We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice base for travel all over the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights stay. Had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and restaurant, but noise was not a problem. Bed was very comfortable with Marriott linens. We noted ample drawer space in the king room. The mini fridge and safe were especially nice amenities and there were plenty of outlets for charging our photo batteries and phones. Balcony was very spacious and delightful. Parking was really tight, and since we returned late in the evening, we found it hard to find spaces. Self parking included in $25 resort fee, and for a little more each night, we could have used Valet parking which would have solved the problem. We were able to use the "free" wifi with our smart phones.
Be sure and attend the Expedia welcome the next morning when you arrive. Lots of information, great local maps, and even restaurant recommendations for the entire island. Even if you don't sign up for one of the tours, we found that it was invaluable for our trip planning.
External grounds were well kept up and unlike other Marriotts, there were plenty of beach loungers at the pool and out by the ocean which were available.
The hotel furnishes icy water flavored with pineapple on a table near the check in desk. It isn't put out until about 10:30 AM, but is wonderful to put in your water bottles as you wonder around since the tap water in the rooms isn't very good.
The gourmet grocery down the road in the Queens center provided us with some dinner meals at a reasonable price when we were running late, and it was delightful to sit outside and eat. They also sell bottled water at a very reasonable price. There's a little food court around the back side on the other end of the shopping area with multiple fast food type places.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Waikoloa is very far from Kona. It is actually, a $60 cab drive from the Airport (18 miles).

Once you're in Waikoloa, visiting Kona can get expensive (about $90 cab ride) and time consuming. On a weeknight, everything in Kona closes at around 8:30pm, except for a couple of restaurants. I wouldn't even bother going there for dinner.

However, there's plenty to do in Waikoloa. There's a shopping area with stores, cafes and restaurants, so driving to Kona perhaps is not necessary. A big plus! If you look in one of the Kona brochures, you can find a lady that gives ukulele lessons. It doesn't get more Hawaiian than that! She teaches in Waikoloa so look her up. I am musically challenged. I took a one hour lesson and learned to play many songs! It was a nice cultural experience!

The beach is peaceful (no waves), and there's an area with lots of lava rocks and coral where you can find sea turtles!!! The landscape is very nice.

We got our room via a booking website. It was advertised for $229 or $249 (can't remember).
Upon check in, we got hit with a "resort fee". However, it came with two free mai tais. The mai tais were not runny nor skimpy. They were the real deal, so I guess they "made it right"(?). However I find such "hidden/surprise/unmentioned fees" unethical, but "Aloha and welcome to Hawaii" (but that's a different story).

We got a cabana. The room was big with a nice big bathroom with nice quality toiletries.

The room was very nice, however, we could hear the upstairs guests' steps up and down their room. I think the upstairs room should have more padding/sound proofing on the floors. The next morning, we could hear EVERYTHING the family next door was saying to each other. There were two loud kids being "bratty" and their parents trying to discipline them. Luckily it was our last day and we had to get up early anyway, other wise it would've been very annoying to be awaken by loud bratty kids. I suggest the hotel sound proofs the walls between the cabanas.

The breakfast buffet was about $22+/person. It was all you can eat and it was delicious. Pancakes, waffles, fruits, meats, omelette bar, cereal, juice, yogurt, etc.

If it weren't for the loud steps above, and the family next door, I would've given this hotel another point or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the uppermost level to avoid hearing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamifiwant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Administrative Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding our resort fee. We work hard with all our travel partners to make sure that information is available to all our guests in advance. We do take all feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve, so your review is helpful. Thanks for all the nice comments as well and it sounds like you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Although the hotel could use some sprucing up the location and beach are fabulous! We stayed in the cabana which was large, comfortable and private. Breakfast was wonderful- many choices and options! We rented a car- necessary and got a special travelers package to park with discounts at breakfast- good deal! Pools are super and the beach activities were great! We were given the opportunity to use a hospitality room to change and shower in as we were leaving late at night and wanted to take advantage of the resort during the day. Ask for it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaErickaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I am very surprised how quiet it feels at the Marriott despite it being completely booked. We have a lower floor room and haven't heard a footstep or a peep from above or next to us. The room is comfortable and the beach is perfect. Beautiful sunsets, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is nice, just dated. The carpets were dated and worn, especially the carpet in our room. The double beds were good, but not great. The best parts of this hotel are the AMAZING sunsets, the view, the beach, the hot tubs at night. The pools are pretty nice as well. They can just get crowded with kids during the day. And, for the last week in January, there were quite a few kids there. The hotel has very good food, if you find the right items, but it is pricey. We were there for a conference, and we had a bar during some of the meals. The bartenders that we had for our events were EXCELLENT - very friendly, and GREAT drinks!! The bartenders at the restaurant bar were not as good. And, a nice surprise was getting to see sea turtles at the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBaumgartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel is beautiful and getting there is the only problem. Taxis and shuttle buses will cost you at least US$50 or more. You really need a car to enjoy this island and I felt that the roads were quiet enough that I could brave driving on the right hand side. I was only there 2 nights and 3 days but will go back one day for a longer stay and hire a car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirroulAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I spent 8 lovely nights on the Big Island in January 2014. This hotel is very pretty - but the Leisure Manager and front desk staff could use replacing or at least new training! I emailed a month ahead of our stay to the manager, and then again a week prior, and thank goodness I saved her emails because the front desk staff contradicted EVERYTHING she told me when we came to check in. After lying to us about resort fee being non-optional (it IS optional for Gold members) and our claiming our reservation was Garden 2-Double Beds (NOPE, manager email to me confirmed Pool and King) we finally got a decent room. Front desk couldn't have been more rude and condescending - even telling us we weren't Gold?!? - then checked with another manager who confirmed we were. Anyway - annoying and rude - throughout our trip, I was convinced the front desk is trained to answer NO to anything you ask.
Only 1 restaurant in hotel - could really use another one - but good options are in mall across the street. The infinity pool is NOT infinity - it looks out over pool chairs, umbrellas, etc - guess they didn't know the definition of what an infinity pool should be when the built it!
The wifi was ok, but kicked us off after the first couple days. Had to call the IT dept help desk a few times to manually log us in. Waste of time, but it worked eventually.
Pool view rooms are nice with views of ocean too. The hotel is set further back - not directly on - the beach, so any ocean view rooms are set away from the water. Lovely sunsets every night.

Room Tip: We were pool view in Kamehameha wing and it was a great view of ocean too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Administration Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication upon check-in. We take these comments seriously and will use this feedback to further train our staff. We are pleased that our Leisure Manager was able to speak with your husband when you were on property and address some of these issues, though we did not fulfill our goal of surpassing your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and would be happy to assist you personally with any future reservations. Please feel free to contact our Director of Operations at 808-886-6789.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £195 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing