We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Volcano”
Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed overnight in Volcano and upgraded my original booking to the recently renovated room. Cant rememmber the name of the room. Had a nice stay, close to Volcano Park and a couple descent restaurants.

Room Tip: You need to stay overnight for at least 1 night to make it worthwhile visiting Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulrazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Aloha and thank you for leaving your comments on Lokahi Lodge. I definitely have to agree with you that maybe one night is not sufficient for exploring the volcano. There is soooo much to do here!! It's really great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and please come back and visit again. Mahalo and Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Lokahi Lodge (Naupaka room) in February. After a long hike we were looking forward to a comfortable place to stay. We were pleasantly delighted by the spacious room. It had a king bed and a queen bed. The beds were firm and comfortable. We were especially pleased with how clean (and fresh smelling) the room and the entry way were and no foreign objects anywhere. We enjoyed the little kitchenette for the few times we needed it. Large bathroom with tub. Large space to open luggage or whatever. Comfortable sofa and nice flat screen TV. Quiet location. We will stay here again when returning to Volcano and would recommend to anyone. A $6 continental breakfast was offered by we had other plans.

Room Tip: Felt this was a great deal for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lydia7798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Mahalo for reviewing the Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that you found the Naupaka room to be enjoyable and clean. We definitely have pride in keeping our rooms and living areas as clean as possible, so we are glad that you noticed!! We hope that you had a wonderful rest of your vacation here and hope to see you again on any future trips to Hawai'i. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wife and I spent two nights in the Halo room of the Lokahi Lodge. Found the room to be perfectly acceptable, a very nice bath area and plenty of room. No A/C but we knew that going in. The roof is not well insulated and the room will heat up during the day when the sun shines on it but will cool down quickly when the windows are opened and the breeze allowed to flow through. Rain can easily be heard on the roof also. Not complaining just noting it, in case others might have concerns about this. Did not eat the $6 breakfast, opted for a more robust breakfast at the Lava Rock Cafe. We found the location, grounds and building to be very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeperguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the grounds and location to be pleasurable. We always enjoy reading about our guests' experiences here and their comments or feedback. We welcome you back on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Again, mahalo and Aloha!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Unless you have no other choice than to arrive after dark, it would be best to arrive before. The Olena Room was a beautiful room down the road and around the corner from the main entrance. Continental breakfast was delicious--the taro breads were amazing and the fresh fruit was wonderful.
An easy drive to VNP.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do have to agree that arriving before dark is always recommended, as we are in a remote rain-forest of Hawaii, so it does get pretty dark here. However, our remoteness is what you and our other guests find so attractive about Volcano:) Thank you for your comments and recommendations and we hope to see you again on any future trips to Volcano, Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is no difference than a super well decorated private house. Every thing is included. Best place among my 2 weeks of stay in Hawaii. God why do I need 200 words to submit. Well, one of my regret during my vacation is that I didn't booked in this hotel for several more days. Only bad thing is probably that it is hard to find when there are fogs. But it would make you feel to be in paradise when you reach the house. Trust me, don't book for just 1 day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ooilioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Lokahi Lodge for Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback and happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. Come visit again on any future trips to Hawaii!!! Mahalo and Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lokahi Lodge. An affordable and very pleasant surprise. We wanted to stay near the volcano, but not pay $300 a night. Lokahi lodge had four large comfortable rooms! Our family reserved the Naupaka and Pamakani rooms. We loved them. Free WiFi, King beds, large bathrooms, sitting area, LCD TV. Views of the fern forest and the sound of lovely birds chirping was so relaxing. The Pamakani room is newly remodeled and has a beautiful bathroom with a double head rain shower. Most rooms have a separate door exiting directly on to the patio where there is a Jacuzzi hot tub. The Naupaka room would be perfect for a small family with an additional bed, a dinning room table, a fridge & microwave. Friendly & helpful staff.

Just minutes from the Volcano and yes it is worth it to return to the National Park and see the glowing volcano at night.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Mahalo for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and found the location to be convenient for your travel plans. We definitely have some of the best prices offered in the area considering the proximity of the national park. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the quiet peacefulness of our little village and also that you went to see the glow of the volcano!! That is my favorite part as well!! We are glad that you enjoyed the Pamakani and Naupaka rooms and we hope to see you again if you are ever in the area. Mahalo and Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The rooms are very nicely decorated, and the property is located on a quiet street, with mostly private homes. You pick up your key at the "Lodge" but the "standard rainforest room" that we booked is on a different street, about 5 minutes away. There is a small mini-fridge, but if you wanted to have breakfast you had to drive up to the main lodge...so we didn't bother with that, and ate breakfast at the Lava Rock Cafe in Volcano.

For our purposes, these accommodations were fine...there is a hot tub on the wraparound deck, and we did use it when we came back from visiting Volcanoes national park, as we got quite chilled waiting to view the active volcano's spewing smoke change to a reddish-pink as the night got dark.

Would consider booking here again, but would buy some breakfast supplies from a grocery store beforehand, so could have a quickie warm beverage and snack before heading out to the park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Mahalo for reviewing Lokahi Lodge on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to see the volcano in action. Thank you for your comments and recommendations and we hope to see you again on any future trips to Volcano, Hawaii.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
23.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#5 of 22 in Volcano
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range: £51 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing