We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A week in Paradise”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay at Colony Villas Waikoloa was arranged thru USAirways Vacations. We were NOT expecting the condo to be this nice for such a good price!! Condo had been recently renovated, I'm sure. We were delighted by the lovely furnishings, granite counters, SS appliances, etc. The outdoor area was ground floor level, and completely enclosed in mature shrubs for the ultimate privacy! Close to pool and BBQ grills. Walking distance to shops, grocery, beach, and trails. The unit was very spacious and filled with natural light. Great for a couple or family with 2 children, perhaps. Desk staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and professional. I am happy that we stayed in the Waikaloa area, and not in the crowded Kona-Kailua region. A great week!!

Room Tip: Ask for proximity to pool and BBQ grills! And perhaps request a renovated condo!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha Virgodream,

Thank you for your business and review.

I would love to have a week off here on The Big Island. It is such a great place where you can do a couple of things you cannot do anywhere else (sunset on the summit of the tallest mountain on the planet, see an active volcan without being in any danger).

Thanks for the kind words regarding our staff.

Appreciate the endorsement - hope you will return.

Warmest Alohas,

Gregory Koestering
General manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    61
    22
    15
    2
See reviews for
107
51
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in this Villa in February 2014 for 5 days, rented thru South Kohala Management. We loved the fact that we were steps away from the pool. The gardens and grounds are pretty. The unit was very spacious for the two of us and would be ideal for a family. It would not work for couples traveling together as the master bed room on the 2nd floor is open to the downstairs area.

We liked the location as we were in the center of things that we wanted to do while on Hawaii and very close in driving distance to a couple of outstanding beaches. You *will* need a car while here though, as it is a far walk on a hot lava field to the shopping complexes or beaches.

We felt the value of the unit was good too and appreciated that. But this unit is in need of paint and new carpeting. Just kinda tired decor. No wifi. Also, the windows were extremely dirty and in need of cleaning. We were not in the condo much during the day, but it would've been nice to actually see the views.

I'd probably go there again, but I'd definitely try to get a cleaner unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minne-girl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha Minnie Girl 79,

South Kohala Management is a good company and do their best to maintain the units. It is not their responsibiity to clean the outside of the windows. Every Rental Management company here is trying to get the owners to update everything in the unit that needs attention. Different owners respond with varied amounts of action.

Hope you enjoyed The Big Island.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were at Colony Villas at Waikoloa Beach for two weeks in February. The refrigerator froze everything, and the WiFi didn't work. It took 10 days to get the WiFi fixed. The fridge never completely functioned well. It took five phone calls to the Outrigger office to deal with these problems....
The resort has 27 buildings and each building has 6 units, two floors for each unit. There are no ocean views from the property. The center of the village is 1.2 miles away by the shortest route, which goes along a lava field and is treeless and hot if you walk while the sun is up.The more pleasant walk is about twice the distance. There is no public transportation between the village and Colony Villas. You have to drive everywhere, which means that if you want a drink at a restaurant for dinner, you have to appoint a designated driver or take your chances. There are only two barbecue grills on the property. The exercise room has one treadmill and two bikes, which is pretty stingy when you consider that at full occupancy, there would be at least 324 people at the resort. Yes, you're in Hawaii and you might like to walk or jog outdoors, but once the sun is up, the temps are in the 80s and not so great for vigorous exercise. The pool is a modest size. There are no facilities for children. I would not return because it's too far from the village and doesn't offer much in the way of walks, and the experience with the management office left a sour taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha Carolyn K,

Even though you were not in one of Aston's units I have to say that Outrigger is a long time company in Hawaii that does a good job.

And I would disagree with just a couple of things: you can walk in less than 10 minutes to almost any bar in the Resort area; there are at leats 7 barbeques in the complex; there is so much to do (for kids) within walking distance and a pool on property that is specifically for kids; the workout room is small and operated by the Owner's Association (which has nothing to do with Outrigger) but we kinda expect people to walk, swim and enjoy the outdoors for exercise while here.

Hope you enjoyed The Big Island.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived in mid-January for 2 weeks in 2014, and the stay at the Waikoloa Colony Villas did not start out well.
We had stayed here 2 years previous and the check-in was seamless at the front gate of the Colony Villas.
We arrived after hours (around 9:45 pm) from Canada, and unknown to us, the check-in procedure had changed in the last couple of months and the lock box was no longer at this property. We contacted the after-hours people on the gate phone, who insisted that our reservation was at the Mauna Kea condos, not the Colony Villas, and promptly got cut off 3 times before getting instructed that our check-in lock box was at the Waikoloa Shores office. After finding the Waikoloa Shores, we had no idea where the 'office' was (it is several hundred yards inside the complex) in the dark, and after several more keypad phone calls, getting told a couple more times that we were supposed to be at the Mauna Kea condos, and getting cut off a few more times, one of our party finally found the office after exploring for a half hour, at the same time the resort finally sent someone out to assist. This fellow was extremely helpful, I don't know why anyone on the phone was so clueless. Finally, by 11:30, we were in our condo, unit 2703.
Once in our condo, we were again disappointed by the furnishings and deficiencies. The living area furniture and lanai furniture were 'industrial' looking and uncomfortable. We wound up buying lawn chairs from Wal-Mart (and left them behind) to sit on outside. The televisions were giant older TV's so big that the back of the TV stand in the living room had been cut out so it could fit, allowing all the noise from the TV to travel up the stairwell into the bedroom area. The rugs were dirty. The master bathroom toilet handle was falling off (I fixed this myself). The shower door in the master bathroom didn't close (meaning water got on the floor) as the magnets had fallen off and not been replaced. The ceiling fan in the main floor half bath was so noisy it could not be turned on after anyone went to bed (this was bad because the light and fan were on the same switch). The master bedroom opened up onto an upper lanai, which was nice and quiet when we went to bed, but faced onto a golf course where lawn mowing started before the sunrise (being Canadian, we had to have the windows wide open to keep cool).
Another item to consider was the community pool, everyone we spoke to at the pool was complaining that it was too cold to use (it is not heated), I went in it and found it uncomfortably cool. The ocean was much warmer.
Overall, not very impressed with this condo complex from the start.
We did enjoy our holiday in spite of all this, however, we do recommend travelling to the Big Island for sure, just shop around for something better than these condos at the Waikoloa Colony Villas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Aloha Shirley M,

Thank you for your business and the review.

I apologize for all of the issues. You should have been notified of the change in arrival situation by your agent you booked through, or on the reservation confirmation or on the pre-stay piece we send to every arriving guest. I am sorry the live agent on the phone was unable to help - we do thousands of these late check-ins every year and have problems with less than 2%.

Did you contact our office about any of the unit issues?

I apologize for taking so long to respond - this has been he busy season and we have a few rather large projects going on right now.

You are right about The Big Island - a great place and lots to do. We have many lovely units in our inventory and I'd suggest your return, give us another try and let me know when you make the reservation. We'll do our best to exceed all of your expectations. Our owners are upgrading their units all of the time.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I am currently staying in unit 1706. It is not anymore under Aston or Outrigger Management and has been recently sold to new owners. We have made our reservation through VRBO. The unit is spotless, well maintained, confortable with a lot of amenities.
We have been greeted with a huge welcome pack. Very nice tought from the owners. Kitchen is beyond expectations:rice, spices, condiments, frozen produce, plastic wrap,foil,zip-lock bags, coffee etc. In the garage there is 4 brand new bicycles,golf clubs,snorkel gear, beach mats, cool bags,tennis rackets and balls, boogie boards,beach chairs. Rooms are comfortable, nice bed linens.Bathrooms offer shampoo, conditionner, body wash,soap

If you have appreciated Big Island, I recommend that you return to this specific unit and reserve with the current owner. I have never had a rental such as this one. Totally outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Aloha Traveler000000,

We have some lovely units in our Aston Rental Program. I am glad you had a great experience with the VRBO unit your booked. We want everyone to enjoy the property and the Island.

We are looking at other business models and helping the rest of our owners upgrade their units so everyone has an experience like you did.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The unit we were blessed to use was everything we could have wanted or needed for the location and price. It was close to the pool and grills so we could enjoy the seafood/produce bounty available at Foodland Farms at Mauna Lani. The golf course views from the dining area and upstairs master suite were lovely. Having a laundry set-up definitely helps with packing. Love the proximity to all the Waikoloa amenities, shopping, restaurants and A-Beach. This is a very well priced complex compared with adjacent ones. One-, two-, and three-bedroom units are available.

Room Tip: Try for units around bldg. 23, 10, 9 to be near the pool and grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha roamingnoni,

Thank you for your business at both Aston properties in Waikoloa. Thank you for another kind review.

Can we hire you to promote what we offer here at Aston? We so appreciate the nice reviews and hope you'll return.

Happy Holidays,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this two bedroom, two bathroom villa privately through VRBO # 107788. It is number 2301 in the complex and is very quiet and private. Of all the places we stayed in our recent three week Hawaiian vacation, this was by far our favourite. The description and photos on the website are very accurate - no nasty surprises as we found in another place we booked! The villa was very clean and well maintained, the beds very comfortable, good linen and everything you could possibly need is at hand. The owner is very helpful, friendly and answers your emails very efficiently. She also sends you some very detailed tips on beaches and activities in the area which we found very helpful. We only stayed for three nights but didn't want to leave. We would definitely stay here again and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Aloha Benaroo,

There are a lot of nice units in the Waikoloa Colony Villas and Aston Hotels and Resorts manages a bunch of them just like the one you booked through VRBO.

Thanks for putting the great review out there on the property. Hope you return and book with us!

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.4 mi away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#7 of 12 in Waikoloa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.8 mi away
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
0.8 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Property: Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas
Address: 69-555 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Villas are home to a luxurious lifestyle. Featuring 1, 2 and 3-bedroom villas with fully equipped gourmet kitchens, this resort is adjacent to the 15th fairway of the Waikoloa Resort Beach Course. Guests enjoy the property's recreational facilities - tennis courts, fitness center, pools, and jet spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Waikoloa Colony Villas
Waikoloa Colony Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing