We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“restful”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went to Waiokoloa Marriott in Kona for a conference of Hawaii State Police Commissioners. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, and quiet. The hotels menu for the conferees was great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hotel staff are helpful and courteous and service was great.

Room Tip: My room had an ocean view on the 6th floor, which may be the reason why it's quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Asks guest to help in conserving water by using the towels more than once.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiloschild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    1,121
    394
    136
    61
See reviews for
751
1,407
76
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had issues with noise from a neighboring room at 11pm, but did not want to rain on their party, so management moved us to a quieter room. Cool. Beach is nice to look at, but water is murky. Don't let this discourage you from snorkeling there. If you go out about 150 yards to the right, there is nice coral and a lot of fish to see. Just be aware of the boat traffic. The gym is pretty well equipped, BUT, it needs better lighting. If you workout any time the sun is not up, it is like working out in a cave....DARK. Everyone who works there is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oahusquid x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations based on the price we paid. Booked on Expedia for $199/nt, our garden view room was upgraded to a pool view which actually also had an ocean view. As we came during whale season, you can see them breaching from the room balcony. There are two shopping centers right across the hotel with a good selection of restaurants and a fast food court. There's a $25 daily resort fee which includes the $18 self-parking fee. For an additional $3, you could get valet parking. Walk past the pools and the ancient fish pond and you get to Anaeho'omalu Bay. There are plenty of lounge chairs on the beach on a first come first served basis. There are 4 cabanas which can be rented for $50 for the entire day. You book with Ocean Sports located directly on the beach and it can be charged to your room. It gets very windy around noon onwards so the cabanas provide good shelter from both sun and wind.
The resort keeps a serene and peaceful vibe even though there are families with kids and pools are all grouped together in the area. We generally got great service from the staff except from the young girl serving the pool area. Just move to the patio tables of the restaurant and you'll get better service from the older staff. We still prefer Maui over Big Island but we are glad we chose Waikoloa Marriott. It was a beautiful, quiet and rejuvenating 5 days. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Pool view on the Ka'ahumanu wing actually gives you an ocean view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divarawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed one night here in mid April.
Check in was quick and was given a pool view room (5282). The room was large,well appointed with a balcony and two chairs. The shower had good water pressure and the room was quiet. You could access the pool via the stairs at the end of the corridor that saved having to walk to the elevator.
The resort charge did include a 25% discount off the breakfast buffet ( I have not seen this kind of discount elsewhere and it was a nice touch. The buffet was good. The swimming pools are large ( one of them being an infinity pool and the beach is a short walk away through the ancient fishing ponds.
The staff were all friendly.
It is a smaller hotel than the nearby Hilton resort and is just across the road from the King's shops including the Whaler's general store for soda/water ( I found that Island Gourmet foods at the nearby Queen's market place was slightly cheaper for water and had a food court)

Overall an excellent short stay

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are probably better than garden/resort rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful location, spectacular pools, the BEST sunset on the Big Island at the bay and the service and grounds were so fantastic. We stayed 6 nights and we will be back! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that there could be some improvement in the housekeeping services. Very nice staff, but some necessary cleaning is overlooked in the bathrooms. The bathrooms might be due for upgrades, too, maybe. All else was really, really nice. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Ocean views are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZsunrise63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location on A-Bay with decent coral and snorkeling within walking distance. Fine breakfast buffet with omelet station and very good service. Nice beach at the hotel site. Very convenient shopping and offsite restaurants and food-to-go spots. Having stayed both here and at the neighboring Hilton, I'd choose the Hilton if I had smaller kids and at the Marriott if not. Wireless was terrible during my stay, but I was assured it would soon be fixed. I'd happily stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MovnOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is honestly a great resort at a great value. The grounds are very well kept, the open air lobby is perfect, and the staff is top notch. The rooms are pretty large and modern for 2 people, the bed was very comfortable, and the view from the balcony was outstanding. I'm not sure if it's typical, but our Garden view actually had a partial ocean view. Lastly, the pool and beach areas are very nice as well - something for everyone. i would recommend this hotel to any couple trying to get away (maybe not an ideal family place) and I can't wait to go back there some day.

Room Tip: Get some advice from the bartenders, desk workers, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BujTravels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing