We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii”

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay and delight in classic Polynesian entertainment featuring live music, imu ceremony (the unveiling of our main course from our underground oven), traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of contemporary and Hawaiian fare with a full open bar. Held every Saturday and Wednesday. The festivities begin at 5pm.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hawaii”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We loved this. Got a lot of information and history of Hawaii and the Hawaiien culture. It was lots of fun and the host is just so nice and funny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank olgaprins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    38
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed ourselves”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a great time at the luau. We paid extra for the premium package, so we got flower leis, front seat tables, appetizers, and first to the buffet. Only thing was- not that many people paid extra, so we sat alone at the table- which in a way was nice, but in a way not.

The drinks were good- I had a Blue Hawaiian and some other delicious orange drink, and my husband had a Mai Tai. Lines do get long there, so prepare to wait- try to get there first and order all your drinks at once!

The food was good- rather average, like every other luau I've been to. You can definitely stuff yourself full; dessert was tasty as well. If you sit on the right side of the luau, you'll have better views of the ocean- the sunset while we were there was amazing.

The entertainment was great- watching the pig get shoveled out was fun, and the show was great. The fire dancer did lose his fire baton a couple times- but despite the few messups, the show was still good. We were entertained! You are out of there by about 7pm as well- which we liked. Get there early as well to walk the grounds- they are beautiful! (Oh- and it seemed that parking was free during that time as well.)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City CO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Performance”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We recently attended the Sunset Luau at the Marriott and had a very good experience. The evening started with an open bar with virtually any type of mixed drink and beer that the hotel served. This was nice, as sometimes at these types of shows, they will only serve the standard Mai Tai's and whatever type of cheap drink that goes along with the theme, but that was not the case here. The food was excellent and prepared well, and the orderly fashion in which they served everyone was great. They were able to get all of the guest served in a short amount of time, which was impressive.
The show was good and they did a nice job of explaining the Polynesian customs. The entertainment was nicely done and the costumes seemed very realistic.
I would not hesitate to recommend this luau to anyone staying in the Waikoloa area, who is looking to attend a luau during their stay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Watching For Free”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the Marriott and attending the Luau right now from our beach front balcony. We did not have any food, but it looks like people are enjoying the food and of course the open bar! The music is good and so far the hula dancers are very good. Watched the flame throwers practice, he dropped some in practice, hopefully he catches the right end of the stick later! Looks like a good time and we are enjoying for free from up here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anette H, Manager at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott. Not only were you able to view the sunset from your balcony, you were able to see our wonderful Luau. What a great way to spend your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Kind of standard for a luau in Hawaii, good music and the people seems to be having fun. Didn't seem to be a real Hawaiian luau, more of something for the tourist.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank todski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Sunset Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing