We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Teppanaki but not great”
Review of Imari

Imari
Reserve with OpenTable
Imari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 67 Restaurants in Waikoloa
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen K Hwy & Waikoloa Beach Dr
st charles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Teppanaki but not great”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are from Chicago and have excellent Japanese food by us. This lacked flavor even when dipping the shrimp and chicken in sauces. It is quite expensive. I would look elsewhere to spend my $.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mattbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    83
    53
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I like Teppanyaki here”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you come for a dramatic teppanyaki show, you might be disappointed. I go for the quality, not the show. The meat and seafood teppanyaki here is high quality. I also like the spacious, beautiful, and open-air setting of the restaurant. (If you get hot easily, you might be uncomfortable).

I spend a lot of time on the Big Island. I rarely stay at the hotel but I always come to eat at either Imari or Kirin at the hotel. The kids love it because they get to ride on the train or a boat to get to the restaurant.

Book in advance if you want to have teppanyaki here. If you are not staying at the hotel, arrive at least 15 minutes prior to the reservation to allow time to walk or ride to the restaurant. This hotel is ginormous!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puakoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved ordering off the menu”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We did not do the type of dinner where you sit with strangers around the grill. We sat at our own table and ordered off the menu. We followed our waiter "Alfredo"'s suggestions and loved everything we ordered.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fivemoreminutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
239 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Ok Teppanyaki Show”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Imari had very good food. The staff was courteous, attentive and efficient. My wife is pregnant and the bar made her an excellent virgin mojito. The are two reasons why Imari got four instead of five stars. First, it is really expensive. Second, the "show" from the Teppanyaki cook was disappointing at best. That said the food, ambience, and everything else was excellent. They do not hold reservations very long due to not wanting to make other guests at the same station wait. We did not eat at the sushi bar or have anything from the traditional side of the restaurant so I cannot fairly comment about it. I would go here again for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wow. One of the most expensive places I've eaten at in my lifetime, but we knew that before we went. We made reservations (definitely do this) and still had to wait a bit for our table. The food was good, but nothing special. If you like to eat Teppanyaki at home, just stick with eating it at home and don't go here- WAY too expensive for the same stuff you eat at home.

For the record "garlic rice" is their version of "fried rice." It is good, but just not the same. The service was okay and the chef was okay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imari also viewed

 

Been to Imari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing