We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #40 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Inspired by Italian trattoria cuisine, culture, and conversation, Romano's Macaroni Grill has been proudly serving unforgettable meals that leave a lasting impression to our deserving guests since 1988 - with knowledge, care and Italian charisma infused in everything we do. At Romano's Macaroni Grill, we know that for our guests any night out is a big night out - and it is our responsibility and privilege to treat it as such. That's why we start every meal off right: With a bottle of wine at the center of the table, while you explore our menu of expertly handcrafted rustic dishes and Italian classics. Warm distinctive touches, like our signature honor system wine and bustling open kitchen, create a memorable, sensory experience that you'll remember long after you leave the table.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Close to home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We live on the Big Island of Hawaii and believe it or not there are not that many franchise restaurants in our area. Just a handful. Macaroni Grill is one of them.
We go here often when we want certain pasta dishes. They are very nice- they even substituted my dish from shrimp to chicken with no issues. Being allergic to seafood is no fun on an island....
But they made sure there was no cross contamination to worry about!
We will continue to visit this great place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    237
    181
    109
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant overall!! Food was good not to much of a selection, decent kids menu. Very classy place yet still a great family friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kahikahiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Menu changed over the last few weeks. Not as many options to choice from. Ordered pasta with meat sauce and very little meat sauce. Mentioned to server but she did not seem to care. Not very busy considering a long weekend, scary.... Will not be back even though we own a place in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rushed and hurried ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for 7 to calibrate mothers day on Saturday night since I work on Sunday.
When I called on Thursday I asked what tome would work for them. They said 5:30 or 7:30. Since we had my elderly parents I took 5:30. We arrived at 5:15 and they gave us a booth for 6. My wife asked if we could have a table for 7. No. They pulled a chair up on the end so we were all smashed together.
The waitress who never gave her name wanted to take our orders before we all had menus. After we had a chance to look at the selections they took our orders and the food was delivered quickly.
The food was great but as we were elbow to elbow w places overlapping it wasn't an enjoyable experience.
The waitress cleared our places and was serving coffee while my wife was still trying to eat.
The bill with tip percentages pre calculated to help us w the math was presented.
We were in and put in an hour. $280. Thanks
Come see us again.
Probably not.

Helpful?
Thank RKL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were very please with the quality and quantity of the food as well as the excellent service. My glass of water never got empty

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing