We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Family Weekend”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Until reading the reviews I didn't realize that the HGVC had a lot of kids staying there. The only other one we've stayed at was in Las Vegas. Not too many kids there...

We just came back from a weekend at King's Land in Waikoloa and I am impressed. We all had a great time.

I did some reading. It looks like Building 21 and 22 (we stayed in 21) were completed in 11/2012. I guess that's why the carpet in the hallway still smells new? Like other reviews have shared, the room was very clean and well appointed. There was even a rice cooker. When in Rome... :-) We stayed in a two bedroom condo. The master had an on suite bathroom with shower only, the main bathroom was fairly spacious and had a soaking tub in it. There was a flat screen TV in each room and the living room. The living room TV was connected to a Sony Playstation. There were movies, blu-rays, and games available in the complimentary movie kiosks. It took a little figuring to get the Playstation input to work. Ours was on input "HDMI 2," FWIW. The washer/dryer was GREAT to have in the room. But it was counter-intuitive to have to switch on the energy-saver thing. You'll know it when you see it. The washer is plugged into the energy-saver, and the energy saver is plugged into another device that is connected to the water hoses.

We were on the ground floor with golf course view. Building 21 is directly across from the Clubhouse. That works well because the pool is directly behind the clubhouse. It was just a short walk to get there.

The pool was fantastic. It feels like a mini version of the Hilton Waikoloa Resort pool. The kiddie pool with sand and kiddie slide is on one end. There is also a "sports" pool with a volleyball net and basketball hoop. Just next to that is the waterslide area. One enclosed and two open. Following along the larger pool you get to some waterfalls and a "misty grotto." That's not in the brochure, I'm just calling it that. There were misters at either side that kept the middle of the grotto concealed. Inside there is another waterfall. The pool gets wide and long enough in some areas to throw a ball or frisbee. We hit a volleyball around a bit.

We ate at the Bistro twice. Both times the food was good and the service was great. I can see what some people don't like the closing time of 6pm. Luckily, the Queen's and King's shops are close by, and they hold many restaurant options.

I recommend taking advantage of the activity schedule. There are TONS of cool things going on. The kids especially liked the "shaved ice" snack. (1p-1:30p on Sunday, as of this review). There were also cultural demonstrations and we were sad to miss towel origami.

It helps that it seemed to be a slow weekend. The resort wasn't crowded at all. I was pleasantly surprised at the hospitality of ALL of the employees. When we stayed in Las Vegas the service was NOT up to this level. I was also happy to see how family friendly the resort was. From the cool pools and activities to DVD rentals, the kids were happy the whole time.

We will definitely be staying here again.


** The 3* mark on location is just because you're in Waikoloa. It's self-contained and you can get whatever you need, but you're very far away from anything else on the island.

Room Tip: Building 21 and 22 are Phase II. I believe these rooms are not decorated as ornately as the previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    446
    126
    41
    27
See reviews for
1,055
579
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Absolutely wonderful place. VERY clean. We had a Junior Suite during our stay in building 21. Washer/Dryer in the room was very convenient for us. Complimentary Redbox type new movie takeouts every night. The service, concierge, and staff were very warm to us. Bathroom and full kitchen were VERY well stocked. We had access to the main resort down the road as well. Being vegetarian, though, their continental breakfast options were very limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, co, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Reserved the Hilton Waikaloa for a week - asked to be moved to Kingsland condos because we took along our 14-year old granddaughter. Could not have asked for more or better condo, service, food and facilities. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Best hospitality ever. Very helpful in every way. Wonderful Luau permitting pictures with the entertainers. Was a real treat. Would definitely go there again. You do not even need to leave the resort. It has everything. Although you do need to see all the beaches and parks on the Big Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We had stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa on our honeymoon, but wanted the flexibility of the condos for our return anniversary trip 15 years later. We had a 1 bedroom unit in Bld 22 and very happy with the layout. Everything we needed for a great week long vacation. The adult pool was perfect, able to chill out in peace and quiet. It was a shame the pool bar closed so early (6pm) but quite happy to hang out on our balcony with some wine after relaxing in the hot tub. The DVD 'rental' was handy for catching up with some movies too. Only reason for 4 stars rather than 5 was the construction in Bld 6. The beeping of the construction traffic was very noisy, so not much opportunity to sleep late. Apart from that a very enjoyable stay. Would return in future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nikimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I prefer condo type lodging rather than a standard hotel room. The staff was friendly and property is well maintained. Restaurants within a mile and golf within 6 blocks. I find it hard to believe some people could rate this property low. Then again they would probably find something wrong with a $600 room at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I don't recommend staying at the King's Land Hilton. Their 2 bedroom plus is too small for 6 people. The guest bedroom closets and drawers were very hard to open. The swimming pool is across the street. I'm ready to sell this timeshare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo V. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Kings’ Land. While I understand your concern regarding the size of some of our two bedroom suites, I must remind you that we do have larger suites available as well, including three bedroom suites. All of these would be on the same side of the street as the Super Pool and Clubhouse, although the buildings that you stayed in are actually within close proximity to the Clubhouse too.

I will definitely check on the issues you had with the closets and drawers as well. These are all “self closing” pieces, and relatively new. We’ll make sure they’re working properly during our room inspection process. If you should return to Waikoloa, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can ensure we meet your expectations.

Wilbert Lee, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
5.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.8 mi away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-699 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5712
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations resort is a stunning hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii in the heart of Waikoloa. Reminiscent of a lush, Hawaiian plantation and nestled among championship golf courses and the beauty and serenity of the Kohala Coast. Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations hotel provides the perfect setting for your vacation in the South Pacific. Treat yourself to spectacular hotel accommodations with spacious one and two bedroom suites incorporating a casually elegant tropical style and featuring a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas with wood-style flooring, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and granite countertops throughout. Enjoy flat-screen HD TVs, an enhanced entertainment sound system, and Wi-Fi. The master bedroom has a king bed, while the master bath has a luxurious sculptured tub and shower. Step out onto your own private lanai equipped with comfortable sofas and chairs, and enjoy the serene surroundings and tropical breezes of Waikoloa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings` Land By Hilton Grand Vacations Club Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing