We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salvation from the ordinary”
Review of Pueo's Osteria

Pueo's Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Pueo's Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Woodbridge, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salvation from the ordinary”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Waikoloa area is replete with expensive and often repetitive restaurants that are all too familiar to travelers. We ate at Roy's, Ruth's Chris, Tommy Bahama's, Three Fat Pigs, and the Hilton, the Marriot and the Orchid. Finding real local food at a reasonable price is nearly impossible.We were tipped off about Pueo's by a local on the golf course near the restaurant. What a surprise! It's about 7 miles from the Waikoloa Resort and slightly less from Mauna Lani. Jim Babian, previously chef at the Four Seasons on the Big Island, and his wife Christine are marvelous hosts and the food that they prepare is totally gourmet in a casual atmosphere and the prices are unheard of in the islands. How about chicken piccata as good as any in New York or New Haven for $17 in a portion so large that even a big eater will have trouble finishing. Add a fine Italian wine for $10 a glass and you're in Italian heaven. Other courses are varied in price but each offers a fine cuisine at a reasonable price. The wine list as well is carefully chosen and offers value not available in the area. We ate there several times and it will be our first stop on our return. Oh, I forgot about the Sunday brunch.......again a relief from the ordinary omelet chef at the hotels with a delicious diversity which will please any palate. Gene Shannon. Woodbridge, CT

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodeye46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    181
    69
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Resort Burger or Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I'm a burger snob. I also live in Waikoloa Village part time, so having a good place to eat and drink and walk home is a already a big win.

But then, to my great joy, a burger worthy of its price and in a place that is not just a good place to eat...a GREAT place to eat...full bar, open late, carefully selected wine list, local fresh ingredients, FRESH PASTA (watched Chef making from my bar seat...that's dinner and a show for a foodie.) Above all else, not pretentious or fancy!!!

Now for the burger...the Tuscan Burger..SOOOO messy but sooooo yummy....local beef, bruschetta tomatoes, balsamic onions, provolone,fresh baked bun, house-made tuscan fries with spicy garlic chile aiol. Winner! For the record, I am a huge fan of Village Burger in Waimea (theirs topped with chipotle goat cheese and wasabi mayo...gets me every time.) However, VB has been bested for best burger on the island. Thank you Chef Babian!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gofazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Located in a small shopping center in Waikoloa Village. Our friends and I thoroughly enjoyed an assortment of fine food, brick oven pizza, homemade pasta, and flatbread. All were excellent. Our server, Courtney was friendly knowledgable, and attentive. Once we discovered this jewel, we ate there twice in one week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you're staying in any of the Waikoloa hotels or in the Mauna Lani area, please, Please, PLEASE do yourself a favor and make the 10 minute drive to Waikoloa Village and Pueo's Osteria. It's exactly as advertised -- great Italian food in a fun, casual atmosphere.

My wife and I shared the Bruschetta to start. The main taste that came through was: freshness. Very easy to eat and enjoy. My wife wanted a simple salad with some additions. When she asked if she could add a chicken breast and some capers, our waitress Courtney said, "Of course, no problem." It was exactly what my wife wanted. Again, quality and fresh were the two major thoughts.

I had the wild boar pappardelle which was delicious.

What's nice is the kitchen lets the fresh ingredients speak (or taste) for themselves without the need to add heavy sauces or dressings.

I was really happy to see the restaurant filling up on a Tuesday evening.

Again, please support this place; it deserves it. Please do yourself a favor and eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, WI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Addition to the Area”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had dinner last night and it was great. We were warmly greeted by the hostess and our cheerful, friendly server quickly took our drink order and filled us in on the special of the evening. The room was attractive and about 3/4 filled with young couples, families with kids and older adults, all enjoying their food. The pizza choices looked good. We considered the goat cheese and pancetta (unsmoked Italian bacon) but went with the mozzarella/arugula pizza instead. It had a great crispy crust and crispy prosciutto on it. It was a treat. We also shared the incredibly tender meatballs and an order of bruschetta topped with fresh, local tomatoes. For entrees we had the chicken cannelloni, veal parmesan and wild boar pappardelle. Tender chicken pieces were mixed with a rich cream sauce and rolled into tender pasta sheets. Then more sauce was added and the top slightly browned. The veal cutlets were very tender and perfectly coated and cooked. The wild boar was shredded and very tender and mixed with a very lightly sauced pasta. Dessert was a wonderfully light and tasty limoncello panne cotta. Wine prices by the glass were reasonable and the selection good.

Throughout the mean, in addition to attention by our server, a very attentive other woman circulated throughout the room cheerfully greeting all the guests and making sure the meal was to our liking. We thoroughly enjoyed this dinner and plan on eating here again on our next trip to the area. The late night bar menu looks appealing and that may have to be our next visit. We hope they keep up the good work!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank work_4_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueo's Osteria also viewed

 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Pueo's Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing