We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Beautiful Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Beautiful Marriott”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott prior to getting into our condo, everything about it was wonderful. We loved the scenery , the pool, and the hospitality. The maids, the frontdesk, everyone was cordial. Had a slight problem with my buffet being included but after a couple phone calls this was finally straightened out and it was awsome. Loved everything about my stay...A classy hotel!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jdeschamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    1,146
    402
    139
    63
See reviews for
790
1,426
78
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the marriot from May 6-11. We stayed in an ocean / pool view on the 6th floor. Some amazing views. Everything is very close. The pools, beach, food and you are just across the road from the shopping centers. No need to take the shuttle, just walk.

The restaurant there offers some great food. It is hawaii and the food is overpriced BUT they have specials almost every night. On Monday and Thursday they offer half price on meals, the same meal you'd pay $32 on Wednesday is $16 on Monday or Thursday.
Eat at the bar area on Tuesday and get half price. Check out the deals and plan your meals.

The fitness center is good. They have free weights and some machines. They also have many treadmills but run up to the hilton and down the beach for some amazing views.

They have a nice saltwater infinity edge pool, a couple of pools for the kids and a water slide. And there are lagoons and you are right there at the beach.

For waves and other beaches you are just a few miles away from haupuna beach which is one of the top beaches in the world.

Go to the volcano national park at night to see the lava glow.

The staff is very outgoing and everything is right there.
You can walk from your room down to the fitness center work out, then out the door and right there go eat your buffet breakfast. (Love the Kalua pork omlettes and the pancakes with coconut syrup).
Then a few steps away are the pools or out to the beach.
It's all right there.

The luau was nice. The food was good especially the Kalua pork. The dancers were very good and the show was worth it.

The parking, food, mall, beach, pools, room, spa is all right there.

Get the ocean / pool view and you'll have some of the sweetest sunsets around.

* if you have several kids and are looking to get a larger room / suite so you can all be together. I'd just get two rooms next to each other. Much cheaper and you each hAve beds.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank prolook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is located right across Kings Mall and 5 mins walking to Queen Mall both each have great food options and high end shopping.
The hotel is located in the Anaeho'omalu Bay beach - one of the most beautiful sites I saw. You really didn't need to get out of the resort to see turtles, beautiful sunsets and activities. We had breakfast included in our package and it was excellent!
The Expedia desk was very helpful when we wanted to make reservations for tours.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing the garden. The view was ok but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisvv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just spent the last week at this resort and had a great time. Fit our budget and fulfilled our expectations very well. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was very nice and the bed was great. We booked through Hawaiian Air and upgraded to a partial ocean view room and were quite happy with it. My wife and I have been traveling to Hawaii for business and pleasure for over 20 yrs and have stayed at a variety of venues from condos to cottages and budget and upscale hotels. Marriott has done a nice job of upgrading this facility from the previous more budget minded chain and the location is a great asset. It's situated next to a wildlife sanctuary which leads up to the beach on lovely Anaeho'omalu Bay. So one walks through the preserve to the beach about 100 yds from the pool area. Across the road from the hotel are 2 shop and restaurant complexes(Kings Shops & Queens Shops) which offer a good range of options from budget to upscale. In many resorts you are confined to the shops and restaurants onsite which tend to be rather pricey. Fine if you are ok with that but I often see comments about the cost of the amenities at such resorts and the limiting of selection and this Marriott offers the choice by virtue of locale. Also we found the onsite restaurant to be good and fairly priced by resort standards and by Hawaiian norms. Everything is more expensive in HI for a number of reasons. You can stay there for less with a condo option and local knowledge but if your going for the amenities a "resort" offers it will cost a little more. By this standard the Marriott compares favorably with the norm. We enjoyed the bar and restaurant as well as the coffee shop which were comfortable spots to take in the view and relax.
Every venue can have the odd misstep - my wife found that neither of us could reach the bedside light switch without getting out of bed. We've found this at other hotels also and though a small thing it seems an obvious user friendly issue that can't be hard to fix. The switch can be reached if you're 6ft 6in with long arms but short "seniors" are at a disadvantage. As I said, a small thing. Other than that we were very happy with the room and our little lanai with the beautiful view(see photo). We would certainly recommend this spot as good value for your vacation $$ with all the resort amenities, a friendly staff and a comfortable feel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side are quieter, a little more private and the higher the better.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good location and support for the bird sanctuary. Good consciousness of conservation practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olddog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

we spent a family holiday - 9 of us including 2 children - in april - and we all had a wonderful time! the rooms had everything that we needed - tissues, shampoo and conditioner, proper hairdryer - not one stuck to the wall, a safe, and the beds were very comfortable (new mattresses).
we needed rollaway beds moved into different rooms and nothing was a problem - the staff were very accommodating!
we hired a car but really didn't need it as you could walk to shops and restaurants - unless you wanted to go away on a road trip.
the only thing that we found fault with was the lack of shade by the pool - plenty of beds but very few umbrellas. would definitely recommend the resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avwober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel was amazing. We checked in on a Wednesday around 8pm, they didn't have the room I reserved (pool view, double) so the nice younger gal at the front desk upgraded us (two adults, two kids 10 and 12) to an Ocean View, top floor. Absolutely amazing view of the pool and the beach/ocean.

Rooms-
Very clean, comfortable beds, large flat panel TV, coffee maker and refrigerator. We also had a balcony with nice furniture and a table. The rooms weren't huge but they accommodated me and my family.

Food-
Hawaii Calls Restaurant was average, service was great, but the lobster special was not very good. Note, you will get a whole lobster, not just the tale, head, claws, guts and all. Kind of turned my stomach a bit.

We ate mostly on the road or at the food court in the Queens Shopping Center.

Pool -
3 pools, one for the water slide, one for kids (beach entry) and the very large pool in the center. The neat thing is that the pools and the spas are open 24/7, they also have at least 5 chairs for the disabled for pool and spa access, they were just installing them the day before we left.

Beach -
Amazing. The beach at Anaehoomalu Bay is great, small waves, soft sand although watch out for rocks in some places when you enter the water. They have an activity desk where you can rent kayaks, paddle boards, etc. The have a small snack bar with pretty good turkey and cheese sandwiches and of course shave ice.

All in all, very satisfied. Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neil1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice resort, property well manicured/cared for, staff friendly, room nicely appointed - have mini fridge and safe. Able to walk to several shops, restaurants, ABC market, etc. Walk along beach really nice. Everything is very convenient. One room location to be aware of - we were upgraded to an 'ocean view' room but it really is a view of parking lot + tennis court + condos + ocean off to left. We were in Kamehameha Tower. If you look at room categories on website and are going for an ocean view you may want to make certain it is a pool/ocean view. That way you will truly see the ocean. 6th floor Kamehameha Tower a stretch to be called 'ocean view.'

Room Tip: Wrote about room choice in review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&LChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing