We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and condo, unfriendly, rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed in a 2 RM/2Bath Ocean View Condo last week. The location is great for families with small kids. There is a shallow pool (1.5 ft-3.5ft deep) and a beach 5 minutes drive from the condos. The condo is nicely decorated, well equipped, and we had a partial ocean view. The condo was pretty clean but we killed 5 coakroaches (1 in the master shower and the rest in the kitchen)...they weren't the large scary kind but small. They do not provide beach towels and in fact the resort is a bit stingy on towels. The staff at the Ocean Club restaurant were extremely rude and the food is not good value for money. I would avoid the Ocean Club especially when there are so many other better choices nearby. When we complained about the rudeness of the resturant staff at to the the front desk they were unresponsive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EconProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2009

Hali'i Kai was an amazing alternative to a hotel. We stayed in a 3 br/2 bath condo on the 1st floor (17H) and it was beautiful! It was truly5 star....granite, slate, huge master bath, walk-in closet, washer/dryer, gas grill, stainless--top of the line appliances....what more can I say? Our kids were 5 and 8 at the time of our trip and it could not have been a better location. The pool was a 2 min. walk and had stunning views. With the time change (5 hrs), we were up EARLY! We would walk over to the Hilton and the kids would play in the lagoon. There were plenty of other kids to play with there. Check out the beach at Mauna Kea--get there early, as they only let something like 50 cars in a day. We grocery shopped and cooked many meals in--grilled too. While groceries were expensive, it was still far cheaper than eating so many meals out. Buy snorkeling gear or bring it with you. Will will definitely be back!

BE SURE TO STAR GAZE AT NIGHT--NOTHING LIKE IT!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plainfieldmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This place is unbelievable.. everything was just as it looks in the brocure but better. I went with my family and we all agreed.. this place is heaven. We were in unit 11A and it was perfect..from the gated entrance to to the pool. beautiful landscape and totally quiet. This was our first trip to Hawaii and none of knew what to expect.. we were all overwhelmed.
Very hard to find at night because there were no signs telling us where to go. Just drive slow.. The Food at the pool was excellent.. as were the drinks. I really didn't want to leave the complex at all.. Definately rent a car.. you will need it

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Loved the accommodations. The 2 bedroom/2bath home was clean, spacious, beautiful. The grounds were perfect. Loved our stay there. We had a well equipped kitchen and washer and dryer. One has everything there to make one's stay comfortable. Try Merrimen 's Cafe for meals. It is well priced and the food absolutely delicious. Amazing value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoBigeater89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We just returned from a week long vacation to Big Island. We stayed at the Halii Kai Resort at Wailoloa beach in condo 12G. It is the perfect location, golf course and ocean front. The condo was very clean and had everything we needed and more. The kitchen was very well equipped. Ken, the owner is very trustworthy and helpful. The condo had the perfect location, being close to thepool and also not too close for all the noise. Quite private. Building 12 is the prime building in the resort because of its location overlooking the golf course and ocean, with two lanais.
The bedrooms are well decorated and comfortable. The master bedroom is huge and so is the bathroom and the walk in closet.


This is one of the best vacation we have had with our family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supuvjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We recently returned from our 18 day Hawaiian vacation, in which we spent 2 weeks at Hali'i Kai. I booked the unit on VRBO and had no issues along the way.

The resort is much bigger than the pictures would indicate. We were located in Building 17, which is a short walk to the pool. The unit was a 3 bedroom/2 bath. The condo was beautiful. We could not find anything to complain about. The overall beauty of this resort was amazing.

The pool area was wonderful and relaxing. The water is only 4.5' deep and there was never a lack of loungers to be had. They were so comfy. The Bar and Grill was ok. Food was decent and priced as you would expect in Hawaii. The drinks were also on the high side in terms of cost. It makes no sense to me that they charge $6/beer and $9/Mai Tai..etc. when everyone stays in a condo and has a fridge full of food and drink.($19/30 beer at Costco). Food for thought. The only negative would be about the waitress with the ponytail. Miserable. Not once did I see smile or be friendly with the guests.

They do have rules posted. Some seem silly, but others make sense. Anyone who wants their kids to cause havoc while they do nothing about, should not be complaining about these rules. Common sense people.

If you want a fantastic and relaxing vacation, with a great ocean front pool then don't hesitate to book. We will be returning again next year.
The

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We just finished a week at Halii Kai with my 3 children, ages 13, 10 and 7. I have read many of the reviews and I agree with them that this is a beautiful facility with very nice, new rooms. It's a comfortable , well-located resort with good food at the pool and beautiful setting for relaxation of adults.

My issue with this resort, and the reason for my writing this review, lies exclusively with the lack of understanding by the staff and management of children and what they do on a Hawaii vacation. The number of rules that they have and the way that they enforce the rules was totally unacceptable to me and my family.

Before you think that I am unreasonable, or that I have limited experience in resort environments, please understand that we have stayed at many 4-5 star hotels in the past, including the Fairmont Orchid on this island. This is not our first trip to the rodeo.

We were told on at least 5 separate occasions that we couldn't do something, including:

- "You cannot have goggles or masks in the pool"
- " You cannot throw balls in the pool " (Including the very soft spongy balls intended for the pool!)
- "Your kids cannot be in the outdoor gym unless they are dressed appropriately-including tennis shoes" (keep in mind this gym is ON THE WATER BY THE POOL).

At one point, the 'pool guy' even admitted that he feels like the 'Pool Nazi' because he is constantly having to enforce the rules of the resort!

We won't be coming back to this facility....if you don't have young children and are looking for a beautiful place that is relaxing and has wonderful units- this is the place for you!

If, however, you have active young children who expect to play like kids in a pool - THINK TWICE! We went to the Hilton pool twice during the week - and that was very nice for us and allowed my kids to be kids....something to think about if you have an active family.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank Sanfranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.6 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach

Address: 69-1029 Nawahine Pl, Waikoloa Beach Resort, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: £238 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is a recently developed 29-acre oceanfront resort, stretched along Waikoloa's Beach Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. Spacious two- and three-bedroom villas and townhomes are luxuriously furnished. Amenities include a cascading pool, private restaurant, fitness cabana, walking trails, and a basketball/tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halii Kai Resort at Waikoloa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halii Kai Resort At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing