We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average services and food - Food-court style service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque

Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque
Ranked #27 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average services and food - Food-court style service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Average services and food - Food-court style service as expected. Nothing great. Barely passable. OK for a quick byte and go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A4TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    55
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great, easy meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice to have an easy, casual dinner option. Mixed plate and short ribs especially good. The macaroni salad was made with fish (tuna perhaps?) and my son went nuts for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“About Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We ate here while we were checking out Queen's Marketplace. We were interested in the loco moco specifically.

PROS: It is part of a food court so if someone in your group isn't interested in Hawaiian cuisine then there are continental and Asian options available. They have brown rice available (I think it was no charge to get it) which is a healthier option if desired. The traditional loco moco (with burger patties) was good. I've heard the apple turnovers are good but we didn't try any.

CONS: The food is just average, and I think a little pricey (~$9 plate). I tried the kahlua pork loco moco and the pork was very bland. I was disappointed in the dish overall.

OVERALL: Skip the kahlua pork, go for traditional loco moco.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ieatskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the better plate lunchs in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I only tried Ippy's once, but felt it was one of the better plate lunches in Waikoloa. The food appeared fresh. The quantities were good. I felt it was a bit over priced compared to L&L, but the quality was better too. One thing that I did notice on a couple visits to the Queen's Market Food Court is that many locals stop by Ippy's. I feel that is a good sign of authenticity. I would eat there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KaceyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great salad with grilled prawns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you just want to stop for a quick bite at a food court, this is the place to go. The prawns in the salad were cooked just right, loaded with flavor (garlic and herbs), and were plentiful. The salad is huge, and full of carrots, cucumbers, lettuce varieties, etc. A perfect lunch in a busy day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Ippy's Hawaiian Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing