We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The King's Trail!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waikoloa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas
Reviewed 8 July 2012

On our honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at the Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas for two nights, in transit back to Oahu. We wished we'd stayed longer!
Our unit was in the 'J' block; the whole complex was so peaceful and quiet. Each morning, the gardeners were busy maintaining the clean grounds, and the unit was impeccable. The gym is quite small but hardly ever used and we didn't need the pool with the beach so close by (Anaehoomalu Bay - great snorkelling in the calm mornings.)The unit complex is walking distance to the petroglyphs and the King's trail. It was nice to drink our morning coffee and walk amongst the rock art.
We didn't allocate enough time to explore this area. There are so many old ruins and heiau (which we loved,) so allocate at least five days to get around this side of the island. The location is fanastic; shopping and restaurants are catered for, but also access to Mauna Kea, Kona, Captain Cook, etc.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrogHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

First note that this is for the Waikoloa Beach villas which are individual condo's managed by various groups (ie in this case Outrigger kohala coast collection) or on vrbo. This section should ONLY be for reviews of the condo's managed by Outrigger as there are other locations to write reviews of this unit under other management. Just to clarify!

We stayed at this complex the last 3 nights of our 12 day visit to the big island. Amenities and location made this the BEST place we stayed.

Ours was a first floor 2bdrm/2ba unit. It was in building "H" and had a one car enclosed garage that included beach chairs, boogie boards and sand toys. thanks! the entrance included a gate that can be locked for security. The Lanai/patio included a built in barbeque with all the amenities including since, cupboards,etc. If we had the funds I would buy one of these units, that's how much we loved it.

Kitchen is nice sized with a window out to entrance. Some of the appliances had issues but with any private property, no problem. these properties I believe were built in 2005? or later and are in very nice condition and are about 1200 sq ft. Nice dining/living space. Master bedroom was very large, nice window overlooking the golf course. Large bathroom with large shower and tub, separate toilet closet, and HUGE walk in closet - you could easily stay here a month. Or more?!

Second bedroom had twin beds, and window overlooking entrance. Had large second full size bathroom with tub. Upscale stacked washer dryer in unit. There were 3 TV's plus free wifi.

Location - we were on golf course, and the pool was directly across. So a 30 second or so walk. We also could walk (longer walk!) to Queens shops (across the street), Kings Shops (around the corner) and petroglyphs - (could see area from our Lanai). Also a long walk or under 5 minute (maybe 3 minute?) drive to "A bay" which we LOVED. Has coarser (compared to more northern beaches) sand but lots of turtles, snack bar, rental shop, restrooms, and lots of walking paths. True Paradise a couple minutes from the condo. Also complex is gate guarded for extra security.

Pools - there are two pools, one of which has a small workout room. Both has beautiful landscaping and are made with lava rock and have small waterfalls. Pools and spa were perfect temperature.

See pics - we really just loved this place. And the prices on outriggers website were very reasonable and did not have an extra parking, wifi or cleaning fee as you get with some private rentals or the mega resort in this community that is more like Disneyland than paradise.

would recomment to families, couples, and more!

Room Tip: The H building was across from one pool and the bottom floors are good for ease of getting in and ou...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanDiegoMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We are winding down our trip on the Big Island and have absolutely loved staying at this complex. The condo units are all really nice and modern. Ours had granite counter tops and top notch appliance's. It is also in a great location near the Queens Shops and a short walk to the beach.
We stayed in a ground floor unit that had an outdoor patio with a built in BBQ which was so nice for cooking our own meals. The Swimming pool here was also really great since it is heated. The only negative would be that if you have upstairs neighbors you can hear them walking around. Also, there is no maid service which was fine for us but some people may want this.
When we come back to Hawaii we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchicwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

First the bad: I had to update my review upon learning that the property manager Resortica Hawaii adds a $200 "cleaning fee" to the rental rate for the condo; not totally unexpected, but we were annoyed to find out that they call call you to remind you of the check out time and ask that you empty the garbage, load the dishwasher, and run the first load of laundry when you leave. Are you KIDDING ME? The vacuum cleaner in the unit was disgusting/dirty so I know the caliber of cleaning they are performing.

The good: This is a beautiful condo unit and probably the most nicely furnished and decorated place we've ever stayed in on the islands. Kitchen and bathrooms are first cabin and the place is very well stocked with towels, cooking utensils, guidebooks, TVs, etc.

The view of the golf course is great and as a top floor unit, we never heard a sound from anyone else on the property. It's nice to have your own barbeque right on the lanai and the AC and upgraded ceiling fans keep the place at a precise temperature. Having your own garage is somewhat useful but probably more of a hassle if you go in and out a lot.

Location is away from the beach at the entrace of Waikoloa which in our view is actually good since you avoid the drive past the Marriott and Hilton, and you're still within walking distance of Kings/Queens shops.

The rental rate for this condo was very reasonable and I would venture to say one of the best deals in Waikoloa; and that's even with the unfair tax added by Resortica (property manager). If you're looking for a condo in Waikoloa for 2-4 people you cannot go wrong with J33 at the Beach Villas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Al_Q2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is in a great spot. Close to shopping, beaches, and activities. We went in May so it was the off season and it was perfect. The pool/small outdoor gym were almost always empty.
The only problem was the room felt so dirty! The sheets didn't fit the bed properly so there were a few inches at the foot of the bed that weren't covered. The carpets were filthy and fit the floor so loosely that my 1 1/2 year old kept tripping on it. And the shower door hadn't had a good scrubbing in a long time! There was so much soap scum on the door that it was disgusting!

Room Tip: Dirty but great location
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shadowsong211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was a great find. We had our condo on the 1st floor which was very convenient since we were in and out a lot and did a few grocery runs since we cooked in a lot. We stayed with another couple so having two rooms with a queen and a king worked out really well for us. The condo was immaculate and stocked with pretty much anything we needed to cook our meals. Having a washer and dryer was very nice as well - we washed our beach (aka pool) towels (which were provided) several times during our stay and always had fresh ones. We looooved having the BBQ outside. Also the location was really great: about 10 min drive to 2 AMAZING swimming and snorkeling beaches (Waialeia Bay aka Beach 69, and Manini'owali (Kua Bay)). There was also another beach within walking distance ('Anaeho'omalu Bay) but we weren't as impressed with it as the other two. We rented the snorkeling gear for a week at the little diving store at the shops right across the street. It was really a treat to be able to just go snorkel off the shore! I liked Waikoloa location because of the weather. We talked to somebody who stayed in Kona that same week and it was cloudy and rained pretty much every day. In Waikoloa it was clear skies our entire stay. I guess the more north you are the drier it is. It's amazing that going just 20 miles south you get completely different weather!
If I were to pick things that could be improved I would say the pool was on the small-ish side, but we only went there our first night after we arrived. The gym is typical of most apartment/condo gyms - a couple of cardio machines, and weight training station. I'd say go get your exercise by swimming at the beach or hiking!
All in all, I definitely recommend and would love to come back. I personally prefer staying in condos over hotels, and this one was definitely one of the best condos I have rented.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stary at Waikoloa Beach Villas. The units are large and in a quiet location especially if you get a unit facing the golf course, which we did. Units are very clearn. They are condos and come with all basic amenities like lots of towels, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, etc. which some condos don't. Beach is nearby, about a 15 min walk or a 5 min drive. Fabulous beach and very suitable for young children as the surf breaks quite a way off shore. The kitchens in the units are fabulous, s/s appliances, granite counter tops, etc., and even a garage to park your vehicle so it isn't too hot when you get inside. Waikoloa is a super area with shops etc., but still quite. There is a lot of lava rock around and the drive up from Kona, you think wow, are we on the moon, but once you get past that and get to Waikoloa Resort Area, it is worth it. I highly recommend Waikoloa Beach Villas if you want a condo. We plan to return next year. Outrigger were super to deal with!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newtonizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas

Address: 69-180 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5703
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikoloa Beach Villas Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing