We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We were here when it was built. My daughter had her wedding reception here ( the first ). Thirty-one years later you would think the hotel was old and showing her age. Not so the grounds are well maintained, the rooms modern, and pools are pristine. A great hotel to return to again and again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    1,135
    396
    138
    61
See reviews for
769
1,417
78
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

30 mins north of Kona airport. Facilities are adequate - tennis court, ping pong table, 3 small pools, etc. Can borrow rackets at the concierge. Queen's market 15 mins walk from here, there's a supermarket, though pricey. I think it's a big island thing where there isn't a lot of selection for restaurants. Same with this hotel, not a lot of good restaurants in the area, they are all pricey. Breakfast here is like $20-ish per person (buffet), sounded pricey at first, but then you look around, everything is so expensive, we just end up staying here for buffet breakfast everyday. Very good selection of food. Service is good here. Spa has good choice of service also. Did a facial there, very happy with it. Hotel room is good size, with balcony, facing the pool/ocean. If you like quiet, make sure you pick a room with garden view instead. Coz there're kids screaming in the pool from sunrise to sunset, it doesn't bother me however. Hotel rooms and the hotel overall is clean (I only give 4/5 because it's acceptably clean, not sparkly clean, I am a clean freak myself. The cushions in common area is a bit dirty with ketchup etc). I am a bit disappointed how they don't provide kettle though, I do like to make my tea sometimes, they only have the coffee maker to make hot water. There's washer dryer in the facility, that's convenient. Concierge people - hit or miss, can be nice and helpful, but one man there not very friendly and just try to sell us tours. Though with the negative things, overall this hotel is great, would recommend. Oh yeah, wi-fi is great, good connection and fast.

Room Tip: Quiet room - please pick garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stm_eternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently completed our fifth stay at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott, and it was our best stay yet. While much has changed over the past seven years since our first visit, the recent improvements made for a wonderful vacation.

The hotel is located on Anaeho'omalu Bay on the Kohala Coast, which is a great location for snorkeling and water activities. We enjoyed our stay in a Cabana room, which featured a great deal of space and incredible view of the ocean and sunsets. Rooms featured new mattresses (we saw them installing them throughout the hotel), new LCD tvs, and in-room high speed internet access.

The pool bar was great for lunch and the daily drink specials. The prices are what you would expect of a resort pool bar - if you are looking for a bargain, head over to the queen's marketplace for a more basic meal. The hotel is within walking distance of some good dining options, including Merrimans Mediterranean Cafe and Roy's, but a quick drive from several other choices, including Brown's Beach House at the Fairmont, Ruth Chris, and Tommy Bahama Tropical Cafe, all at Mauna Lani Resort. The breakfast buffet at the resort was not cheap, but was still a great value - incredible selection, fantastic service, and delicious!

The pool area is a great place to relax, and a nice alternative to the beach when needed. Service at the pool area was better than ever before.

We found an incredible rate on marriott.com that included a daily resort credit - make sure you look for the best possible rate and keep checking before your departure!

Room Tip: If you have a cabana room, request the lower level, which has a large patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TABtravelsChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say this was a very nice hotel. I love the lobby area by the lava fireplace. It was relaxing at night to sit by there. Almost every night we sat there to relax and listen to the music that you can hear from the restaurant. Live music too. Our room was nice and decorated ok. The beach is a short walk. It was a bit Rocky but it's to be expected with all the beaches in Kona. The pools were nice. What I really liked was the staff in the front as we came in with our car or walked in, greeted us every time we came in and when we left. We felt welcomed. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We usually stay in Hilo/Volcano when we travel to the Big Island but wanted to avoid the seasonal spring rains on the windward side. Even though we don't think of ourselves as resort people (we usually don't spend much time at our hotel), we tried this beautiful property based solely on tripadvisor.com ratings. We were more than pleased with all aspects of our stay. As for the room - it was quiet and very clean and had a great view of the saltwater infinity pool (open 24 hours a day - nice!) and ocean. The double sized beds were a bit small for even our two teenagers but they were very comfortable. The pools and proximity to the water were worth the stay alone (don't miss taking a sunset walk on the beach or evening dip in the pool). The staff was friendly and very helpful especially when our refrigerator and then the replacement wouldn't work. They stayed on task and checked in to make sure the problem was taken care of the third time. All staff from the groundskeepers to restaurant crew always had a smile, were ready to answer all questions, and treated us with Aloha! The nearby Kings Shops and Queens Marketplace were fun to wander through (skip the food court, though) and the Marriott restaurant was good but a bit pricey (try 50% off entrées on Thursday night for a price break). Yes, we will certainly stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Traveling with friends and we both ordered 'garden view' rooms. On arrival, our friends, who were being helped by one desk person and us by another, mentioned that we were traveling together and immediately, we were reassigned to adjoining rooms and the rooms had a peek view of the ocean. Check in was prompt and professional. I stopped the general manager and complemented the two who helped us.

There is only one restaurant on location, which was excellent, for breakfast.

The other beauty is that the whole campus is No Smoking.

The hotel is 20 miles north of Kona Airport so you need a car.

Although the hotel has 500 rooms it seems like it's a little larger than a boutique hotel. The Hilton up the road has a tram to take you around -- it's just too big

Room Tip: Get your Marriott Rewards card and save 25% on the Breakfast Buffett.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had to travel to Waikoloa to close on a real estate purchase and found a last-minute discount rate here. We arrived after dark and the efficient front desk clerk gave us a key to a first floor room. Being on a discount rate we weren't expecting a penthouse suite. In the morning when we awoke, we were shocked to see the room had a view of the ocean. With some passing storms, there was actually a rainbow streaking across the water. Over all, this was an omen for a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located on A-Bay and the pools were pleasant. My wish was for upper pool being reserved for adults. The bar and food service were good. The café of the lobby had good pastries for a reasonable price in the morning. The design of the hotel was a little inconvenient since the tower floors off the lobby were displaced by a half level, causing the use of stairs or elevators to transit through the hotel. We were also disappointed that the live music in the bar tended to end too early in the evenings.

Room Tip: Probably all of the rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing