We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and private beach; pretty isolated and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Some rooms have a view different than others.

Pros:
- fair WiFi signal
- very nice pool with very nice small piece of private beach, which is quiet and not crowded
- walking distance to King's stores and to Queen's stores
- gym and pool open 24 hours

Cons:
- annoying WiFi login (every 24 hours per device)
- not much to do around (except the expensive shopping)
- the gym could have had a few more types of weight machines

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,257 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We upgraded to a partial ocean view room upon arrival,but we were quite disappointed. Though the room was located on the 6th floor and had a decent view, we could hardly sit in the patio and enjoy the breeze. The patio was very dirty including a bird's nest. We requested them to clean it the next day but they didn't. We stayed there 3 nights without the patio being cleaned. Quite disappointing, one doesn't expect such things from a marriott property.

1  Thank lovetoraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Executive Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Our goal is to always provide genuine care and aloha and it seems from your comments that we weren’t 100% successful. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you experienced with the cleanliness of your patio area. Your review will be shared with out Housekeeping Department used to improved customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival our room was not clean, makeup on bathroom counter, blood in toilet seat, popcorn kernels and bag twist ties on the floor. After speaking to the housekeeping manager, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite that was sparkling clean. The manager also bought us a beautiful dinner in the hotel dining room! I have stayed at Marriotts before and know that the first room we were checked into was not up to the usual cleaniness standards of the Marriott. The location was perfect walking distance to kings and queens shops, Lava Lava beach club, hilton. We camped out daily by the infinity pool and had coffee from our balcony overlooking the ocean and ocean lagoon. Had we had our grandchildren we would have used the Sandy beach by the kids pool and the waterslide as well. Everything was sparkling clean and the staff, was incredibly warm and welcoming throughout our stay. When booking our room, we chose to have the breakfast buffet included and we are so glad we did. A huge variety of foods were available.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent our last 4 days of a ten day vacation here at the Marriott. Check in was a breeze for us but there were very long lines at times. I was recognized immediately as a Gold Elite Rewards member thus getting a coupon for two free Mai Tai's upon arrival. We did recieve a room upgrade from pool view to ocean view. I am not sure this was worthwhile. We did have an ocean view over the top of the cabana rooms building and the building extension to our right eliminated any view of the point of sunset?
The room was very clean and had the updated flat screen TV although we never found out if it worked. You are in Hawaii, who needs TV. The grounds were immaculate, someone always working on sprucing up the grounds. The pools were varied and nice. They have a beach type pool for kids, a slide in another and the large infinity edge. I would agree with other reviews that more umbrellas for shade would be helpful. They have a few of cabanas for a rental fee ($50.00 a day..ouch) but hardly any other shade available. I cannot comment on the restaurants or the breakfast buffet (didn't eat here at all)
We did hit the Happy Hour at Hawaii Calls bar one afternoon where they had multiple choices for drink specials. We chose the mango margarita and it was a very good drink. Overall it was a great base for our adventures around the island. My wifes sister and hubby stayed at the Hilton down the street, we visited there for a day and we were glad we stayed here, the other place was WAY too big. From the lobby it took us 15 minutes to walk to the pool, at the Marriott you are there in 55 seconds.
I would recommend the Marriott to couples over the Hilton as it seemed more intimate and friendly.
Overall a very nice stay. My only complaint would be having to wear a wrist band to enter the pools. Makes you feel like we were the ones policing the vistor policy. We used the Expedia desk onsite to book our helicopter trip, they were very helpful and even put a note under our door to surpise my wife about the trip.

Room Tip: Ocean view on the right side would be better for the sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluewatergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the first of five locations we stayed during a trip to Hawaii and it was the perfect way to settle into our holiday. It is a resort, but pretty understated, if you want entertainment and attractions 24 hours a day it won't be for you. I didn't see any of the signs of age others have mentioned, the hotel was simply and stylishly decorated, with a lot of light and open space. The pools are excellent, with plenty of loungers and a great view of the ocean. The rooms have extremely comfortable beds, loads of storage space and lanai. We had a pool view room, but with a full view of the ocean. Best of all is the location. Waikoloa has easy access to the main sights of the island and the airport. You've got 'A' beach on your doorstep and two shopping malls with lots of choice within walking distance, great if you want a Mai Tai or two with your dinner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JustinCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a week at this hotel in March. The grounds are well kept, the pools were never too crowded (although they need to invest in more umbrellas for shade!), and the room was comfortable. We enjoyed going for walks...You can walk over to the Hilton Waikoloa and watch the dolphins, or just gaze at the Disney-like grounds of this huge mega resort. My wife and I both decided that we would much prefer the smaller Marriott to the Hilton. One complaint about the Marriott here is that being a Marriott Platinum Elite member means nothing to them...no upgrades, breakfast, etc. nothing! This was very disappointing to us, and this is what kept me from giving it an excellent rating. We were on a package that gave a fifty dollar credit per day for food, and it allowed us to try the hotel's restaurant out on several occasions. While pricey, we found it truly enjoyable to eat at the hotel. We especially liked the lobster night and the daily specials offered by the restaurant. All in all, this was a nice stay...give Platinums their due and maybe add an extra umbrella or four out by the pools.

Room Tip: Get the fifty dollar credit per day rate. The food was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Chose this hotel as it had direct beach access and the Hilton did not. Early check in got us a ground floor, garden view room. Might have liked to be up higher but it was easy to walk out the slider to the beach. Plenty of parking. Restaurant had deals every night, like 50% off entrees. Had a very good fish and BBQ ribs. Stayed away from the buffet as it seemed very expensive. Beach was okay but there are many very large rocks in the water that you can't see until you stumble over them. Coffee bar was nice with many tables available in an outdoor covered area. The hours of operation were fairly short. Very close to shopping and dining options in the King's and Queen's malls. Had breakfast one day- ordered off the menu- and did not care for what we ordered. Hawaiian hash was chewy, sliced, left-over meat and the quarter pineapple was not ripe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suefromCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
20.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5711
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £228 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing