We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to go back again!”
Review of Three Fat Pigs - CLOSED

Three Fat Pigs
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Waikoloa Beach Drive
Transit: There are shuttle buses that stop by often to transport guest to the Hotels located in the Resort area as well as other Hotels along the coast. Taxi cabs are available as well.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Had to go back again!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Okay, I'm in love with the House BBQ Chips with the warm blue cheese sauce! They are amazing! My husband and I stopped into the Three Fat Pigs for a snack while shopping in the Kings Market. What a great surprise! The Pork Belly sandwich was also outstanding. We kept talking about how great it was and had to take my brother to the restaurant for a late lunch the next day. The waiter was great about letting us order off the lunch menu while still being able to order happy hour drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    239
    165
    75
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Semi Celebrity chef Ippy Aiona place on the Big Island. I actually went in with low expectations but was more than pleasantly surprised. Service was great (some reviews call this out as an issue) and ribs were as good as I have had - fall off the bone great and the sauce had a island twist that was over the top. Ippy was in the house that evening and thanked us on the way out. So good service and great food. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank not404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious meal we went twice!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I went to Three Fat Pigs while staying in Waikoloa and we're so happy we did. This was one of the best meals we have eaten; my husband won't stop talking about the double cut pork chop! It was so moist and juicy and the pear bleu cheese tart that accompanied it was just as good. I had the pork belly which was different--wasn't sure what to expect. The cabbage and sauce was really good with it. We had the Adult S'mores for dessert which was amazing! We wanted to grab an early dinner before our flight out of Kona so we decided to go back to Three Fat Pigs three days later! This time I had the burger which was out of this world. The onion rings with the dipping sauce was amazing, as well! Definitely don't pass this place up! We even got a chance to speak with Chef Ippy's father who came to check our meal. What a nice man! We really loved this place!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Porcine Perfection!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We wandered into this restaurant while visiting the King's shops and the menu and the aroma wafting through the door was enough to get us inside. My family had been in this location before but this restaurant now had a new name. The food was remarkable and we were blown away by the flavors, not just then perfectly cooked pork but also the island-inspired side dishes and desserts. The wait staff was attentive and pleasant and the ambiance was comfortable. We had a awesome dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Porcine Perfection!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family trip brought us to the King's shops and we stumbled upon this "new" restaurant, a location we've dined before but now with a new owner. The menu looked appetizing but we were blown away by Chef Ippy's creations. The food was amazing, everything from the perfectly cooked pork to the island-inspired sides and also desserts. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating, and we could not have asked for a better meal and experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Fat Pigs also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing