing special and were not included, so we opted to eat elsewhere. Would definitely recommend this!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mainelover136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Triapdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Treehouse suite. It's always great to hear about our guests' experiences and the things that they noticed or found helpful while they were here. The treehouse suite is great because of the "treehouse" feel!! Also, thank you for your comment on the cleanliness of the facilities. We do take pride in providing the cleanest rooms possible and also in the amenities you may need while staying with us (such as the wi-fi). We hope you will come back and visit us if ever in the area again!!! Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room of Chalet Kilauea and found it very peaceful and lovely, with its own little private veranda surrounded by greenery and gorgeous tropical blossoms. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were extremely friendly, insisting on struggling hard to print out Hawaiian Airlines boarding passes on our departure despite the malfunctioning airline web page!

Room Tip: Loved the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for providing your comments and feedback to the future guests of Chalet Kilauea!!! I have to say that the Garden room happens to be one of my favorites here, considering the beautiful rain-forest plants on the lanai. I'm glad you enjoyed the room as much as we do. It's always great to hear that our staff is persistent in doing what we can for our guests. Again thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again on any trips back to Volcano Village on the Big Island of Hawai'i!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in Africa room which was somewhat dark, not much space to pack out your luggage as room is small (worth bringing smart cloth hangers). Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and big. Kitchen on the patio was awesome. Excellent location, beautiful garden and pond, building has a really nice, friendly atmosphere. Breakfast is simple but delicious and reasonably priced. Wifi worked well. Literally 10 minute drive to Volcano National Park (which is accessible 24/7 - if you arrive late at night, you can go for night volcano or star watch at the National Park).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BoriandZoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Mahalo for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you made use of the kitchenette on the lanai of Africa's room. While Africa may be somewhat smaller than our other rooms, we do provide affordable rates compared to other offerings in the area. However, we always appreciate and welcome feedback on suggested improvements. While we may be unable to make the room larger, we will definitely look into the lighting situation. Again, we thank you for providing your review and welcome you back on any future vacations to Hawai'i!! Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We only spent one night here, but it was a quaint and funky (in a good way) place to stay while we were visiting the park. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very quiet and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are lush and green. These aren't luxury accommodations, but the room rates are comparatively reasonable and it's a nice respite from the mega-resorts on the other side of the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcalderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Aloha and thank you for reviewing Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are always happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we were able to be a part of it!! Most guests would agree with you, (as I do), that Volcano is a great change of pace from the usual resort feel found elsewhere on the islands. Volcano Village definitely offers a welcoming quietness, to relax and unwind after touring the area. We hope you come visit us again if ever in the area!! Mahalo and Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We recently returned from the big island, where we had a 2 nights stay at Kilauea Volcano Accommodations (name as found in Expedia). Simply to say, that it was my favorite lodge during our Hawaii trip. The atmosphere there was very cozy, artistic and all the rooms were very clean. The wi-fi was great, full connection up to our entire stay. But the real gem was the rain forest around, just amazing to wake up with singing birds, drinking your coffee, surrounded by hibiscus, just great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on Chalet Kilauea. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the surrounding beauty of our rain-forest. We definitely strive to keep our rooms and lodge clean and we thank you for noticing :) We hope you had an enjoyable vacation in Hawai'i, and of course, hope to see you again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
23.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Property: Chalet Kilauea
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing