We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Place”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Its a bit out of the way and amongst the lava fields so don't be shocked by that. I highly suggest you go to the informational breakfast they have the morning after you arrive to learn about all the lovely things to do that the island has to offer. staying here you're in a good location to visit all over the isalnd but you're not in the thick of it...that seems to be a bit further south in Kona Proper. But we got to see and do everything! The bathroom was a bit smaller than we're used to and the tub/shower was very disappointing but if you're going to be out most of the time then save some $$ staying here. However, I must say our view was fantastic...we had ocean view and it was worth it. I've never seen such amazing sunsets!! The grounds, pool and beach are great!

Room Tip: Definitely get ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    1,123
    394
    136
    61
See reviews for
754
1,407
77
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I've stayed here years ago and still love it. This hotel is on the nicest beach on the Big Island...called A Bay. The grounds are superb. And the beach is quiet and what you expect a Hawaiian island paradise to look like. Don't let the drive through the desolate moonscape, as you drive there, sway you. You will be impressed! An 'ocean view' room overlooks a courtyard and then on to the ocean. To me, this was a quieter room than the 'Ocean front' room, which overlooks the pool, and the bar. Sometimes there will be loud music there due to a luau or music being played. The beach is not directly under the hotel... you have to take a very short stroll to get there, so you won't hear the waves from the room. Be careful you don't step on a sea turtle on the beach. The law states you sent to disturb or touch them. And no, they aren't dead. If you watch... They take breaths every few minutes or so. If you walk out onto the little jetty,you can sometimes see the sea turtles swimming, and I've even seen three sting rays swim by. If you luck out on the sea turtles, drive north on the highway as you leave Waikoloa and stop in at Puako. Park across from the Catholic Church at the beach access and go walk on the rocks. The turtles are plentiful in the pools there. The decor at this hotel is retro. I like it. Not too fond of the platform beds.... Don't feel as luxurious as the old for some reason. But love sitting out on the lanai and looking out at the view. This hotel has ancient fish ponds, and a cat sanctuary, and petroglyphs on the grounds. Look for bright, mustard-colored finch pairs on the grass. And the Queen's shopping center is just across the street. There is a little grocery store with limited choices, but you can find sushi or a hotdog or sandwich for cheap.... Plus tons of souvenirs. Look for the pond in the back of the shopping center, and do yourself a favor and order shrimp and fries at the little window in the back. A hidden treasure. The trolley stops right in front of the hotel and will take you down the road to the King's shopping center. There is a Starbucks and Macaroni Grill, and a big grocery store that the locals shop at. The. Marriott has coffee and scones in the foyer. When you check in, you get a coupon for either a couple Mai tai's at the bar, or two coffees at the coffee shop. The $25/ day you pay to park is worth it to make sure your car is safe. There are break-ins on occasion elsewhere. This island has nine different ecosystems on it. Something for everyone. If you drive around the island, make sure you go to Akaka falls... Not just because it is fun to say. It's beautiful, too! You will find something that takes your breath away, if you come to the Big Island. There is nothing like Hawaii at Christmas!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible. Ocean 'view' if you want quiet. Ocean 'front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank optique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We met here for a family reunion around Christmas 2013. The hotel was just right for us. Although it did not have the super high end appearance and amenities of some resorts, it served everyone's needs and allowed us to have a nice time relaxing and enjoying the big island. The pool is beautiful, with a water slide and a heated infinity pool. The pool did not seem crowded. There are kids here, but not as many as I have seen at other resorts. The sun is very intense and the pool experience would be improved with more umbrellas or canopies to provide some shade.

The lobby and the lanai are spacious and did not seem crowded even though the hotel was at capacity while we were here. The gym was crowded most mornings and early evenings. Generally there are enough machines, although there was often a wait for the elliptical machines.

The beach was pretty, with turtles coming up now and then. The shave-ice vendor was nice.

Food in the one on site restaurant was "ok." Specialty dinners were buffet style and very expensive and nothing special. Other local dining options are available. Make sure you rent a car. The coffee shop was open only for a few hours in the morning. Cheap take out options are available at the Queen's Marketplace, which is a short walk from the hotel.

The overall decor at the Marriott is nice. The hotel is not brand new or the latest designs, but nothing really to complain about. The guest room TVs were excellent--large screen and full HD picture. Wifi worked well enough, but was spotty on occasion.

This hotel would benefit from more planned activities like hula classes, lei-making, etc. The classes are offered, but they filled up quickly and were not available on most days.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 20488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent location, enjoyed my pool view room. Wonderful king bed. One problem was the 24 hour access to the pool. There was a very load group of people one night (early hours of the morning). Security didn't move them on until guests started complaining. Great restaurants within walking distance, especially the atmosphere of the Lava Lava Club, where you can enjoy a great sunset. Don't need to go on a snorkeling tour. There were more fish swimming directly infront of the resort than on the snorkeling trip. You will need to hire a car if you wish to do your own exploring. Concierge were very helpful in organising trips for us especially Rebecca Frack from Expedia. The least helpful person here was the the Hertz Car Hire person, unfortunately I'm not sure of his name.

Room Tip: Be aware pool view rooms are great, but there might be some noise due to late night revellers. Perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineS848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Not as keen on this stay as last year. No updates to hotel. Hawaii calls restaurant has limited menu, ate the Happy Hour pupu platter. Disappointment. Consisted of 5 onion rings, 3 chicken wings, and 2 pork and cheese quesadilla slices. Not worth $13.

Kid friendly. Pools and slide are nice.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Marriott is not widely known for its environmental practices. They ask you to reuse towels and it is framed as an environmental request. Sad really as it is so blatantly self serving. No recycle bins. No "reward" for reusing your towels andsheets as Starwood does.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderBayandSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Upon arrival this is a high end area of hotels and shops. There is a free shuttle to drive you around the immediate area.

The front desk staff was limited, slow and unhelpful. We requested and paid for a specifc range of rooms with ocean front pricing. We were given a room with a limited view of the ocean set way off the beach. We had a lovely view of the restaurant roof.

Upon complaining and seeing several choices of rooms we finally had to accept the best of what they had to offer. Luckily we had printed off their website the different color coded levels of rooms and ours was clearly not the level we booked. The front desk staff argued and even tried to say we were in a different room until we pulled out the property layout.

A manager was unavailable to help us until much later and eventually and adjusted the price to garden view after much discussion and investment of our time.

The property is large and nicely laid out. There are plenty of pools and whirlpools to choose from. The beach is large and mainly unused. There were salt ponds built around the volcanic rocks filled with a variety of native fish. There were many signs to identify the different species.

The luau was close to the pools and was loud. Prior to the luau we got to see them prepare the area for the pig to be buried in the ground for the evening dinner. We heard a conch shell horn but did not realize this was to alert people who wanted to go watch. We just happened upon it but got to see most of it. The two young men doing the hard labor were informative and interesting and answered all our questions. They even let the small children help do some of the digging with shovels.

The room was spacious, however, the decor was strange for an island feel. Crushed velvet is not what I would have anticipated. The cushions on the couch were uncomfortable and needed updating. The balcony was adequate but not huge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent a fabulous 6 day vacation on the Big Island with the Waikoloa Beach Marriott as our home base. The hotel is bright and airy with spacious lobby open to pool and ocean view, and convenient to an upscale shopping district with plenty of food options beyond the hotel restaurant which is quite pricey, though daily dinner specials make up for that somewhat. We found the service just fine, better than some of the comments I'm seeing. The internet connection was very problematic, sometimes ok but pretty much every day there was a problem that required spending several minutes on the phone with tech support to reboot and get you a connection. The hotel managers very quickly waived the daily resort fee ($25) as soon as we brought it to their attention, which was the right thing to do and softened the inconvenience somewhat. Only other annoyance to us (though apparently not to other guests according to staff) was that soundtrack in the lobby featured non-stop American Christmas carols throughout our stay. We love Christmas as much as anyone, but didn't come to Hawaii to have American pop music follow us. Ironically, before flying out we listened to a great soundtrack at the airport which featured Hawaiian Christmas music, a unique and pleasant sound. That would have made our Marriott stay much better. Overall though, we had a very good experience at the Marriott and would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing