We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great accommodations, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blue Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great accommodations, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and 19 other people (all with timeshares) stayed at the Paniolo Greens from July 31 until August 4th. I was reserved about the reservation (my friend made) because NON of us golfed. The grounds were breathtaking, the spa was nice (although no kids in the spa was not enforced), the pool was a bit smaller than expected but never crowded to my surprise. The fact that not many of us traveled with children was a delight and because it was a "golf resort" not many children were present, which was a delight! The staff arranged all of our excursions, which we loved, paid attention to our needs and was very attentive to the large amount of people we had with us. The accommodations were clean, comfortable with a hotel feel (maid service on Wed). The staff were VERY knowledgable about the area, which beaches to go to (Hapuna Beach was nice) and gave us a timeshare discount on our excursions after attending a presentation. All in all...I would DEFINITELY go back and stay at the Paniolo Green Resort!! Oh yes, and the mattresses on the bed were absolutely COMFORTABLE which is important while vacationing!!!

Room Tip: I like Building E...close to the pool and right next door to the office ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Messina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    317
    79
    28
    22
See reviews for
290
273
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Its all about location with this hotel. If you are looking to sit on the beach and do nothing while on the big island this is probably not the hotel for you. If you are looking to explore the island and travel this place is perfect. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to the closest beach, but it is a great location and base to explore the rest of the island. The staff is amazing and very accommodating. The rooms were well equipped and clean. They had a pool and hot tub, but we spent most of our time at the beach. There are so many great beaches on the big island you should explore and check out as many as you can. My favorite was Spencer Beach which was 15 minutes from the hotel. You will need a rental car if you are going to stay here, but it is well worth it. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The buildings D-I have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_Kaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. We did not want to leave. Heavenly! We cannot wait to go back. This is a place you will never want to leave. So clean. Spacious. Perfect place for a couple or a family. May be a litle far out but you can enjoy the sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Good amenities. Decent location. Spotted cock roaches in the kitchen but reat everything was great. Good place for families n groups. The rooms are really well equipped. But air conditioning is charged extra which is needed in the hot weather.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taru D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with my family (husband, 2 boys, 1 teen daughter and mother-inlaw) it's not a resort type of place, but there's so much to see on the Big Island that you just want to come back to your home away from home and unwind. The kids really enjoyed seeing the wild turkeys that roam around and also liked to hang around the resident farell cats in the mornings before our mini adventures. We stayed in a 2 floor 2 bedroom unit on the second floor with a balcony view of the golf course. The unit was quite clean and a little outdated; however, it was very cozy and I have no complaints. The kitchen was well equipped with pans, dishes, utensils, etc. and we made good use of the kitchen. The only strange thing I thought was needing to pay for the air condition, but it was just $5/day, not a big deal.

As I read in one of the previous reviews, Paniolo Greens feels like you are staying at a relatives condo that is not walking distance to the beach. Personally, that's a nice comment because it feels like you are in a private condo. If you do plan on staying here or are around this area, try out the Lava Java for breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

With regards to the swimming pool, there is just 1 pool which is by the office. The kids swam the 1st day we arrived and weren't too thrilled because it was a little crowded but it's a swimming pool and did it's job.

The location is not too far from the Waikoloa Beach Resorts, but it seemed like a trek driving up from there only because you have to drive through a stretch of lava rock, but it's less than 10 minutes away. Wherever you stay, you'll have to drive anyway if you want to take advantage of seeing what the beautiful Big Island has to offer. Needless to say, this is probably the best bang for your buck if you don't mind dated units and no frills. Also, the staff was always helpful and accommodating.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maunaloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

空間大,有廚房、客廳、套房和陽台。最令人覺得貼心的是有洗衣機和烘衣機。居住環境很安靜。對亞洲人而言,夏天晚上涼爽,不須要吹冷氣,有時甚至要穿薄長袖外套。
The space of the apartment is big and cozy.
The staff are polite, efficient and friendly.
But there is one thing I don't understand: our flight was delayed again and again by the typhoon and I sent three e-mails to them and told them we would delay a day but nobody replied to my e-mails.
Anyway I have to thank Michelle (shellvacations)who helped me to contact with them. She had patience and very kind.
However we enjoyed our staying there.
We will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shushianho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was a great value. A great resort room at below hotel prices, however, the location has a lot to be desired. It is located out in the middle of nowhere, but we made it work and had a wonderful time during our stay at Paniolo Greens. The staff and service are excellent and the room is large, clean and has everything you could possibly want. It was a condo type situation with full kitchen, large master bedroom, a second bedroom, two bathrooms, dining area, living room and a patio area right on the golf course.

Room Tip: If you stay here plan on doing some considerable driving to sight see or even to get groceries and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richardr13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
23.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing