We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa!”

The Shops At Mauna Lani
Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From Simple to Elegant, The Shops at Mauna Lani is your key to Hawaii. Shop, Dine and Live with so many choices. Our 7 restaurants include Monstera Noodles and Sushi, Tommy Bahama Restaurant & Bar, The Blue Room Brasserie & Bar, Ruth's Chris Steak House, Under the Bodhi Tree Vegan-Vegetarian-Raw, Juice 101 Smoothies & Paninis, and Kimo Bean Hawaiian Coffee. Entertainment includes Hawaii's only 4D Adventure Theater with 8 rides to choose from, and Kona Kozy's nightly Comedy and Magic Show in the Tiki Palace. Every Monday and Thursday, join us at 5:30PM for free cultural activities such as lei-making and coconut weaving, followed at 7:00PM by our free Hula show with fire dance. The Shops at Mauna Lani is a destination shopping center on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii, near Waikoloa. Visit Foodland Farms Gourmet Grocery, open from 6:00AM to 11:00PM Daily. Some of our uniquely Hawaiian stores include DeWitt Island Jewelry, Hawaiian Island Creations, Hulakai, Jams World, Jourabchi, Oasis Lifestyle, Reyn's, Lahaina Galleries, Third Dimension Gallery, The Fine Hawaiian Gift Gallery, Island of Hawaii Visitors Bureau, Clark Luxury Realty, Hawaii Beach & Golf Properties, Moana Salon & Day Spa, and Snorkel Bob's. National tenants include Tommy Bahama Store, Henderson Design Group Hawaii and PrimeLending.
Waimea, Hawaii
1 review
“Santa!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had heard that The Shops at Mauna Lani was having pictures with Santa so we decided to come down. We usually drive from Waimea to Kona each year but when we heard that Santa would be so close we couldn't resist. Santa had his own room, with air conditioning (which was a nice surprise) decorated in adorable Hawaiiana charm. The kids had such a fun time talking with him and his friend, "Aunty Tutu". The photographer was so sweet and even offered to burn us a CD of all the photos for free, the whole thing was free! They are doing this every Sunday in December, we highly recommend it. Were pretty excited about our Christmas card this year!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    30
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a break after a day at the beach”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nice high-end shops built in lava area. The ambient music and fountain in this outdoor mall made for a nice place to hang out for a break from driving around the island or a day at the beach.

The shops offered quality gift items but were on the pricey side. I was surprised to find Foodland among the shops. It turned out to be an affordable place to pick up fresh fruit, food, and boxes of Mauna Loa chocolates to bring back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aunty TuTu's FREE ukele lessons”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Aunty TuTu - an Island Icon gives free beginner and intermediate ukulele lessons every Wednesday beginning at 1:00 p.m. in the Shops courtyard. You'll learn island history while you take these invaluable classes from her. She's patient and helpful to all individuals - no need to be shy! If your partner is taking a lesson and you are not interested, the Fine Hawaiian Gift Gallery has excellent, high quality, well priced locally made items for shopping! There is more shopping also as well as great dining available in this shopping center. Foodland Farms has a great variety of produce and fish.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jlpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Foodland Farms best for groceries on the Kohala Coast...”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We tried Waikoloa Market, very high prices and poor quality fruits and fish. We tried Island Gourmet at Queens Market, ditto.

A local recommended Foodland Farms at Mauna Lani. We were staying at Waikoloa Resort so this became a daily stop after the beach to pick up fresh fish, fruit, and vegetables (and wine). They have a dynamite bakery if one is so inclined. We grilled at our condo BBQ 6/10nights and enjoyed the most awesome ono, opakapaka, mong chung and mahi mahi. Saved a ton on food. Sure wish we could get all those fresh at home!

The prices and quality were the best we found without having to drive to Kona or Waimea. If you sign up for their club card (just put in your phone #), you get all the savings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gotta try the mochi at food land”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just have to say that the mochi ice cream at the Foodland store is the best I've ever had! so many different flavors; lilikoi, pumpkin, mango, and the chocolate/espresso was to die for. if you haven't tried mochi, this is the premium place to get it !! $3.99 for 3 pieces. Yummers!

Hula show was amazing too!!,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank fvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shops At Mauna Lani also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to The Shops At Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing