We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food best you will ever get in a food court” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque

Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque
Ranked #26 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
430 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Tasty food best you will ever get in a food court”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

When you go to the big island you have to try chef ippys food. This is one of three restaurants he has on the big island. You get large prices for affordable prices in the big island. The food is a mix between Asian and Hawaiian. Chef ippy is iron chef international 2013. If you want a fancier experience try his restaurant three fat pigs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    55
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's OK ... It'll Just Never Rock Your World”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lunch plate of shrimp, rib-lets, fries and salad plus a soft drink for nearly $20 ... but that's a resort area on the Big Island for you. Nothing particularly wrong with the food but it was just all a bit boring and more of a fill-up than a pleasant experience. The service seemed slow ... it didn't look that busy but it took a while to get the said plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TucsonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food in a food court”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I came here for a quick, cheap lunch and were not disappointed. The place is in a food court so we took it back to the hotel and ate on the balcony, however there are some tables in the food court but on a Saturday almost all the tables were full. I had the short ribs with sweet glaze and my husband had ribs with Hawaiian BBQ sauce. They both were very good and so was the mac salad. The negatives were the frozen french fries. If someone could make good homemade fries, I would be a customer for life. My husband had the rice and it was okay. It was busy but we were served pretty quickly. We wanted to go back but we ran out of time. Next time I want two servings of mac salad and forget the fries or rice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelbandit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
1 review
“Small Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We are locals and have been going to Ippy's in Waikoloa since it opened. The sandwich portion has slowly decreased but the price has not. We called the restaurant to let them know of this and all they said was "they will take it into consideration."

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wersthebeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped for dinner here on our way from the airport to our hotel in Waikoloa as it was late and we didn't want a big sit down dinner. This place was excellent, almost to good to even be located in a food court. I ordered the mahi mahi which was excellent. My fiance ordered the loco moco, which consisted of pulled pork, white rice, a fried egg and brown gravy. This dish was amazing. When my fiance opened up his meal and we saw the fried egg we at first had second thoughts on ordering it. However, upon first bite it was awesome. I know have a fiance wanting to open up an Ippy's back home just so he can eat this dish all the time. If ever in Waikoloa again, Ippy's is a definite on our list of places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Stix4848
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing