We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time fun”

Great 4-D Movie Ride
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Waikoloa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catch edge-of-your-seat entertainment daily from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. featuring 3-D features, synchronized full-motion seats, a 2500 watt sound system, water and air sprays and more to create Hawaii's first and only 4-D theater experience!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First time fun”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was my first time on one of these and it was very interesting. It was so real to life with water misting you,wind, vines and the chairs rocked for extra fun. It was a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luke n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice for the kids when you have some "down time"”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

On an evening when we needed some "down time", it was nice to take our daughter to the Shops at Mauna Lani and let her experience the 4-D movies. Not too expensive, and perfect for the stomach and attention span of our eleven-year-old. She really enjoyed it! (FYI: We bought two, three-movie passes with the intention of a parent accompanying her to each show, but that didn't happen. The adults each felt a bit "woozy".)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CJMess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great little time filler”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We watched Sea Monsters and Hawaii Roller Coaster movie, they were both awesome!! The lady who served us was so friendly and gave us two movies for the price of one even through we didn't have a coupon. There was water spray, shots of air in your face and things that touched your legs... yes I screamed out loud on several occasions!!! lol. The kids were laughed about Mum being scared!! Ages 8 and 10. The kids loved it. It is short, about 15 mins for x2 movies but well worth it if you need something to do with the kids. There is a sheet of activities of local entertainment as well so we will be heading back there tomorrow night to watch the fire dance. Can't wait the local people are so friendly and welcoming. We are in love with The Big Island!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for killing time”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was an amazing 20 minute movie that played with all 5 of your senses. Very enjoyable. I liked the realistic graphics and sounds. The only con is the time constraint. A little bit longer would have been great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crazydaisy12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant, if pricey, distraction for the kids”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We're pretty regular visitors to the Mauna Lani, with 3 small children. For a nice, short, air-conditioned distraction at the Shops this is OK. $6/head for 15 min is a bit much though. You should know that their "2-for-one deal" that they tied in with the Hula/Polynesian show night is not 2 people at one price, but a first and second feature for one price.

The 4D aspect is great for kids up to age 7.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great 4-D Movie Ride also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Island of Hawaii, HI
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Great 4-D Movie Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing