We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly disappointed, expected better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived in mid-January for 2 weeks in 2014, and the stay at the Waikoloa Colony Villas did not start out well.
We had stayed here 2 years previous and the check-in was seamless at the front gate of the Colony Villas.
We arrived after hours (around 9:45 pm) from Canada, and unknown to us, the check-in procedure had changed in the last couple of months and the lock box was no longer at this property. We contacted the after-hours people on the gate phone, who insisted that our reservation was at the Mauna Kea condos, not the Colony Villas, and promptly got cut off 3 times before getting instructed that our check-in lock box was at the Waikoloa Shores office. After finding the Waikoloa Shores, we had no idea where the 'office' was (it is several hundred yards inside the complex) in the dark, and after several more keypad phone calls, getting told a couple more times that we were supposed to be at the Mauna Kea condos, and getting cut off a few more times, one of our party finally found the office after exploring for a half hour, at the same time the resort finally sent someone out to assist. This fellow was extremely helpful, I don't know why anyone on the phone was so clueless. Finally, by 11:30, we were in our condo, unit 2703.
Once in our condo, we were again disappointed by the furnishings and deficiencies. The living area furniture and lanai furniture were 'industrial' looking and uncomfortable. We wound up buying lawn chairs from Wal-Mart (and left them behind) to sit on outside. The televisions were giant older TV's so big that the back of the TV stand in the living room had been cut out so it could fit, allowing all the noise from the TV to travel up the stairwell into the bedroom area. The rugs were dirty. The master bathroom toilet handle was falling off (I fixed this myself). The shower door in the master bathroom didn't close (meaning water got on the floor) as the magnets had fallen off and not been replaced. The ceiling fan in the main floor half bath was so noisy it could not be turned on after anyone went to bed (this was bad because the light and fan were on the same switch). The master bedroom opened up onto an upper lanai, which was nice and quiet when we went to bed, but faced onto a golf course where lawn mowing started before the sunrise (being Canadian, we had to have the windows wide open to keep cool).
Another item to consider was the community pool, everyone we spoke to at the pool was complaining that it was too cold to use (it is not heated), I went in it and found it uncomfortably cool. The ocean was much warmer.
Overall, not very impressed with this condo complex from the start.
We did enjoy our holiday in spite of all this, however, we do recommend travelling to the Big Island for sure, just shop around for something better than these condos at the Waikoloa Colony Villas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Aloha Shirley M,

Thank you for your business and the review.

I apologize for all of the issues. You should have been notified of the change in arrival situation by your agent you booked through, or on the reservation confirmation or on the pre-stay piece we send to every arriving guest. I am sorry the live agent on the phone was unable to help - we do thousands of these late check-ins every year and have problems with less than 2%.

Did you contact our office about any of the unit issues?

I apologize for taking so long to respond - this has been he busy season and we have a few rather large projects going on right now.

You are right about The Big Island - a great place and lots to do. We have many lovely units in our inventory and I'd suggest your return, give us another try and let me know when you make the reservation. We'll do our best to exceed all of your expectations. Our owners are upgrading their units all of the time.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

I am currently staying in unit 1706. It is not anymore under Aston or Outrigger Management and has been recently sold to new owners. We have made our reservation through VRBO. The unit is spotless, well maintained, confortable with a lot of amenities.
We have been greeted with a huge welcome pack. Very nice tought from the owners. Kitchen is beyond expectations:rice, spices, condiments, frozen produce, plastic wrap,foil,zip-lock bags, coffee etc. In the garage there is 4 brand new bicycles,golf clubs,snorkel gear, beach mats, cool bags,tennis rackets and balls, boogie boards,beach chairs. Rooms are comfortable, nice bed linens.Bathrooms offer shampoo, conditionner, body wash,soap

If you have appreciated Big Island, I recommend that you return to this specific unit and reserve with the current owner. I have never had a rental such as this one. Totally outstanding!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveler000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Aloha Traveler000000,

We have some lovely units in our Aston Rental Program. I am glad you had a great experience with the VRBO unit your booked. We want everyone to enjoy the property and the Island.

We are looking at other business models and helping the rest of our owners upgrade their units so everyone has an experience like you did.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The unit we were blessed to use was everything we could have wanted or needed for the location and price. It was close to the pool and grills so we could enjoy the seafood/produce bounty available at Foodland Farms at Mauna Lani. The golf course views from the dining area and upstairs master suite were lovely. Having a laundry set-up definitely helps with packing. Love the proximity to all the Waikoloa amenities, shopping, restaurants and A-Beach. This is a very well priced complex compared with adjacent ones. One-, two-, and three-bedroom units are available.

Room Tip: Try for units around bldg. 23, 10, 9 to be near the pool and grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Aloha roamingnoni,

Thank you for your business at both Aston properties in Waikoloa. Thank you for another kind review.

Can we hire you to promote what we offer here at Aston? We so appreciate the nice reviews and hope you'll return.

Happy Holidays,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this two bedroom, two bathroom villa privately through VRBO # 107788. It is number 2301 in the complex and is very quiet and private. Of all the places we stayed in our recent three week Hawaiian vacation, this was by far our favourite. The description and photos on the website are very accurate - no nasty surprises as we found in another place we booked! The villa was very clean and well maintained, the beds very comfortable, good linen and everything you could possibly need is at hand. The owner is very helpful, friendly and answers your emails very efficiently. She also sends you some very detailed tips on beaches and activities in the area which we found very helpful. We only stayed for three nights but didn't want to leave. We would definitely stay here again and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Aloha Benaroo,

There are a lot of nice units in the Waikoloa Colony Villas and Aston Hotels and Resorts manages a bunch of them just like the one you booked through VRBO.

Thanks for putting the great review out there on the property. Hope you return and book with us!

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had a conference at a nearby hotel and stayed here because I prefer condos to hotels. I was in unit 306 which is a one bedroom. It is right next to the pool/BBQ which was convenient for us. There didn't appear to be a lot of people staying here so noise from the pool wasn't an issue. the times kids were there was during early afternoon so no problems.

The unit was a very nicely decorated townhouse with the bedroom and a nice bathroom and walk in closet upstairs. It really was very nicely decorated and furnished throughout. The kitchen had all the utensils, plates etc. you could need. There weren't any spices other than salt and pepper so you will need to bring your own.

The grounds were very nicely maintained and the staff was very helpful. We had an issue with the doors enclosing the washer and dryer but the problem was promptly fixed. The staff happily answered any questions we had about the surrounding area. Wi-Fi worked fine and was included in the resort fee.

I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Aloha Sunnyside Don,

Thank you for the business, review and kind words. Please tell your friends!

Hope you return some day.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I arrived after office hours, but I didn't have any issue for obtaining access to the place. I stayed 1703, and it was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Five of us stayed in the place and we all loved it. The unit was also closed to community swimming pool and BBQ area. House cleaning came every two days to change towels and took out trash.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Aloha jjongi,

Thank you for your business and the kind review. Hope you'll recommend us and return some time in the future!

With Aloha,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff over and above. The villa was very clean all we needed was available and im sure if not staff would try their best!!! Lovely pool and bbq. Great location! !! Only point is if you need to check out early. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Aloha Whitney P,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the "brilliant" review and the input. I could have guessed from your use of that word - where your home is. The English use brilliant way more than most people and I wish everyone would describe their stay at Waikoloa Colony Villas in the same fashion!

Sorry about the late checkout - we try our best.

We hope you'll recommend us and return some day.

With Aloha,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#8 of 13 in Waikoloa
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.8 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
1.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Address: 69-555 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: £177 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Villas are home to a luxurious lifestyle. Featuring 1, 2 and 3-bedroom villas with fully equipped gourmet kitchens, this resort is adjacent to the 15th fairway of the Waikoloa Resort Beach Course. Guests enjoy the property's recreational facilities - tennis courts, fitness center, pools, and jet spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Waikoloa Colony Villas
Waikoloa Colony Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing