We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & adequately stocked condo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paniolo Greens Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paniolo Greens Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean & adequately stocked condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

We spent spring break week here; 2 adults and 2 young kids. We stayed in building K, in a 2-story, 2-bedroom, 3 bath condo. We were very satisfied with everything.

The kitchen came equip'd w/the basics. We did have to ask for a 2nd frying pan in order to cook two things at one time (they brought it quickly, no charge). The stovetop worked, though some better than others. We had enough dishwashing soap & dishwasher detergent to last us the entire trip. One packet of coffee, and assortment of sugars was provided upon arrival.

The beds were clean and warm. They had some of the better pillows I've had at other hotels & rentals. Bathrooms had plenty of towels, soap, kleenex, & toilet paper; we never ran out of any the entire week.

Housekeeping comes once during a weeklong stay, but if you need additional cleaning it is available (for a fee). I wish there had been a vacuum in the condo for our use. They do provide a dustpan & broom, but that doesn't work on the carpet. One packet of laundry detergent was provided upon arrival.

The condo did have a few minor repair issues, though the only one we notified the company about was the problem w/the CD-player. Someone came quickly and when they couldn't repair it they replaced the entire stereo immediately. The others were towel racks that kept falling off the walls (but they had wall hooks so that was enough for us).

We didn't need to pay for A/C, since opening the windows and turning on the fans was enough to cool everything off.

The pool was very family-friendly, with a wading pool (18"), & a shallow 1/4-lap pool (deepest is 4'); there is also a spa pool that is a bit warmer but not too hot, as well as a small exercise room adjacent (has 3 machines and great water-soaking towels). They supplied 6 pool towels in the room which could be exchanged at any time at the front desk. Concierge staff at the pool was helpful when we asked for floatation devices for the kids (they let us know about the freebies before offering the rental supplies).

Building K did not overlook the golf course, so we didn't hear the lawn mowers, but it did overlook the main road so we could hear road traffic when the windows were open (next to no traffic at night on that road). I would suggest staying in this building b/c you have a view of both the bay and the volcano. It appeared that all 1-story condos are on the lower-level, accessed by a set of stairs going down from the ground level, so you may want to ask for a 2-story as we did.

A previous reviewer noted a cockroach. I think he may have seen the beetles that were common outside that periodically fly inside at night. I saw the size of Hawaiian cockroaches in Pahoa and trust me you'll know one when you see one! In one of the many informational brochures in the condo, they point out they spray for bugs monthly, but if you do have an infestation they'll come and take care of it.

The location is between the Kohala Resort Area and the Waimea/Kamuela area, so perfect for exploring either on day trips.

Since lodging was free, except for tax, -- thanks to my father-in-law (this is his timeshare facility) -- we were more than satisfied with the accommodations. I don't know how much these condos usually rent for, so my impression may have been different if we had to pay.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank CAHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    313
    78
    27
    21
See reviews for
286
269
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

We spent a week at Paniolo Greens in Feb. of 2007 with friends. After reading reviews here and on the RCI review, we were a bit guarded in our expectations. We found that our accomodations were actually quite good. The view of the golf course with the ocean off in the distance was quite nice. The gas grill was well maintained and quite close to the condo for grilling. The mower did come out early every other day on the golf course, but it was not as annoying as construction or heavy traffic. The turkeys put on quite a show for us. The dishes/flatware only have service for 6 of each item, so there is no possibility of not washing the dishes for each meal if there are more than 3 people. The dryer doesn't work nearly as well as mine at home, but then it is in a unit used by different people every week. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank SL MI Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2007

As a family of four traveling for two weeks to the Big Island we were very disappointed in our accommodations. We felt we were so far away from everything. In order to see things it was a 45-60 minute ride. The pool was rather small for such a large complex. The hot tub did not work for the two weeks we were there. We had mice as our unwanted vacation guest. The resort itself I felt was not kid friendly. Luckily we had good weather on our side.

  • Liked — absoulutely nothing
  • Disliked — location and ammenities
  • Tips/Secrets — pick another place
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mickeyvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgwaikoloa, Management Staff at Paniolo Greens Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2007
The Paniolo Greens has a childrens playground, childrens activites throughout the day at our onsite activities desk, and a kids pool for their enjoyment.

Although the resort is located away from Kona, activities and amenities in the immediate vacinity includes a large grocery store, upscale shops, several well known restaurants such as Ruth Chris' Steak House, Roys, Tommy Bahama Restaurant, and Merriman's. Several of the islands best beaches and golf courses are located within minutes of the resort.

The resort is also centrally situated between the volcano National Park and Kealakekua Bay. The Big island is the largest Hawaiian Island and drving between destinations is expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2006

We travel on timeshare exchanges quite a bit. Tripadvisor is a great place to get reviews so I decided to finally post one to balance the very positive reviews.

1. On check-in, the lady was not able to give us a newer unit or one with a south west view so we ended up with with a generic second/third floor unit with a North view to the golf course.

2. There seems to be a number of different units. The queen second bedrooms with a bigger dining room but a very awkward kitchen. That's the unit we ended up with. We visited with some folks we met and they had a double single bed second bedroom units with a funny little sitting room.

3. The TVs are very small and old (a surprise in light of very inexpensive TV prices around).

4. Furniture is ok.

5. Appliances are old and microwave is very old. Cupboards are fairly cheap.

6. No fan to outside for cooking (a pet peeve of mine) but the wind is high enough that there is a natural high rate of circulation to clean cooking smells (I use a ton of garlic in my cooking :)

7. Generally a bit of an older resort from what I could tell with only a few BBQ to share. See pictures on grungy items.

8. New Hawaii "no smoking within 20 feet of building" law from November 2006 is being ignored (PS smokers, Hawaii is not for you).

9. You have to pay for air conditioning by getting a key. Don't need it because the wind is amazing and we came here to get away from the cold :-)

10. No Internet access but they do provide a direct line out so one can use a cheap $10/month national dialup provider with local call to Hilo.

On the plus side, the staff is generally very good (pleasant, accommodating) and we have no complaints. Adequate cooking and expected for a full kitchen.

Golfing is right there (although your slice might not improve with that wind!)

I would have given this a neutral rating (certainly not gold) except for the cockroach I just killed in the kitchen. I've stayed in Hawaii numerous times and never seen one before, let alone inside! I expect cockroaches in lower quality environments where the buildings are poorly constructed (lots of holes which allows bug in even when all the doors and screens are kept closed). In Mexico, yes, in Hawaii RCI Gold Crown resort? No.

And yes, they spray but how healthy is that?

I would not stay here again. We almost booked here for our other weeks in Hawaii this year - glad we didn't!
.....
Update 1

I was hoping my wife didn't see this review until we checked out but she saw the cockroach word... Oh well. Here is her input:

1. Dryer doesn't dry.

2. Had to remove nasty little dangerous hook from cupboard to prevent injuries (we'll put it back before we leave).

3. Pillow are a little big

4. Walking distance to a good grocery store.

5. Ok, what's this cockroach thing! Where?!

  • Liked — Availability
  • Disliked — Cockroach, distance from beach and Kona
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't pay too much and you should be ok. :-)
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank condo-weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

We visited Paniolo Greens in Sept 2006. We loved it there . We booked thru our resort and used RCI. The big spacious rooms were very clean , well stocked with beautiful views of the ocean and mountains. The employees went out of their way to help us with late flights and lost luggage. We take our whole family including three year old granddaughter and there was plenty of room for us to live comfortably. The guys enjoyed the Waikoloa Golf Course ( with discount fees) and the wild game that runs freely. One day we drove the whole island. The convertible and Jeep was a plus to enjoy the gorgeous views there. The Volcano Nat'l Park is a must see! that day the rainbow formed right into opening of the volcano-it was fabulous ! Hilo has the beautiful waterfalls and lush green hills. Punalu'u Black Sand Beach is awesome .The turtles were on the beach to sun . Bubba Gump Shrimp Co and Hard Rock are a must visit in Kona. yummy ! We attended the luau at King Kamehameha- wow- the food was better that Oahu's ! the ocean breeze and the show was great .Hapuna Beach - # 4 beach in the world - is an absolutely must see too ! Take a picnic lunch- the beautiful aqua water and dolphins in the distance are breath taking. We rented all the beach equipment there at the resort very reasonable. Mauna Kea we were " on top of the world " at 13,796 ft the largest observatory on earth. The guides were amazing to listen to . It felt like we could reach out and touch the stars! The Hilton at Waikoloa Village was great too.So much of this is free and thats what we enjoy seeing the sunsets and lava formations etc. We liked being away from the busy towns.It was only 45 minutes back to Kona. There were a few grocery stores , gas station and restaurants close by. The people are so kind and generous - we cannot wait to go back ! The pool and kiddie pool are large and nice to relax in the jacuzzi . I wish we would have had time for the classes at the resort. Theres so much to see. Thanks for a great vacation Paniolo Greens !

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank nhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

We enjoyed our trip to the Big Island more than recent trips to Mexico and Kauai. Our group included mom (78), daughter (2), wife (39), and myself (49). We stayed at Paniolo Greens on a timeshare exchange in late September (shoulder season). Our activities included mostly snorkeling, beaches, Volcano NP, luau, coffee plantation, nut factory, lookouts, and waterfalls. We also used "The Big Island Revealed" as our guidebook. Its not "Gospel" so keep an open mind.

Paniolo Greens has single floor units available on the ground floor with two story units above them, but the complex is on uneven ground so there may be additional stairs. We asked for twin beds in our 2nd bedroom upstairs and got a 21/2 bedroom with 3 baths that was big enough to live in (it looked like some did). We got the a/c for security, to keep the noise out, and to dry things. There was always a good breeze and the additional tax made it $7.50/day which was a bit much. There was a kiddy pool and small playground. Everyone was nice and the service good. The carpet had a smell but otherwise everything was clean, comfortable, and adequate. All we seen were birds and no unwanted guests. The time-share presentation was over in less than two hours, no high pressure, for $200.

We rented an Impala from Alamo with a sunroof instead of a four wheel drive or convertible. We put over 1000 miles on it, gas was about 50% higher than Florida, and it got us everywhere we had time to go @ 30 miles/gal (there are break-ins). Bread seemed to be the most expensive ($4/loaf at some places) but Walmart had some reasonable prices. We found the sandwich shops near the beaches to be reasonable too.

From our limited experience our bests with easy access are:
SNORKEL- Kahalu'u and Honaunau (place of refuge)
BEACH- Hapuna and Spencer (didn't get to 69)
LUAU- Mauna Kea (good food) possible manta rays
COFFEE TOUR- Holualoa (small 15 acre self-guided)
NUT FACTORY- South of Hilo (self-guided)
LOOKOUT- Pololu (bit of a drive)
WATERFALL- Akaka (steps) and Rainbow (late morning)
UNIQUE- Koho Tide-pools and Ahalanai (hot pool)
VOLCANO NP- is quite a drive and best after sunset (open 24hrs) so since we had to spend an extra day using "frequent flyer miles" we got a place just outside the park. note: to see the red lava go before sunset and hike out using good flashlights, good hiking shoes, and strong binoculars (rangers sometimes let you use theirs).
TOURS & ENTERTAINMENT- beware of "ship days" when things can book-up early and look for coupons in flyers. (we missed a glass bottom boat ride for mom and daughter)

We enjoyed our trip very much. There was lots of contrasts (11 of 15 possible climate zones) and Paniolo Greens was a great location to explore from. Hope this helps and you have a good trip too. Our camera was messing up but I will try to leave you some not too personal pictures of what to expect ;) ALOHA

  • Liked — All The Room
  • Disliked — Ants
  • Tips/Secrets — Already Listed
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
30 Thank DSTOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

We just returned from a week stay at Paniolo Greens. This might get long because I love to read reviews here so I will give you all the details. We are a family of four, including two young children, ages 3 and 6. We decided to travel to the Big Island after having visited Maui and Kauai in recent years, and because I had visited the Big Island for a single day on a cruise many years back and still remember walking around the volcanoes and what an amazing experience it was.

We have owned our timeshare for many years and we trade it every year, so we have seen our fair share of timeshare accomodations (and we travel often otherwise too). We chose Paniolo Greens because 1) it was a two bedroom/three bath with full ktichen, 2) it had air conditioning when many hotels in Hawaii don't, and 3) the location sounded good and the reviews here were decent, 4) washer and dryer in the room which is always a huge benefit when traveling with kids.

Upon arriving in Kona, we drove for about 35 minutes to get to Paniolo. The facility does look like a big apartment complex. Check in was pretty quick, and I was immediately hit up to talk to the timeshare lady to "get my restaurant ticket validated." We avoid anything to do with timeshare sales like the plaque because we have had it ruin our day in the past - nothing they can offer is worth me sitting there for hours of my vacation when I know I don't want to buy and it could turn ugly if you get some high-pressure group. Also, if I am going to buy a timeshare, I am certainly going to buy one resale and not new. Anyway, the lady did call once more that week but we just told her we weren't interested and we didn't hear from them again.

On to the room. The rooms were confusing and we had a hard time finding it. There is room 208 in every building, and parking was in numbered spots so that was a bit of a pain. Once we found our room, we were happy with the size of it. It was two stories, two full bedrooms, three bathrooms, a third bedroom that was used as a TV room (four TVs total), full kitchen, etc. The furnishings were typical of timeshares. It had lots of little closets and hiding spaces so the kids had fun playing in them. The unit was just fantastic for us since we have young kids - we felt right at home. You just can't beat being able to put the kids to bed in one room, having your own room, and having a family room to relax in after they go to bed. We also utilized the kitchen often. The kitchen was pretty well stocked, again typical of most timeshares we have seen.

The condo was okay as far as cleanliness. That is one thing I really dislike about timeshares - you don't get daily cleanings. We arrived on Sunday, and we were told our unit would be cleaned Wednesday or Thursday. I was really disappointed when we got back on Wednesday from our outing and the condo hadn't been cleaned - by then it really needed it. I felt the carpets were a bit dirty too, and we did find a few hairs in the master bath ( a pet peeve of mine). The master bath also was a bit clogged and didn't drain properly. Other than that, the room was clean and we were comfortable in it.

We did pay for the air conditioning ($5 a day), and we did use it every day. We are from Phoenix, so we are used to the heat, but temps did get up into the high 80's/low 90's, and that is not a comfortable temperature for me. The room was very stuffy when we arrived, even after opening all of the windows. Also, being able to close the windows helped with outside noises. I did hear the lawnmowers that everyone has been complaining about, but they didn't bother me or wake me up. It seemed that they started on the far end of the golf course and moved towards the condos. The one night we were woken up was when the people next door to us checked in and decided to celebrate arriving on the island at 5:30am by sitting out on their patio and talking in a loud and obnoxious manner. We shut the doors and windows of our room and the big mouthed lady still kept me awake, so I finally had to go ask her to be quiet (ha!). Other than that, we slept very soundly - I thought the beds were very comfortable.

The pool was very nice and they had a spa and children's pool as well. The excercise facility was pretty meager (like four machines?) but my biggest qualm with it was that it wasn't air conditioned (as far as I could tell) and it got pretty hot with just the fans on and windows open. Not great, but at least they had something. The golf course was in okay shape -not especially beautiful to look at or anything. We did see the wild turkeys almost daily which was very exciting to the kids. We had reasonable service at Paniolo - the few times we asked for something, we had good service. They do nickle and dime you for things - an extra $2.50 for a small box of laundry detergent, $8 each to make flower leis as a craft in the community center, pretty $$ to rent beach chairs and umbrellas.

On to location. This is a BIG island. We knew that going in, but, man, it was a lot of driving to see what we wanted to see. To get into the town of Kona, it was a 45-60 minute drive. Most activities that we signed up for left from Kona. We went to a luau in Kona that started at 5:00, and we were late due to traffic. To get to Hilo, which has most of the rainforest sites, waterfalls, and volcanoes, it was a 2 1/2 hour drive. There is a road that goes over the mountain, which was often very bumpy and windy, but was also just beautiful and chilly (the base of the mountain). There is also a highway route that goes north, and that seemed to be a bit quicker and smoother. If I had to do it again, I would probably book two nights in Hilo at a different hotel, and see what I wanted to see over that time. We wanted to take another trip to Hilo to see the zoo and farmer's market, but we just couldn't bring ourselves to make the kids sit in the car for 5/6 hours (again). To the south of Kona, there is a gorgeous black sand beach, but again, that drive was probably 1 1/2- 2 hours. It was around 45 mintues to get to the north of the island, where there is another black sand beach (with a more difficult hike), a cute little town Kohala (with a great restaurant -Short and Sweet - AWESOME panini sandwiches and homemade baked goods). We attended a little festival that was taking place in town which was cute, and the ATV excursion left from there.

On to activities on the island. Beaches -We visited several great beaches. Again, we had young children with us, so a calm tide is important. Our very favorite beach was next to the Hapuna beach - I think they call it mile marker 69 beach. This is only about 15 minutes from the resort. Hapuna regularly gets voted one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and it was very pretty. We liked the beach just south of it, however (the mile marker 69 beach) because the water was calmer and clearer, and there were lots of trees and shade for us to sit in. We were told this is a local beach that doesn't get much PR, so we were lucky to happen upon it (didn't see it any of our guidebooks). We also enjoyed the little beach area next to the Natural Energy Lab - it had a bunch of little tidepools to explore plus some pretty sand areas. The black sand beach on the south of the island (Panaluu) was very neat. It was however, pretty strong tide and rocky, so not great for swimming with the kids. There are turtles basking in the sun around the beach which was neat to see too. The drive to Punaluu was very pretty, as you go through some rainforest. Finally, we visited the Kahaluu Beach Park. We had driven up days before but left because we were unimpressed with the looks of it. We tried again the day we left, and I wish we had spent more time there! The snorkeling is AMAZING - there were sea turtles everywhere. The turtles and fish are so used to people that they come right up to you. The beach itself it pretty yucky and rocky, but once you get in snorkeling, it is amazing.

Other activities - we visited the Seahorse Farm. You will not find this in many of the guidebooks because they just opened it up to visitors this year. I think the cost was around $40 for the family (a bit $, I think), but it was very interesting. This family raises seahorses to sell as pets around the world. At the end of the tour you get to "hold" a seahorse - they will wrap their tails around your fingers. My kids just loved this. We also did the Atlantis submarine trip. Make sure to check for coupons for this. The whole experience was neat - you get to take a boat the the sub, they have music playing, an informative guide talking. The only problem was we didn't see much as far as sealife - just a few fish. My kids still enjoyed the experience. We did the luau at the Kona Beach Hotel. I wasn't expecting too much, we knew it would be a bit cheesy, but the kids ended up really enjoying it. They had activities and crafts to do before it started, relatively good food, and good entertainment. My only qualms with it were 1) they hit you up to pay extra for a bunch of different things. If you want to sit in front - extra $, they had a bunch of flower leis on a table when you came in and asked if you wanted one (which of course the kids did - $10 each). Also, you sit outside (it rained a bit at the beginning -there were no umbrellas or covers over the tables), and you watch the show from your seat. We ended up way in back because of being late due to traffic, so we couldn't see the stage well. We had been to Smith's luau in Kauai, and it was much better because you ate in one location and then moved to an outdoor auditorium with raised seating. My husband took the ATV tour and had a fantastic time - they stopped at a waterfall and you could swim in it which you can't do at most other waterfalls around the island (like Rainbow Falls) due to liability. We attempted to watch the fishing boats come in with their daily catches at the harbor, but arrived too late (we were told to try again at around 3:30pm). The Volcano National Park - this was a bit of a disappointment. Last time I was on the island, probably 12 years ago, I remember walking on hard lava, and if you looked down in the cracks, you could see the red, molton lava flowing underneath - fascinating! This time, we drove all the we down to the end of the road (where I was told the freshest lava was) - a loooong drive, and then hiked quite awhile. At the end of this, you could see the smoke plume from the hot lava hitting the cold water, but it was miles away. I was told if you hiked another 2 miles you could possibly see some hot lava. This was too much for my kids, so we passed, but obviously viewing the lava as I remembered it wasn't possible now. I considered a helicopter ride to view it from the air, but I heard that mostly what you see is just smoke coming up. We also hiked through the lava tube within the park, which is like a natural cave, and this was pretty neat but quick. The area around this is beautiful rainforest, and there are some other hikes in the area. It was a loooong day driving from Paniolo to the volcano park and back.

We visited several other hotels while in Hawaii. We had to check out the Hilton after hearing about it and it was amazing. It is just down the road from Paniolo and next to a great shopping area - the King's shops. We went at night and walked (a looong walk - the place is huge) to the Dolphin Quest area and we could see the dolphins swimming pretty close by which was thrilling to the kids. They also have a huge lagoon "pool" which actually feeds from the ocean and contains sea turtles and other sea life so you could snorkle. We considered staying a night here just to enjoy the facilities, but it was very $$ (we stopped for two pieces of cake - $25). I have seen pictures of the rooms as well, and they are basic hotel rooms. When traveling with two young kids, I would rather stay in a large condo like Paniolo and have the space to spread out and get comfortable. We also booked a room at a hotel in Kona (Kona Beach Resort) to spend the day/evening after check-out from Paniolo since our flight didn't leave until 11:00pm, and I can't imagine spending more than one night there it was so tiny! I have heard the Four Seasons is the prettiest hotel on the island, so it may be worth a visit to stop in and get a drink and look around.

I think this is about it! All in all, we were happy with Paniolo for the size of the room and for the convenience of having the kitchen, bedrooms and washer and dryer. The location was just okay - not much around and a pretty far drive to most activites (besides the one nice beach and King's shopping area). The facilities themselves were average and very apartment like, but I think this is typical of most timeshares. If I were to return to the Big Island, I would stay here again, but I would book a couple of nights in the Hilo area and maybe one night in the south of the island to see everything at a more comfortable pace. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Size, layout, convenience
  • Disliked — Too few cleanings, parking
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Ccgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
4.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paniolo Greens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paniolo Greens Resort

Property: Paniolo Greens Resort
Address: 68-1745 Waikoloa Rd, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paniolo Greens Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Big Island’s captivating mountains as a backdrop, Paniolo Greens is a lush tropical retreat deep in the heart of Hawaii's Big Island. Settle in to spacious, fully furnished villas tastefully decorated in keeping with the area’s rich heritage. Relax in your own private lanai, enjoying the cool breezes and warm Hawaiian sun. Paniolo Greens is centrally located for day trips to the North Shore, Waipio Valley, Volcano National Park and the waterfalls on the windward coast. Tee off on one of ten world-class golf courses located just minutes away. And dining, shopping and entertainment are conveniently located. Paniolo Greens is the perfect place for romantic getaways, family vacations, reunions and golf outings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Paniolo Greens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paniolo Greens Hotel Waikoloa
Paniolo Greens Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing