We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kama'aina Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My Ohana absolutely loved this getaway from Hilo. We had a wedding to attend at Waiki'i Ranch and didn't want to drive all the way back to Hilo so a friend suggested this place to us. I'm so glad I listened because the room was wonderful. At check in, an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite was offered so I took it and was sooooooo happy I did. We were on the 2nd/3rd floors with a beautiful view from our bedroom and living room balconies. We woke up to views of the golf course, Haleakala in the background, and the Kohala mountains. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai while watching the many golfers and turkeys cruise by us. The rooms, baths, and kitchen were fully furnished and included a washer/dryer. We opted for the Go Green special and was more than satisfied with the daily fresh towels and trash removal (daily housekeeping was not needed at all). We also learned that the grocery store, 5 minutes away, was stocked with everything we needed for our meals. Every staff member (front desk, security, housekeeping, groundskeeper) we dealt with were friendly, courteous and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were wonderful and we plan to use it more on our next visit. We also noticed barbecue units available at every building and will definitely use that on our next visit. We are already in the process of planning our next stay for October 2012 and are excited for that adventure. Mahalo for a wonderful experience at Paniolo Greens!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Mahalo nui loa, Lori, for your excellent review! It is wonderful when one of our local neighbors are able to enjoy their stay as much as our timeshare owners. We’ll look forward to seeing you and your ohana again soon. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We traded our timeshare 8/24/12-8/31/12 and made the longggg flight from SW Florida. Funny how the jet lag really doesn't bother you on the way there. Only on the way back! The hotel was wonderful. We originally obtained a ground floor suite but noticed the pitter-patter of feet above us almost immediately. Experience taught me to go back to the office and beg for a second floor apartment (2 bedroom). No problemo. And it was wonderful. Balcony overlooking the golf course, two spacious bedrooms and baths, and comfortable furnishings throughout. The amenities were great: workout space by the pool and hot tub, ping pong and tennis, wild turkeys and birds galore outside our living room. Day trips were wonderful, no more than a few hours' drive to anywhere on the island. Went Kohala Ziplining, saw the gorgeous Akaka Falls, the Mauna Kau and Mauna Loa mountains, gorgeous snorkeling sites up and down the coast, the Volcano National Park, Hilo and its tropical flora and fauna. Snorkel Bob's is the BEST rental place! Bite Me is a great seafood restaurant. Costco in Kona is a great place for a cheap lunch!! Farmers' Markets are a great place for plants and food and entertainment.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the upper level unless you like to listen to pounding feet above you at all times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Mahalo for your excellent review. Your compliments and how Paniolo Greens’ central location makes day trips “wonderful!” will surely be beneficial to those who want to visit the Big Island and Paniolo Greens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We really liked the condo we had in September 2012. You have to pay an additional 5.00 for AC, but it wasn't really necessary. We found the flock of turkeys running past our porch every morning amusing. Don't be put off by the location, from our condo we could see both the ocean and the mountains. Read a lot of comments about Timeshare sales before we left, the front desk clerks were super nice and never even brought it up. The desk did call condo phone once offering free coffee if we met with them, we passed. Our only complaint was that we had sugar ants and saw 1 roach in the kitchen.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Mahalo for your great review! It is always good to hear when our guests appreciate the different scenery at Paniolo Greens – ocean, mountains, and wild turkeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My hubby and I stayed at Paniolo Greens in December 2009 - it was our 3rd stay. I tried to leave a review shortly after coming home from our trip but for some reason Tripadvisor would not allow me to leave the review!

We noticed a lot of improvements in 2009 and feel that Paniolo Greens is a well managed condominium complex with helpful staff. I have had dealings via email and in person with the office staff their and they do go above and beyond and show real 'Aloha.'

Paniolo had updated nearly of the condos - updating the units and the grounds. We were given a very large remodeled unit with flat screen TV and enjoyed it very much. There was WiFi in the office lobby and a computer you could use.

We are planning our 2013 trip and see no reason NOT to stay at Paniolo Greens again. We will stay 1 week there and another week at a resort closer to the coast - our first time spending two full weeks in Hawaii. We figure that will make the outrageous airfare worthwhile :0)

We don't mind the drive upcountry to Paniolo - it takes about 10 min. from the main hwy. 20 - 30 min. from the airport. We appreciate being away from Kona and all the traffic that it affords. We tend to spend our time at Waikoloa and further North along the coast. The drive is beautiful and the beaches great! Paniolo Greens in NOT ON THE BEACH! You are 10 min. away.

Keep in mind that no matter where you stay on the Big Island - unless you plan to stay in town and not go anywhere or see anything the island offers - you will need and appreciate having a car. If the lava is flowing - don't miss it! If you cannot get near it by driving - do take a helicopter tour. The Blue Hawaiian tours are right on your way to Paniolo Greens. Can't miss it.

If you are looking for a romantic dinner for a special occasion - I can recommend Brown's at the Fairmont Orchid - we had a lovely anniversary dinner there. Check out my review. Breakfast brunch at the Four Seasons was very good as well. It isn't vacation if I have to cook every day :0)

Costco has the best price for gas - but we used the market in Waimea (a few miles from Paniolo - and a pleasant drive) for our groceries. Nice selection - decent prices and you don't have to buy the huge quantities that you do at Costco. There is also a market a bit closer to Paniolo that we have used - but we like Waimea better. Avoid Wal Mart in Kona - it was just AWFUL!

Enjoy your stay at Paniolo Greens!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the condos closest to the highway - they can be a bit noisy. We prefer the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Using Hotwire to book a trip to the big island for a wedding was how I found this place, and I am so happy I did! Though it is farther away from the coast than many of the surronding accomodations the price of the condos definitley reflect that and the drive to the beach is just absolutely stunning. If you are lucky enough to get into one of the buildings in the front of Paniolo Greens, you will step out on to 1 (of 2! what!?) private lanais to gorgeous views of the ocean. Though there was some noise from the unit above ours, as we were on the bottom floor, it was only really noticeable in the living area, not the bedroom. I would recommend this place over any of the resorts 1 million times and more. The staff was amazing, front desk, maintenance, you name it. Mahalo to Paniolo Greens for making our vacation rock!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk to get you in to a unit on the lower (western) side! We were in K and is was a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Upstairs units are good. Lower units get all the noise from above. Got awakened anywhere from 4 AM to 6 AM. Other than that we had many good times. Have owned since 1997. Since wife can't go upstairs, this will be last visit.

Room Tip: Don't get lower units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petvetwalt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

We are so glad that you and your wife have enjoyed many years at Paniolo Greens (since 1997)! Unfortunately, despite our sound-dampening efforts, noise between floors occasionally poses a challenge due to the original architecture of the buildings. Although we understand that this may be your last visit to Hawaii, we hope you and your wife will consider sharing your great Hawaiian experiences and refer them to Paniolo Greens. Mahalo for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were offered this as a timeshare trade but were nervous at first because it is 7 miles inland. However the drive to two of the best beaches I've ever been to were only 15 minutes away (Hapuna Beach and Beach 69). Their is a Supermarket that is only a 5 minute walk away as well as other shops including a place to rent Snorkel equipment. As for the resort; it was good but not luxurious, we had a 2 bedroom plus a 3rd room on the mainfloor with a pull-out. We were travelling with my Mother and 2 teenagers and everyone was comfortable anf the teens were happy because there were 4 TV's in the place plus the strongest wifi signal I've ever encountered at a Hotel. The beds were firm and very comfortable and there were 3 bathrooms, 2 on the bedroom level and one on the main level, another luxury when travelling with teens.

The only negative I have is the high pressure timeshare sales pitches and it is relentless. The staff makes you feel very welcome upon check-in and remind you that whatever you need, just ask. But this is a timeshare and so it comes at a price. That price is relentless pressure to take in a timeshare sales pitch everytime we went to the office to ask something, whether it be directions, restaurant suggestions or simply to request more dishwasher detergent.

All in all we would stay here again but would advoid the staff at all costs.

Room Tip: A lot of stairs in the 2 bedroom units to get into your units as well as inside to get to the bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise_GM, General Manager at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

We are so glad that your timeshare trade was with us and that you enjoyed our location plus all the amenities (especially the 4 TVs with 2 teenagers)! The room tip regarding the air conditioning is great plus the reminder that our resort does have a beautiful view of the golf course. Please accept our humble apologies that our offers to enjoy our briefing regarding island activities and our property felt like relentless pressure. Our goal is for all our guests to have a memorable vacation with us.We look forward to your return visit with us in the near future. Mahalo for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
5.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,599 reviews
5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
6.4 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: £111 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing