We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay, not a luxury resort as suggested”
Review of Vista Waikoloa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Waikoloa
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average stay, not a luxury resort as suggested”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed 8 nights in B201, managed by Abbey Vacation Rentals. Average condo, no beach items like others appeared to have (umbrellas, boogies boards, beach chairs), just beach towels and toys for small children. Master bathroom was not clean upon check in. No cleaning supplies so had to go out and buy some. No phone call from Abbey to ensure all was okay. Nice enough complex, not enough chairs at pool when busy. Pool very clean. Beautiful lanai, ate all meals outside enjoying the beautiful weather and view. Mattresses need to be replaced on all beds, and new bedding needed for master - very dated. Other than the master bathroom, the condo was clean and sufficient. Definitely the oldest complex in that area. Nice and close to A-Bay, lots to do within walking distance.

Room Tip: B201 was close to pool, and convenient to BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelling_momma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty H, Owner at Vista Waikoloa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Aloha!
We are pleased to announce that Vista Waikoloa - B201 is now under new ownership.

As of February 2014, B201 has a NEW King Size Mattress in the Master Bedroom, a NEW Queen Size Mattress in the Guest Bedroom, NEW flat screen TV's, NEW sound system and NEW Beach Gear!

Come for a visit to Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    28
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
23
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed 10 days with the family in a 2-bed, 2-bath apartment. The facilities were in great shape, there were ample beach chairs, boogie board, umbrella, etc., and the kitchen was stocked with condiments, etc., and cleaning supplies. We also spent time at the pool, which was good, but did not use the BBQ facilities or the fitness center.
I can't think of a single thing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We enjoyed a week in D-301...great views of the garden and mountains in the background. The unit was imaculate, very nicely furnished, lovely island decor, and amazing quilt bedspreads. This condo had it all...well equiped kitchen, beach/snorkling gear, and high speed wireless internet. Home away from home. The complex has a pool/jacuzzi, BBQ area, and gated property. All around very pleasant accomidations.

Room Tip: D-301...third floor, great view, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDD_11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut shore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We spent 3 nights in unit C103 at Vista Waikoloa, booked with South Kohala Management. It was a really trouble free stay. This unit is next to the pool for those wanting to swim. We found the unit really comfortable, clean, and user friendly. Would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peachey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Renting from the owner of G202 was terrific. Everything was handled efficiently and thoroughly. Truly we needed only some extra clothes and our swimsuits. The condo is well equipped, has an excellent location in the Vista complex with views of the mountains, and is very quiet and comfortable. The Vistas have very large lanais which for this location meant shady outdoor enjoyment throughout the day. The master bath has a lovely soaking tub. At the pool area you will find a lap pool, two jacuzzis and plentiful tables, chaise lounge chairs, and umbrellas. The bbq pavillion has gas grills, a restroom, and a kitchen. When we used it there was only one other neighbor there grilling. The living room and master bedroom have large sliding doors that open to the breeze and the view. Since we were upstairs, we were able to leave these open at night. This unit was comfortable, clean and not ultra fancy. I don't have any desire to go on vacation where I need to be preoccupied with taking care of bamboo floors or high maintenance upolstery. The owner has chosen practical fabrics and surfaces that are island themed, pleasant and easy to care for. There were plenty of towels and bedding. I don't think I could go to hotels and pay extreme prices for a room when I can spread out and make my own coffee and sandwiches in a two bedroom condo for such a wonderful value. I would gladly return to G202 and rent from Joy through VRBO.

Room Tip: The G building in the complex offers wonderful mountain and golf views plus is quiet since it is aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestDealMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just got back from having a great 6 night stay in Condo F305 booked through Abbey Vacation Rentals. This was the first time that we had booked a condo privately rather than through an on-site manager like Aston or Outrigger, and as such were slightly wary especially as it had to be prepaid in advance. We need not have been concerned. The pre-arrival information received from Abbey setting out directions and access information etc was comprehensive. Everything was as advertised on the Abbey Vacation Rentals web site. Received a call after check-in from an Abbey representative asking if everything was ok.

The condo itself was very spacious, loved the large lanai (had breakfast there each morning) and the comfortable lounge and beds. The condo was clean and in great condition. The location couldn't have been better, we had an ocean view. Also within walking distance of about everything, from the beach at A-bay, to the King Shops and Queens Market.This enabled us to have a very relaxing vacation.

Notwithstanding the positives, there were a few negatives - the air-conditioner is an internal compressor type which is very noisy when on, there did not appear to be any welcome pack as indicated on our email from Abbey - merely leftovers from previous tenants, the towels had a musty smell upon arrival, so we had to wash them right away.

Previous reviewers have mentioned traffic noise, however this was not an issue for us.

Overall an enjoyable holiday and we would stay in this condo again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greg637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Vista Waikoloa is one of the older properties in the resort, but it is very well-maintained. Nicely landscaped with mature plants, it is also a smaller complex than many you will find in this area. All of the public areas are quite nice. There is a pavilion area with gas grills, though some units are equipped with their own. The pool area is very clean and updated, with two hot tubs and very comfy chairs. The pool itself is saline and is a lap pool, so it's only about three feet deep. But again, it's very well kept. There is also a business office so you can print your boarding passes, and there is a small workout room there as well.

Buildings A through C or so will look out towards the ocean and the Hilton, then towards Kolea across the street with some possibility of some ocean view. The Kolea development has blocked most of the ocean views from Vista Waikoloa, though the upper floors still have some. Buildings C through Building F you will be looking at Kolea with still some partial ocean view, depending on your unit. Buildings G on up front the golf course. We stayed in Building F, with a sliver of ocean view, but great views of the mountains. When it is clear, the view of Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai is really impressive, and watching the view change as the clouds come in and out made up for not having the full ocean view.

The location can't be beat - you are within walking distance to the Hilton and the Marriott, A-Bay, and both the King's and Queen's shops. Also an easy drive to other Kohala area beaches and attractions.

Another plus is you will experience less vog in Waikoloa than you will in Kona. The days we went into Kona looked more like a gray Seattle day than a tropical one.

Units are owned individually, so the decor and amenities will vary in each. All of the units we have seen were quite nicely appointed. They are pretty good size, with a large lanai that is accessed from both the living area and master bedroom. The second bedroom is off the dining area and is closed off by sliding doors, which can be opened up for a more spacious feel if you don't need that bedroom. There is an elevator available in each building.

The units here are much less than most of the other complexes in the area, and still offer a lot of amenities and a quality vacation experience. It's a very good value for the money.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank SeattleElikapeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#7 of 12 in Waikoloa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Waikoloa

Property: Vista Waikoloa
Address: 69-1010 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5732
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Waikoloa is centrally located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort and offers spacious condominiums with fairway and ocean views of beautiful Anaeho'omalu Bay. Enjoy easy walking access to shops and restaurants at the Kings' Shops and Queen's Marketplace. All guests have free use of the Vista Waikoloa Recreation Center which includes a heated lap pool, two hot tubs, a large pavilion with gas BBQ's, a business center with WIFI and a fitness room. The check-in office is located on-site open 7 days a week with staff to personally greet you when you arrive. In terms of value, location and quality, the Vista is an excellent choice for your next stay at the Waikoloa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing