We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIT 11E”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a week at Halii Kai resort at Waikoloa condominiums, during the week of April 18-25
The view are spectacular and the common areas (pool, fitness area, etc) are quite nice and well
maintained.

However; our condo itself had several serious problems. The beds are old, uncomfortable and worn up to the point that they made creaking noise every time someone moved. We woke up with insect bites (bedbugs?). Housekeeping services and supplies were subpar as well. There were not enough towels, only two rolls of toilet paper, and room service occured once during our stay.

While the setting is beautiful and the shared facilities are very good, we will not return because of the issue surrounding the condo itself. We will also not recommend the Halii Kai to friend or family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevinvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not knowing the Big Island at all when we planned out trip, we found this place through Westjet vacations. We requested an ocean view, but once we were there, found that our room was on the ground level and the ocean view was waaaayy out there. Mostly, we had a view of the volcanic rock garden outside our unit. I suppose this is what you get when you book as a flight/accomodation package. We arrived late at night, after the office was closed. We had not received any information that would tell us how to get into this gated resort after hours, even though the Hali'i Kai claimed to Westjet vacations that they emailed us the info. So, we had to use our Canadian cell phones to call them which cost us money to do, as we didn't have a plan that extends into the US. Overall, our 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit was large, clean and had a fully stocked kitchen and washer and dryer. Unfortunately, when we first arrived late at night, we found our king size bed had a horribly stained bottom sheet with little holes in it. We were disgusted by this and extremely tired from travelling (It was 2am for us) and tried to call the front desk to have the sheet changed but there was no staff on duty to bring us a clean sheet. So, we had to put a scratchy blanket over the sheet and sleep on that. Thankfully, when we mentioned this to the office the next morning, they gave us a credit at their pool-side restaurant. Housekeeping only comes once or twice during your stay, and they don't change your bedding! I found this odd, although, I suppose they expect you to wash your own sheets with the washer and dryer in your suite. This resort is 28 miles from Kona, so if you're planning on doing stuff there, you'll be driving a lot. However, on this Island, there's a lot of driving if you plan on seeing all the sites. I prefer to be near the water so I can see it and hear it. You won't hear it from the distance of unit 7b, that's for sure. This is a very quiet and immaculate gated resort community. It wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea and I prefer something less pristine. You'll want to be careful of the unit you get if you'd like any kind of views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FelloTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in this complex in December 2013. Apartment 6D was an absolute delight. We travel in a group of four, comprised of two couples, and this unit was perfect. Two king bedrooms, two bathrooms, such privacy, and lots of spacious areas in between. Gorgeous kitchen, barbecue, balcony, laundry and a great view, what is not to like? Gordon and Beth have supplied everything one could possibly need. We loved the beautiful complex, the golf course, the ocean views, the pool, the tennis, the restaurants nearby, and the shopping nearby. We explored the island, and loved coming home to this luxurious condo. Definitely no complaints from this group of Aussies, this condo is on our Favourites list.

Room Tip: 6D is excellent, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, and Gordon supplies everything one could n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in one of the upper condos (I think 23D). It was clean and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful time there. I do have some suggestions for that particular condo however. 1) The flat bottom sheet constantly came un-tucked and created folds, ripples underneath us. So frustrating. Why not a fitted sheet? 2) No coffee table in the front room area 3) Patio furniture on lanai was all stools, no chairs with backs or tables. Not very conducive to having a meal outside on the deck. 4) Supplies were few: coffee pot, not clean, no coffee filters- no paper goods like saran wrap or plastic bags- Not enough bath towels or toilet paper (if we had had another couple using the other bathroom we would have run out long before our week was up) 5) Only one packet of laundry detergent 6) no condiments, not even salt and pepper.
Having to fly to get to Hawaii, one would expect that these basic things would be provided.
Also noticed that our charges were more than what was quoted on our reservation summary ($2,564.36). The visa charge was ($2,584.27). Could you let me know what the extra charge was for? Reservation was for Ross Schultz,
15653 SW Oriole Court, Sherwood, OR on March 2-9, 2014.
Thank you...... loved it in spite of a few disappointments.
Stacy Schultz

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in unit 11E. It is a three bedroom ocean view. The ocean view is really only from the Lanai. The unit actually looking at the golf course and in the distance to the Hilton. However, it is a wonderfully quiet and peaceful resort. We had our kids and did not experience any of the anti-kid glares posted in other reviews. The ocean club was fully of families. The grounds are wonderful. There is no beach but Hapuna beach is only a few minutes drive away.

The issue was the cleanliness of the unit. The walls are bruised from years of rentals. The carpet is stained. The two arm chairs in the living room are dirty with the arms blacked. The kitchen is in need of work. The microwave is not over the stove as it looks like it was pulled down. Dishes are chipped.

The condo itself has a great layout. The master king bed has the worst mattress. It is creaky and uncomfortable.

We would not rent this unit again but would go back to the complex.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazzle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My daughter (16) and I spent a quiet week at Halii Kai in a ground-floor unit right on the lava shore. We watched humpbacks from our lanai, enjoyed brilliant sunsets from the pool, and ate pleasant dinners at the beach club. The exercise room is perched on the cliff by the pool. Children were part of the scene, squealing in the pool and having family dinners. Kids played on the lawn, and teenagers skateboarded down the street. We saw no coldness towards children at all; all ages enjoyed the beauty of the place. One of the retired owners blew a conch shell poolside to herald the sunset each evening; he kindly taught kids how to do it. I guess it all depends on whom you meet during your stay. Each condo is different so conditions are not consistent among them. Separate rental companies: more complicated than if there were one central agency. Abbey rentals was helpful and responsive. Book a unit closer to the pool if you have mobility issues. Cook for yourself: shop at the Mauna Lani grocery store for basics and fresh fish, poke, shish kebabs and meat. Eat out at King's Shops or Queen's, at the Halii Kai beach club, or dine on the beach at Lava Lava. Beaches: lovely A-Bay in front of the Marriott has lounge chairs, rentals, natural shade and various boat outings. Also try the little black sand snorkelling beach with facilities on the way north to Mauna Lani (walk 30 mins north on fishermen's trail or figure out how to drive there), gorgeous Hapuna Beach, the Mauna Kea beach, or hidden little Mau'umae beach south of Spencer Beach Park. We explored by car, such as to go riding off the Kohala Mountain road, and often hiked for an hour along various sections of rocky fishermen's trail. Then it was lovely to return to the pool, our lanai, sunset and dinner. A blissful week.

Room Tip: Ask how far the unit is from the pool, beach club and the ocean. Buildings 12 - 16 are closest to th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingWithMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The condo and location are stunning. We came in later in the day dropped off our things and then went exploring. When we got back we settled in and found that the second bedroom had 2 twin beds for my husband and I. The mattresses were uncomfortable. This is the one down fall, we were able to do our laundry, we were able to cook our own meals and have a wonderful breakfast every morning on the patio.

Room Tip: Make sure if it has multiple bedroom you ask about the beds situation
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
0.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: £199 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing