We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Crater Lodge(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Hale(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Inn(Volcano)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilauea Lodge(Volcano)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Volcano Village Lodge(Volcano)
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ainani Jade Ohana Hotel(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
227
135
49
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
135
49
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi ponddeluxe bungalowspiral staircasevolcano national parkhuge showerperson showerspacious bathroomhot tubtree housefront officecontinental breakfastthe big islandelectric fireplacecoffee makerfruitflat screen tvunique place
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We had booked a smaller room with shared bathroom but changed that when checking in. We stayed on site with the pool and waterfall outside our window. It was worth the extra price as the room was lovely and spacious and had amenities we enjoyed like the fridge and microwave, and our own bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Clean, beautyful place to stay. Nice surrounding with a small waterplace, whirlpool and kind of forest. Quiet during the day and night. The chalet is short next to the volcano national park entrance and there is a general store nearby.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 246xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

I booked a room through Trip Advisor for a one night stay at Chalet Kilauea based on photos and reviews. It looked unique and beautiful, I loved the fireplaces and nice looking rooms and surrounding forest.

Upon check in, I was directed to nearby "Hale Volcano", or house, as this management runs three properties. It did not look anything like the photos. The room and house was dated and the bed was ancient and saggy, with the flattest 2 pillows I've ever seen. The shared bath was really smelly, like pure ammonia. There was duct tape on the floor to hold the industrial carpet down. The under-the-stairs room was decorated with plates and there was a lamp and a dehumidifier. Upstairs is a common area with a basic kitchen and fireplace, no place I wanted to hang out in.

For a budget traveler- say hostel or hiker- this would be adequate.
I was looking for something more romantic and cleaner, so I took the loss and booked a last minute room at another, more well-known lodge which ended up being worth the investment. When we checked out shortly after check-in the management did clarify Hale Volcano was the budget property and they could update us, but I declined.

This review is simply to clarify when booking at Chalet Kilauea you may be in another property. Perhaps the business needs to open other pages for each property? I may have enjoyed a stay at the one pictured in the photos.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank AreeshaRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

For a real Hawaiian experience as an affordable option for an overnight visit to National Volcano Park stay here. We arrived late at night and didn't realize until morning that we slept in a tropical forest! Check-in was in another location with designated afternoon hours just for that purpose. A retro little spot. Few amenities. Could use some updates, but overall a great place to sleep if you just need a place to lay your head overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debrajg0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our one-night stay in room 105. The chalet is about 10 minutes away from the Jagger Museum and allowed us to see the evening glow in the crater at night.

We had a two-story accommodation: bathroom and second sink on the first floor and bedroom on the second floor. Our room also included a balcony overlooking the local vegetation.

The hotel blends nicely with the surrounding, which made us feel like we were in the jungle or forest.

Complimentary tea and coffee are available in the lobby.

Two things we wished we had: better drainage for the sink in the bathroom (It was not a big deal since we were there for a night) and chairs to sit on the first floor. We found ourselves sitting on the ledge.

We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews