We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BLISS!!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had the most wonderful 5 days at this resort right on the bay.
Relaxing, great food and cocktails from their restaurant next door, great low key wonderful service.
The second shower outdoors was fantastic!!!
Turtles on the beach enjoying the sun.
Sunsets, swimming, snorkeling and music at night.
The cottage was so comfortable with everything provided.

Great! Great! Great!
I will be back.
Thank you for such a wonderful 5 days.

Room Tip: Every cottage is in a wonderful position right on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
72
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We decided to get married on the Big Island. Our vision was just the two of us on the beach somewhere followed by a romantic, fun and relaxing week to celebrate. We started to search for the best ceremony locations as well as resorts to stay. Having stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa the year prior we knew that experience could easily be duplicated at a number of mega resorts on the island. Then I stumbled upon a Huffington Post article about Lava Lava Beach Club and the cottages there. The photos and reviews looked incredible (almost too good to be true), but it seemed like the exact experience we were looking for. Booked it. Anticipated it. And then...BLOWN away by it.

We found not only the perfect place to stay, but the perfect place to get married. We literally got married beneath the trees half way between our cottage and the ocean and will cherish for years to come being able to return to what is now a sacred place for us. We said "I do" there and then later danced our first dance beneath the same trees with the ocean waves in almost perfect sync with the live music from next door. It really was magical and this place made it easy.

This isn't a hotel. Very different from B and B's we've stayed. This is an escape to your own little island cottage where the ocean water is 40-50 feet from your private lanai. We would wake up early to what seemed like our own beach where we would be just two of a few people on paddle boards on a glass surfaced bay watching the sunrise take over Waikoloa as turtles, fish, and manta rays glided beneath your board. Followed by breakfast on the lanai as we watched the beach slowly come alive with locals fishing and visitors snorkeling. Next up a shower in the outdoor shower (the inside one never got used) surrounded by beautiful plants, seashell kissed lava wall and the occasional gecko to keep you there just a little longer. Minus one day into Kona to finalize wedding details and one day driving to the village of Hawi we really didn't want to leave our slice of paradise.

The cottage is fun elegance. Modern yet so comfortable with premium everything. The bed was AMAZING. Linens and towels are all luxury quality. (My now wife says nothing better than Turkish towels!) The kitchenette was perfect for making simple fruit and yogurt breakfasts, coffee and tea, and the refrigerator was always kept full with water, sodas, wine, and daily surprises.

By mid-day the beach club picks up speed with the Lava Lava restaurant and bar (did we mention it's right next door to the cottages) serving lunch through dinner and everything in between at a quality and value not to be beat anywhere we've experience on the island. Live music starts around 5pm and goes until 9pm. From the cottages you get the backside view of the live music which makes the volume level from the lanai absolutely perfect. Also around 5pm exclusive cottage guest appetizers and cocktails are delivered to your lanai or placed inside if you are out and about. The proximity of the restaurant and bar added a fun atmosphere at the right times without every taking away from the relaxing and romantic experience.

Special shout outs to Brytt who coordinates all things cottages (She never turned down a request we made), Jason who is one of the restaurant managers (Not one day went by without him doing something extra for us), Marlo who with her staff cleans and replenishes the cottages (we always looked forward to talking with her and her daughter), and Scott who is one of the owners and does an amazing job of orchestrating hospitality beyond none other...from the bottle of sparkling wine waiting to the gift as we walked away. Every member of the staff always went the extra mile to create the perfect stay, the perfect meal, the perfect day, the perfect trip, the perfect experience.

This is the type of place that is so special you want to keep to yourself while you are there, but can't help telling everyone about when you leave...Cheers!

Room Tip: Would recommend the third or fourth cottage furthest away from the restaurant if available, but hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeasUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I loved this places, we were there in February of 2013, everything was great, I loved outdoor shower, decorations, service. Everybody were very helpful and professional. Basically everything you need: restaurant, shopping center and an ocean is very close.
I would defiantly recommend this place and we ( me and my husband ) will defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NB_NYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lava lava beach club for our honeymoon after a busy wedding-week in Hawaii. We couldn't have asked for a better spot to relax and reflect. Our beach house was incredibly clean and charming and even included an outdoor shower to complete our island experience. The staff would bring us over cocktails and appetizers at sunset which we'd enjoy from the comfort of our lanai. My partner saw two beach turtles in the water directly in front of our cabin and there were always plenty of people in the water enjoying the snorkelling. Though the restaurant next door gets a fairly large crowd, everyone heads home by about 9pm so it never interfered with the serene, romantic vibe we were trying to maintain! I would definitely stay here again and will certainly be recommending this place to all of my friends and family for their future Waikoloa trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This beach club was recommended to us by some locals and when we went down for our...first dinner, we noticed the cottages on the beach. The food was excellent and we were then given a tour of one cottage which happened to be available for our two nights left on Hawaii. It was perfect! Everyone should have the chance to be served by John at table 1 and stay in cottage 1. Our number one experience on the big island this trip...

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is closest to the restaurant so if you want a quieter stay, ask for cottage 2-4. Even in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Holy moly. I cannot say enough glowing things about this resort! From the time we arrived, we were treated better than I have ever been treated by hotel staff. The resort was amazing. The view was gorgeous; on a clear day, you can see Maui from your porch. It's set on a white sand beach, but is 10-15 minutes from a black sand beach down the road. The cottages (4) are air-conditioned, but are so well ventilated, it was not necessary. The daybed was perfect for napping and my husband and I both remarked that the sleep we had while there was the best we've had in years. The private, outdoor shower was perfect (who wants to be inside when visiting Hawaii?). The carport was very much appreciated, in the tropical sun, and every cottage even had a foot wash station, so you didn't have to track sand inside. The fridge was stocked with water, wine, and local sodas (that were highly addictive!). The housekeeping staff was awesome, very sweet, and accommodating. Every day for Happy Hour, wait staff would drop by drinks and appetizers (shrimp cocktail, sushi, etc.), and there was live entertainment nightly. We had front-row seats every night, from our porch. Kelley was freaking amazing! She provided us with so many ideas on the best places to go/do/see. Anything we needed, we received. With a smile. We ate at the open-air restaurant a couple of times, and the food was excellent, the staff was extremely courteous, and it was just a great experience, all around.

We will definitely be back. If we could live in that cottage, we totally would.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I, along with two other couples, just returned from a two week vacation in Hawaii where we stayed at a very nice resort called the Wyndham Kona. While out exploring the area one day, though, we discovered the Lava Lava Beach Club and immediately fell in love with the place. So much so that we ended up staying one night in one of their cottages. One of the couples in our group even decided to renew their wedding vows on the beach there, too! We also found ourselves returning on a number of evenings for fine food and drink, live entertainment, and awesome sunsets. For my wife and I, this was our third trip to the Hawaiian Islands but our first to the Big Island. We've seen and stayed at many beautiful places on the various islands over the years but none quite like the Lava Lava Beach Club. The hospitality is second to none (the entire staff, in particular our waiter, John, went above and beyond for us every day that we were there). The food and drink are excellent and VERY reasonably priced (good, flavorful portions and not "watered down" drinks). The cottages are very clean, well equipped with ALL of the amenities, and have awesome ocean views (the sea turtles are pretty cool, too). We would highly recommend the Lava Lava Beach Club to anyone looking to relax and experience true Hawaiian hospitality at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bn141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
7.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages

Property: Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages
Address: 69-1081 Kuualii Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and Play in Style and Get Some Sand Between Your Toes! Our four contemporary Hawaiian cottages were individually designed, constructed, and decorated for the distinctive, laidback luxury lifestyle you’re looking for. Offering your own slice of the beach right on Anaeho’omalu Bay and one of the most beautiful shores of Waikoloa, you’ll be able to sleep to the sounds of the surf or spend hours swimming seconds from your doorstep. Lava Lava Beach Club is the premier destination for guests who want freedom to step from bed to the beach and the beach to the bath! Each cottage is free-standing and beachfront! It’s the newest, most individual island experience available and gives you all the comforts of a private home, the convenience of a beach front hotel, and excitement of a surf shack. These beach frills have flair! Our cottages have personality and are adorned with relaxed “New Island” décor and decorated with the vibrant colors of coconut fronds, ocean and sunsets. Artwork celebrating the water sports of Hawaii complete the look. Find your laidback luxury lifestyle at Lava Lava Beach Club. We have a feeling you’ll be back before you know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Lava Lava Beach Club Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing