We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was still there....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there....”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My partner and I were trying to do Hawaii on a budget and found a great deal for the Marriott through Hotwire at $115 per night, without it we wouldn't have been able to stay there. Our reservation for 5 nights in a standard garden view was upgraded to a pool view and we could see the bay beyond that as well. The room was great, lots of space, good AC, clean, best sleep I had in two weeks. We did not use the restaurant (too much $$) but instead went to the food court or stores at Queens shops. Lovely pool area, not too many kids when I was there and always an empty lounger. I'd rather stay at the Marriott than the HUGE Hilton next door. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, if only it was a little closer to the UK....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    1,118
    387
    135
    60
See reviews for
746
1,396
76
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location is about 30-40 minutes from the Kona airport, seemingly in the middle of a barren lava field, but once you get closer it's like an oasis, surrounded by 2 nice shopping centers, as well as several good restaurants that are less expensive than the Hotel, where we paid $20 for a sandwhich- albeit a good one. We were there at the end of January 2014, and maybe it's particularly crowded around that time of year, but the hotel restaurant was very busy and noisy, and service was not as good as one would expect from a 4Star.

There is beach access, but it's not very large, and most of the time it's too windy - and the water didn't look very inviting anyway. Just before getting to the beach there is a nice lagoon - but people are not allowed to go in there. Here is what we really didn't like - none of the 3 pools are for adults only! We kept being splashed on by kids jumping into it from anywhere, and the ear plugs were strictly to block out the sound from screaming children. If you wish to spend a peaceful vacation on a nice Hawaiian Beach - this is not for you! When asked why there is no place for adults to get some rest - the answer was that they're a "family-friendly hotel". And that they are - yet I didn't see any play grounds.

The hotel itself and rooms are clean and fairly well appointed - but everything is very "vanilla".
It's a decent place to sleep - but not what we'd consider a big resort with loads of activities. The Big Island is not known for beaches anyway - but rather for its magnificent scenery and tons of great tours to many interesting places. There was quite a lot of snow on top of Mauna Kea so no star gazing for us this time.

There is a convenient gas station within the shopping center - but the prices are probably the highest on the Island! Costco is close to the airport - and at least 30-40 cents/gallon cheaper.

Room Tip: Might want to consider springing for an ocean view - our room looked out on the rooftop of some buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your experience. All feedback is an important element of our business and we value your comments. We feel that our restaurant pricing is in line for this area and we offer a good value. Hopefully you got a chance to try some of our nightly specials. We apologize for the challenges you experienced with noise at the pool during your stay. When the hotel is busy it can definitely be more crowded and noisy at that area. The beach at Anaeho’omalu Bay is one of the nicer white sand beaches on the island. The Lagoon or Kings Pond is actually a protected area. These ponds were part of a large complex of fish ponds, carefully tended by family groups who passed down the practices for many generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We visited this resort 20 years ago when it was know as the Royal Waikoloa, so we were really impressed with the changes over the years and the many owners. The rooms are the same, a bit small but fresh and nicely done. The hotel itself meanders and it can be a hike to find your way. The warm water swimming pool additions were terrific. The snorkling in the bay was not as special as I remembered although the beach scene was attractive. The shopping centers added convenience and choice. We don't usally visit "resorts" so I question the need for additional charges. I think they should charge what it takes to cover their expenses instead of as addons. As to service, it was impersonal and we noticed in the evening there was a long line of tired people waiting to check in with only one person at the desk. They know when the planes are landing and how many cients to expect. Why not welcome them with an efficient checkin. I appreciated that we didn't have to wait in line to check out but could do it over the phone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Everything about our stay at was good. The hotel and the grounds were very nice. Our weather was not great, but the beach (when we could use it) was just a short walk from the hotel. The pool area was also nice. Our friends had two kids, 2 and 4, and there is a little sandy pool which was very cool for the kids!

It was very expensive to eat and drink at the resort (which is to be expected), but there were usually great happy hour food and drink specials that were affordable.

My only complaint was the bed that was way too soft!! It was way too soft for my partner who even likes soft mattresses. Housekeeping gladly came and flipped the mattress so we were sleeping on the underside of the mattress which helped, but it still was not good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a Marriott so the standards are what you would expect at an upscale Marriott Hotel, and this does not disappoint. However the building is old, the hallways look their age, but the rooms have been recently updated and the is a plus, but were surprisingly small.
The food, was pricey but good and the drinks were outrageously expensive and the breakfasts were poor at best.
The service here was disappointing to say the least especially the breakfasts where the staff were full of attitude and the service was slow.
Parking, we are on a tarred over lava field, we pay over $200 a night yet the Marriott charges for parking, REALLY !

We stayed here for 5 days and then moved on to the Marriott at Kauai which is simply a fantastic place and in the league of its own.

dont get me wrong, this is a very nice facility but I expected more from it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Waikoloa Beach Mariott recently .We booked there because it was more reasonably priced than the other resorts. We read mostly positive reviews and some negative ones. One of the negatives was about dirty, worn carpet. We never saw any dirty worn carpet. We were very happy with everything at this hotel. We had a very comfortable room, ocean front with a spectacular view of the beach, fish ponds, where from our balcony we would see whales, boats, and breath-taking sunsets. The room was small but our only complaint was no seating in the room. Beds were very comfy. Location to the lobby, pool and dining was excellent. We were on the 2nd floor so we didn't have to use elevators. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Looks just like Hawaii.
The pools are very nice, one infinity pool, baby pool has a sand bottom and little beach, another pool with a water slide. Lots of lounge chairs. Never a problem getting chairs. Small inconvenience is that there is no drink or snack bar at the pool. The beach is lovely and again plenty of lounge chairs and a beach shack. Lots of water activities leave from there. The restaurant is very expensive. Breakfast buffet is expensive but good. We absolutely loved the luau. Lots of food, drinks and a great show! They only have it on Saturday night so plan to be there. There are two shopping malls very close by with restaurants. One has Macaroni Grill if you get tired of local cuisine.
Amanda at the Expedia Local Expert desk was fabulous! We got in touch with her a few weeks before our trip and she took care of all our excursions for us and made lots of good suggestions.
We were very happy with the Mariott and would definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTravelNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Waikoloa for 1 week in February. The kids loved the many pools and slide and the grounds were gorgeous and well kept. We also loved being right off of the beach as we went for many long walks and did some snorkelling. The two adjoining rooms we had were very clean and comfortable. The food, restaurant and fees were quite pricey but with the King's Market right across the street we were able to stock up on snacks and fruits to help keep costs down. Overall we really enjoyed this trip and would recommend the resort and return ourselves for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing