We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific spot for lunch, sunset view or just drinks”

Lava Lava Beach Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Lava Lava Beach Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lava Lava Beach Club is brought to you by the same people who bring you Huggo's oceanfront restaurant in Kailua-Kona , On The Rocks, a casual beach bar in Kailua-Kona, Paradise Gourmet Catering, the Big Island leader in custom events and weddings and Grass Shack Parties & Rentals, the go-to source for all local style affordable parties.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific spot for lunch, sunset view or just drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled on this place walking up the beach from A-Bay and stopped in for snacks and a drink. Service was friendly and the munchies were good. We went back 2 days later for dinner.... reservations highly advised if you want to have diner at sunset. The food was good, not terrific, the service was ok although our waitress was REALLY pleasant. My ONO was overcooked and the potatoes were cold. So if you want to have an ok meal and unbeatable view, this is the place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    1,155
    417
    162
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best view ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stopped by for lunch. Got seats immediately on the beach with toes in the sand. They used coffee tables as dining tables for the beach seating so that you could just prop your feet up and enjoy. On the coffee tables they had little pagers for you to ring the server if you needed them. Great service. Best Mai Tai we had on our whole 2 week Oahu and Big Island trip. They were STRONG! Also had a passionfruit drink with Li Hing Mui rim. Awesome. Poke was delicious, as was the barbecue. But the view is the best ever. You can walk away from your table for a minute and take a look at the tide pools right there or just sit back and watch a lone kite surfer and the palms swaying. Very magical. It's expensive, but you're paying for the view (plus you're in Hawaii and everything is expensive in Hawaii)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The menu selection was limited and the service was not very good. Out waiter seemed very new to the job. He did ask if we wanted coffee to which we said said yes. He had to make a second trip to get cream and sugar (the cream ended up being milk in a coffee cup). The third trip was for a spoon to stir the coffee.

I had the ahi which was good. The fried rice was so-so and the ribs were ribs. I don't mind paying for good food/atmosphere, but the service needs to be top notch. I think the servers are used to the captive tourists at Waikoloa.

The problem with Waikoloa is you are out in the middle of nowhere so you will get gouged a bit even for Hawaii.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch at Lava Lava”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went to lunch at Lava Lava before the rest of our group got in. What a view. We were in a bit of a rush and service was great. Food was great. Poke and Onion rings for appetizers. My Ahi burger was very tasty. Our friend had a regular burger as and it was good. My wife loved her fish tacos and our daughter liked her mac and cheese. Sent several other couples there on various nights and they also raved about the food and value (for a Resort in Hawaii).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lavalicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first meal on the island, and it was fantastic! Three of our group had the ribs, and they were amazing and gigantic! Our server was attentive and helpful. We enjoyed it so much we have a reservation for our last night on the island this Monday!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank imacguy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava Lava Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Lava Lava Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing