We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked through Hotwire, and felt lucky to get the Marriott. Though on arrival our room was a bit disappointing. We think was an accessible room, which meant that there were no sitting chairs in the room, and it wasn't possible to adjust the showerhead to a height appropriate for my spouse to shower. (he's 5'11")

Also, we never got housekeeping. They hadn't come by 4:45pm and we happened to take a shower between then and 5:00, and I guess we just missed our chance.

Beach was lovely, pools were pretty good. There were lovely places to hang out in and around the public areas of the hotel. It was relaxing and gorgeous so disappointing room and housekeeping experience didn't ruin it for us. We still really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Garden View room still had a partial view of the ocean. Avoid 3134 unless you need accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashirayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    1,146
    402
    139
    63
See reviews for
790
1,427
78
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I did not have good experience with the staff. Escalated to Mr Salat the director of operations who would not honor a Marriott hotel credit coupon. If you have a promotion or award that you expect you may be out of luck. I have had five different people look at the coupon and all believe it should have been honored.

The negatives were the staff and the restaurant. The food was bad for two meals and only OK for another two. Overpriced and lower quality than restaurants across the street at the shopping mall.

The good parts were the wading pool for smaller kids and the water slide for slightly older. The beach is relatively quiet and not a lot off people. The have an activity company at the beach for glass bottom boats, snorkeling, ...

Five different trips to Hawaii over the last 3 years, this hotel and experience was at the bottom of the list. There are better alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hey_scott_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Waikoloa Beach Marriott at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your coupon. We work hard to make sure that information is available to all our guests in advance. Marriott offers numerous promotions and unfortunately these discounts and coupons are specific to certain geographic areas and hotel brands. Our restaurant prices are in line with similar properties in this area and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please contact our Director of Operations at 808-886-6789 if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for a week with a rental car and drove all over the island. It was a nice room on the 5th floor with a nice view. Be ware that there is a $25 dollar fee after you check in that covers parking and internet, and several other things we didn't use.... Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was pretty good, but for 25ish bucks I wouldn't have done it more then once if it wasn't included in our deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed ten nights at this hotel/resort. Our stay was great. We used it as our central location for traveling around the island. The Expedia representative was helpful with setting up some excursions. We did budget ourselves. The restaurant is expensive, including the breakfast so we ate every day at the market near the hotel. The pool and beach access is superb. Pool side drinks are a highlight but I recommend getting the specials which are about $7 compared to $14-25. The view from our room was lacking but we weren't planning on spending all our time in the hotel. There is a resort fee of $25 per day which covers your parking, etc. we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to first time Hawaii travelers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a great two weeks here. No it's not the Ritz (did that in Maui) but there was a really nice vibe to the place. The rooms were very comfortable, kept very clean, and we enjoyed our balcony overlooking the pool/ocean. The beds were super comfy too. We especially loved walking beyond the beach in front of the hotel (A-Bay) south to our own very private beach where we could swim and snorkel all on our own. The Honu (sea turtles) joined us on our last snorkel there. I was so excited by all the humpback whale activity right in front of the hotel as well. Mothers and their babies were breaching everyday. Also the best sunset on the Big Island is at A-Bay. The Queen’s Market is just a short walk away where we purchased many great Bento Boxes (amongst other yummy things) to eat back at the pool. Can’t complain about anything, and wish we were still there. We have just returned home to Toronto and have had to go from no pants to snow pants!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizzie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Best fire dancer anywhere! Wed night luau food was ok and show was good. And the fire dancer was just incredible! Hotel is nice. Everything is overpriced of course. We used the room as a base to tour the whole island but could easily have stayed in resort the whole time and enjoyed lovely pools and beach.
A

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights stay. Had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and restaurant, but noise was not a problem. Bed was very comfortable with Marriott linens. We noted ample drawer space in the king room. The mini fridge and safe were especially nice amenities and there were plenty of outlets for charging our photo batteries and phones. Balcony was very spacious and delightful. Parking was really tight, and since we returned late in the evening, we found it hard to find spaces. Self parking included in $25 resort fee, and for a little more each night, we could have used Valet parking which would have solved the problem. We were able to use the "free" wifi with our smart phones.
Be sure and attend the Expedia welcome the next morning when you arrive. Lots of information, great local maps, and even restaurant recommendations for the entire island. Even if you don't sign up for one of the tours, we found that it was invaluable for our trip planning.
External grounds were well kept up and unlike other Marriotts, there were plenty of beach loungers at the pool and out by the ocean which were available.
The hotel furnishes icy water flavored with pineapple on a table near the check in desk. It isn't put out until about 10:30 AM, but is wonderful to put in your water bottles as you wonder around since the tap water in the rooms isn't very good.
The gourmet grocery down the road in the Queens center provided us with some dinner meals at a reasonable price when we were running late, and it was delightful to sit outside and eat. They also sell bottled water at a very reasonable price. There's a little food court around the back side on the other end of the shopping area with multiple fast food type places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing