We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Thai Gem”

Charlie's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #22 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Thai Gem”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This little restaurant is tucked away in a corner of the Queen's Marketplace at Waikoloa. It is quite beautiful with little budda stauettes and nice Thai ornaments otherwise you might say it's unremarkable.
The night I went it was fairly packed - a good sign - and when I got my meal (sweet and sour pork) I understand why. It really was delicious. I wanted to go back, but I ran out of time.
The staff are helpful and efficient and deliver plates of good food. There is beer, wine and all the soft drinks you need to cool your palate.
This is a nice little place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    101
    41
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good Thai Food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here our first day in Hawaii. Tired from flying all day wanted something easy. Went to the door and the smell was wonderful. Ask the waitress for some suggestions. She was spot on for what we were looking for, noodles, vegetables and plenty of spices. Great start to our vacation.

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Waikoloa”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

In the Queen shops so convienient and close to both hotels. Great food, good selection and friendly service. We went on the day we arrived and it was quick and tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jetwrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Ask the waitress for a recommendation”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We ate lunch here one day. It's in the Queen's Shops within walking distance of the Marriott, the Hilton and the numerous nearby condo complexes. My husband ordered chicken Pad Thai and it was good, but not great. I asked the waitress for a recommendation and she advised me to order a curry dish. I didn't want too much spice so she suggested which one to order. It was delicious! Like melt in your mouth every bite is amazing delicious. Give it a try!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank coloparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“average thai food overall”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Came here for a late lunch around 2:30 after arriving in the area. Noticed that they closed for a couple of hours between lunch and dinner. We were the last and only customers there. We did notice that they turned customers away at 3 and locked the doors. The food was just average, although my husband liked the fish. The pad thai was definitely the worst I have had anywhere. No flavor, just wide (not the usual) noodles in a weak sauce with nothing else but a couple of carrots. The satay was average and the spring rolls were good, both as appetizers. I believe that the restaurant is actually Charley's Thai Cuisine because I took a picture of the sign.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minniejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Thai Cuisine also viewed

Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Charlie's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing