We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
la verne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is my fifth visit to this island and this hotel. Decided to try the Kona Courtyard for a couple of days prior to moving back here. This hotel always has that great "Hawaiian Aloha" feel.
I called ahead to ask for an early check in if possible. I arrived at noon and a great Ocean Front room was immediately available. I will admit that I am a long time Platinum Marriott member but don't know what influence that has.
The staff has always been great. Our housekeeper was always there with our extra towel request.
The 2 pools were crowded but I am told that is to be expected this time of year (I usually come in late October/early Nov) But I was always able to get a nice, clean lounge. You can always take a short walk to the beach with a lot of chairs available there also.
The short walk to the Queens court shopping area allowed us the option of getting some snacks and drinks to stock the room.
As usual the hotel food was very good with some great "deals" including one night at 50% off ALL entrees. WOW! The morning buffet was great as usual. Great way to start the day. This, along with the nightly hotel drink and "pupu" specials make this a wonderful place to either eat at the hotel or venture out within walking distance.
As in the past, we had a late flight out on Sunday night. The hotel was full and late checkout wasn't available BUT we were allowed to use a "hospitality room" that night around 7 to clean up before heading to the airport. GREAT service.
Thanks again to all at the Marriott, especially Annette behind the scenes.
We will definitely return next year!!

Room Tip: Inside pool view near the end of either two end towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richarddbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    1,114
    385
    135
    60
See reviews for
741
1,393
76
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights and wished for three more. It is in a beautiful area, right on the beach. We loved the pool area, and the bar that is attached. We received tickets for two free Mai Tais and they are delicious. Bought a few too.There was a net one convention going on but it is a big hotel so never appeared overly crowded. They were booked full so we couldn't get a room facing the beach but we did get a nice room facing the volcano park. A side view from the balcony and we could see the pool and beach. This island is very different from Maui and Oahu. The volcanic activity, both past and recent is apparent everywhere. So many sights around to see. Take a drive to Volcano National park and see the lava flowing. We did pay for parking but it was very reasonable and not far to walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked a room for a week about two months in advance
When we arrived at the Marriott to unload and check in our travel bags at the main entrance, the attendant said we could not park there and demanded our car rental keys , jumped into the driver seat and speeded off to a distant parking space.
When we tried to check in at the main desk, was told our room booked two months prior was not ready.
Checking in had additional challenges ,
We paid in full for our accommodation when we booked the hotel, But they demanded an additional $600 to be held on a credit card as security .
This was explained to us as we checked in.
When we returned to recover our car rental , the attendant had to look for our car key and criticized the quality of our rental
When he found the car keys he handed them to my passenger and not to the person who gave the keys to him.
The room was cleaned every daily
Our privacy please sigh disappeared, And we had to make one
At the pool all the lounge chairs had scruff on the arms from over the years on use.
The Marriott tried to bill us for foor we didnot order.
Our flight back to Boston we scheduled for late evening but we checked out at noon because we could not get a paid extension to stay later.
So, we were roomless for the day.
The local King and Queen Plaza was ok.

Room Tip: Cannot help you with this selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your experience. Please accept our apologies for the numerous challenges you encountered. Our friendly valet staff holds keys to all vehicles in the front entrance and we usually have a few spaces available for limited parking. If you stayed with us during a period of high occupancy we would not have been able to accommodate a late check-out. We do have hospitality rooms available and we apologize if this option was not offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed end of Feb into early March & despite being rained out, island-wide, for most of our visit, we enjoyed this property.

PROS--
* Location: We like Waikoloa > Kailua-Kona, but that's just us.

* Excellent Staff: started with check-in, when my husband was nice to the agent, and she waived our "resort/parking fee" for our entire stay! Everyone is incredibly friendly and nice. Housekeeping & room service were super prompt & nice, we asked if they had a microwave we could use to heat up some leftovers from Sombat's Thai (a must try when in Hilo!) & the next thing we knew, there was housekeeping bringing a microwave to our room with two place settings!

* Pools/Jacuzzis open 24/7--this is nice when you get back late and want to relax

* Proximity to the bay/beach

* Small Lanai w/chairs--beautiful view of the ocean

CONS:
* Can't think of any!

If ever on the Island of Hawaii, this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: * Book an ocean view--it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBibimbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel itself wasn't too bad it is the travel desk that I have the problem with. We spent a lot of money booking excursions through this desk. We had to take a taxi to the Manta Ray dive, this dive was cancelled when we were in our wetsuits, we then had to take another taxi back to the Marriott all up $150 round trip. We were not happy because we felt that there should have been a shuttle bus (we couldnt get a hire car) or better weather report warnings before we left. After much going back and forth with the Expedia desk and Manta Dive were promised that we would be refunded the cab fare. This has not happened of course, as we expected, but pretty disappointing treatment from Expedia and the Dive people. Be careful if you dont have a car with this excursion it is subject to weather and can change rapidly as we found out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you encountered with your Manta Ray excursion. As you know these are both outside vendors. We have shared your comments with the Expedia Desk and would ask that you follow up with them to rectify your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very clean and spacious resort with everything you may want. My husband and I spend a week here and was very easy to get to shopping via trolley or opted for walk, either way very short distance to stores and restaurants. Beautiful lush landscape, pool and furnishings. The only downside was the food At the resort was a bit bland, but definitely recommend eating at IMARI WITH A SAMPLER TRAY OF SAKI.

Room Tip: Ask for water view to whale watch all day!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank univac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We found the resort to have everything we needed at a reasonable price. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, quiet and spacious. The beds were delightful. The beach and pool always had room. We opted for the beach as the pool had a lot of children running around. The restaurant served a good breakfast and lunch. It was adequate for dinner but for us, we like a bit more gourmet. The staff were very nice. Concierge, very knowledgable. Many stores and and a few chain restaurants were a short walk. Many 5 star restaurant choices within a short drive. Hotel was convenient for most activities. A long drive to the volcano park, black sand and green sand beaches. I was disappointed that there was no concierge lounge for platinum members (although they did discount the breakfast buffet down to $20 from $29). I would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing