We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Burger!”
Review of Three Fat Pigs - CLOSED

Three Fat Pigs
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Waikoloa Beach Drive
Transit: There are shuttle buses that stop by often to transport guest to the Hotels located in the Resort area as well as other Hotels along the coast. Taxi cabs are available as well.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super Burger!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you like a great burger...this place can nail it. Very friendly staff...great service as well. I'm from Texas, and I wasn't crazy about the ribs; however, they really are tender...just different than my taste. My son had the special pork rib...it was off the chain juicy and tender, but it had a real onion taste due to the marinade, and we aren't onion fans. If you are an onion fan, you will love the chop. If not, don't do it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    239
    165
    75
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger Ever”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The food, service and view were all amazing, including the best hamburger I have ever eaten. Period.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The food was good☆☆☆☆”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The food was great. ... pricey but great. The service was excellant, drinks were adequate. It's not a place for the faint of heart but what the heck. .... it's not everyday one travels to Hawaii

Helpful?
1 Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the price at all”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our family had dinner at this restaurant this evening. We wanted to have it as a special celebration dinner, but got deeply disappointed. For those prices we expected something extra. We usually don't write reviews and don't like to write one with low grade but we want to warn others about this place. The waiter talked very fast, did not seem to be interested in us at all. We ordered salmon ($19), prime rib eye($36), double pork chop ($33) and ribs ($28). The only thing that was good enough for that price was the ribs (but still overprized), the salmon was good but not the sides (they were quite strange). The waiter recommended the pork chop but it was just dry and really boring, when we mentioned we didn't think it was good he didn't care at all. When we repeated this he said "I thought you were joking". The rib eye was ordered as medium rare which is what we got. The meat did not seem to be seasoned at all and seemed to be put on the grill on to high heat and left only a taste of burnt in the mouth. We've been to the US now for several weeks and never been treated by a waiter so ignorant. On all other restaurants the waiters have come back and asked if everything is good and fine but not here. While waiting on the food we saw a big cockroach on the floor under our table. We asked another waiter to remove it. It went under a sofa and the waiter walked away not caring. The response from the main waiter was "Do we have a buddy here". It wasn't nice sitting there. When we asked for the check he already had it printed in a folder under his arm. Instead of placing it on the table he was going to pull some funny moves with it but dropped it on the table. This is more of a pub than the fine dining presented in the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akterseglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So disappointed!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After having read the write up in the July 2014 Big Island Dinning magazine, we were looking forward to a great dinning experience there. We were there a few minutes after 2 pm, and there were three of us in our party along with three other tables. I ordered grilled sirloin burger medium rare, my husband ordered house roasted turkey sandwich and our friend ordered pork belly on a sweet bun. Almost half hour later our food finally showed up, my burger was well done, if the blue cheese wasn't there, it would have no taste at all! The bacon and tomato relish that was supposed to be there was not. The pork belly sandwich also was tasteless and dripping with grease, granted it was pork belly but when it was sitting in a pool of grease it was a bit much. The "house roasted" turkey was a lot like pressed meat! To add insult to the injury, the waitress, who obviously did not want to be there, charged a different amount from the bill to the credit card!!! The restaurant has a nice view of the lake, though the floor could use some mopping- it was so sticky!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Fat Pigs also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing