We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great lodge in natural environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lokahi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lokahi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
1 review
“great lodge in natural environment”
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed at Lokahi Lodge. Great ambiance in the middle of volcano rain forest. The rooms were clean an spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyChristian_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    69
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
53
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay in Naupaka Room with a nice view into the rain forest. We loved the quiet and friendly atmosphere in the lodge and the relaxing place in front of the chimney. We liked to begin the day with a breakfast at the Inn at Volcano and to end the day with the view of glowing Halema'uma'u.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munichfrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, oOegon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed in the Loki room. We were very disappointed with the room. Unfortunately, I booked this room prior to a lot of the reviews that have recently been posted or I wouldn't have booked this. My reservation stated this room was fully renovated in 2006. A few things may have been updated but it still felt like 1972. Spa looked dirty.

I would advise paying the extra money to stay somewhere nicer. Luckily we were only here one night.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefultraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed at this place for 2 nights with my girlfriend in December 2008 and could not have been more disappointed. The bedrooms stunk like mothballs and mold to the point where we both physically plugged our noses when we opened the door to our room. If every other hotel in Volcano wasn't full for New Years we would have left right then. They only provided 2 thin pillows on the stiff old mattress and after a request for another pillow in the morning at the front desk we came back for night two with no additional pillows. Overall this was a 0 out of 10 in my book. Stay away!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronco808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Manager at Lokahi Lodge, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Minor mold can occur at any facility located within a rainforest. That being said, we take concerns like this very seriously! In early summer 2009, we employed several anti-mold systems at the Lodge. In particular dehumidifiers in the rooms, anti-mold paints, etc.. Mold is a “second resident” in Volcano Village at Volcanoes National Park. We are in a rainforest; the perfect environment for molds. In staying with us, I would not be concerned about the rooms or the property since we have addressed the issue and have had absolutely no incidents in well over 20 months. As a general public notice, I would, however, think about your sensitivity to molds vis a vis the National Park and surrounding area. You will undoubtedly encounter some mold in the park or on other rainforest trails as: rainforest is a beautiful, natural system of growth AND decay. You will not, however, encounter any with Lokahi Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We didn't really know what to expect, but the lodge was so beautiful and cozy! We stayed in the loft upstairs which has a king size bed and a single bed. It also has its own bathroom, dinning area and small "kitchen".

We had an amazing time there, it was warm at night and everything was very comfortable and clean!!

Definately recommend this for young people/couples and families. Especially if you want more than a room, more like your own little space :)

  • Liked — The decor! Unique, cozy feeling and beautiful
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank js86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

First of all, this is a 1970's-era suburban "ranch" style house operated as a hotel. It has five bedrooms, four on the ground floor and one upstairs. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The downstairs bedrooms also have an exterior entrance, in addition to the entrance from the hallway. Just as you would expect with a house, there is a common living room and kitchen.

There is no on-site staff. The check-in is at the "headquarters"--the Chalet Kilauea, a somewhat similar but nicer place, about a mile and a half away. Maid service is provided for the rooms, however.

There are no telephones in the rooms. There is, however, a telephone in the living room. Cell phone reception is spotty, but usually available. There is no Internet service, though there is free WiFi at the Chalet Kilauea, where there is also a Windows computer (old, slow, and prone to crashes) available for use.

The kitchen is well-stocked with plates and utensils. There is a common refrigerator. The kitchen is generally clean, with some exceptions. Prior guests appear to have left behind old food in the refrigerator. The refrigerator is a bit rusty. The dish rack was filthy. The toaster did not work well. One of the four burners on the stove was busted. There is no range-hood, such that when boiling something on the stove, the steam condenses on a moldy shelf above it and drips back into the food. The eating area is dark. A few of the lightbulbs were burned out.

The bathroom was small. There was a tiny shelf in our room that was not big enough to place toiletries on. The tub/shower was clean with plenty of hot water. The remainder of the bathroom was moldy, however. The toilet developed problems and was not flushable on two separate occasions.

The bedroom was also small. We booked a two-bed room, but were given one with a single queen bed. Consequently, we had to pay $15 a night extra for a "futon". (The clerk told us this was a discount from the normal $25/night, because of the "misunderstanding" regarding the number of beds.) The futon is just a well-worn tri-fold foam pad, about two inches thick. (There is no frame; it is placed on the floor.) The bedspread had an approximately two-inch irregularly boarded white stain on the middle of it. (I tried not to think about it.) The pillows and pillow cases were stained with darker matter. There was a large closet, but its sliding doors were blocked by placement within of a cheap, small dresser with a television atop. There was cable, with a good selection of television channels.

The area is very rainy and damp. The interior of the lodging was also damp. The bed, and especially the foam pad (ie "futon") were also damp and rather uncomfortable, as a result.

It is very noisy. Every step from the upstairs bedroom can be heard. The walls are thin and conversations and the television in adjoining rooms can also be readily heard. Every time the toilet is flushed or the faucets are run, the pipes whine. There is a pump for the septic system that activates briefly after every toilet flush, as well. With five bedrooms, averaging two people apiece, when full, there may be as many as ten people in the house at once, all coming and going at different times. This, of course, adds to the noise. (Since not everyone uses the kitchen, though, at most, we only dealt with about four or five other people in the kitchen at once, and often had it to ourselves.)

There is a hot tub on the back porch. The hot tub's location on the porch outside the bedrooms further adds to the noise. From our bedroom, we could hear its pumps running and all of the splashing about and the conversation of the guests using it, often late into the night.

The setting is very nice, but the grounds offer nothing to speak-of. The front yard is mainly a parking lot. The back yard is dominated by an above-ground septic tank, which is the main view from the kitchen window and the hot tub.

It is very bright at night, as there are exterior yellow "bug" lights set on a timer that do not go off until about 1:30 am. Consequently, the room is flooded with light coming in from the windows.

The location is very convenient. It is only about two miles away from the entrance to the national park. There are several restaurants and two small groceries in the adjacent town of Volcano Village.

In sum, its strengths are its location adjacent to the park and the access to a kitchen, for those who do not wish to dine at restaurants. The communal nature of the house forces one to meet other guests, which, although fun, can be a mixed bag, depending upon who else is staying with you. Its weaknesses are that it can be crowded, is noisy, not in the best repair, could be cleaner, and has no on-site staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Insufficient cleanliness and noise
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elastopathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to visit Volcano National Park. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of accommodations. Our room felt small but clean and comfortable. We had purchased food in Kona so we made full use of the houses common kitchen. The hot tub was also great after a day of hiking in the park.

There was only one other couple when we were there, but if all the rooms were full it could be awkward sharing the common areas and kitchen. Check in and out was very smooth.

  • Liked — The hot tub and kitchen
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.2 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Hale
Volcano Hale
#6 of 19 in Volcano
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokahi Lodge

Property: Lokahi Lodge
Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lokahi Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokahi Lodge is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. The lodge is less than a mile from the entrance of the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park and the many splendors and activities it has to offer. Lokahi Lodge blends modern convenience with country charm. Each of the carefully appointed guest rooms expresses warm aloha, delicately and beautifully furnished for your pleasure with cable TV, modern bathrooms with showers, and amenity centers with microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. This property fronts the beautiful and unique Volcano Village rainforest! The following is located on site: free WIFI and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lokahi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokahi Lodge (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Lokahi Lodge Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing