We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had a family reunion here. Had 4 two bedroom units. Jenny the manager were so awesome in making our stay enjoyable. I was given the unit across the pool because that is where the cooking was going to be. We are out at the pool all nights. Grounds ppl as well as housekeeping were very nice and helpful. Danette at the front desk is a gem. Will definetly book there again. Foodland at Mauna lani shops which is a 10 min drive is where we shopped for food. Queens and kings shops very close by. Location for condo can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Aloha Pam M.,

What a nice review - we are glad that the family reunion worked out.

Jenny is a unique employee - competent, service oriented and it does not surprise me that your experience with her was very good.

We appreciate the business and hope you'll spread the good work and return in the future.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay - it helped we were upgraded for free to a lovely "villa" near the pool. Delightfully furnished and extremely comfortable for our purposes. Took a little bit of finding initially but no real problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Aloha Dale H.,

Thank you for your business and kind review. The Villas are lovely. We have done a lot of work on property since I arrived and before the year is over the pool and tennis courts will be completely renovated.

Hope you have a chance to return in the future and we would appreciate your recommendation when you speak to family and friends.

Warmest Alohas.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

FIRST OFF!! Let me say, These units are individually owned, and the interiors are up to each owner. I didn't go for one that had been updated. Big mistake. We where in unit 137 the Bo Tree Tower. Great location, very quite,Good size rooms. The appliances and cabinets plus furniture where the original stuff. The bamboo curtains in the bedroom, made sure you where up at the crack of dawn. The BBQ pit was very close by. I don't even keep my BBQ that clean, good job there. A good size patio with blocking bamboo. Ground staff keep the place spotless, and the pool clean. You are about a 20 min walk to Queen Market, but it's longer coming back if you walk. I would stay here again, just in a updated unit. Here from April 26 to May 1st.

Room Tip: Go for a update unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Aloha stanley F.,

Thank you for your business and your review.

You are right - the units are individually owned and decorated. Some are more updated than others. Having sold in Hotels where all the rooms are the same is a completely different deal. we make sure of a few things:

1). Everything works in the room.
2). The room is clean.
3). We deliver 5 diamond service.

We appreciate that you had such kind things to say about us and we hope you return.

With Aloha,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in unit 235 for two weeks in April .. This unit is huge and recently updated ! It's a two bedroom two bathroom 2 new floor unit with a view of the golf course and a small view of the ocean ! Great sunsets from the balcony ! The property manager is on top of all your needs and your well looked after ! Your close to the shops and to the beaches ... I highly recommend this unit ... It's very comfortable you won't want to leave ... Thank you to the owners we had a great time and will return ...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mexicanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Mexican Mike,

Unit #235 is not in the Aston Rental Program but managed by a very able company here. The unit has been recently completely renovated and is beautiful.

We hope you'll recommend the property to your family and friends and maybe we'll get some of that business. We have some lovely units in our inventory too.

Mahalo,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed almost 2 weeks at this particular condo, in unit 2. Although VERY outdated, o.l.d. cabinetry that my kids said 'smelled' and gold fixtures, carpentry that wasn't fitted well and kind of peeling up in many spots, AND many mismatched and ancient appliances (rice cooker/crockpot) and underwhelming kitchen accessories, the place was a nice home to come to every night. The only UPDATED thing appears to be the stove/fridge-- LOVED the stove unit that boiled water SUPER fast and the amazing fridge/freezer! With 6 people (2 families total), the 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and spacious living quarters suited us VERY well.
The pool was functional, shaded and centrally located. Nothing to write home about though.
The lawns and ponds were continually maintained and workers were always floating around all day.
Loved having a Weber BBQ and lawn chairs and chaises to enjoy the ocean/golf course view every morning and night.
We did get to enjoy multiples geckos in our room on multiple occasions...ewww. And the ants in our room, not really the highlight. But whatcha gonna do in the tropics?
Was within walking distance to the shops about 15 minutes away, and 5-10 minute walk to the Hilton where we enjoyed the lagoon (turtles, eels, fish) on MANY occasions.
DO CHECK OUT Hapuna Beach, just 10 minutes away...nice, sandy, beachy beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_proms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha the-proms,

Thank you for the business and review - although I am not sure if you stayed in one of Aston's units because "Unit #2 (is that a villa?)" does not hit me as being in our program.

Waikoloa is the greatest place in Hawaii even though climate change has affected our once perfect weather. There is more to do and see here than on all the other Islands combined and two activities in particular you cannot do anywhere else. The telescopes on the summit of Mauna Kea and the active volcano seperate us from everywhere else.

When I arrived here on The Big Island 24 years ago I bought a new leather golf bag and like a dummy an umbrella. Have not used it once here in all those years.

Even though I believe the unit you stayed in was not an Aston product (there are other rental management companies operating on property) every owner has struggled wit the economy and being able to upgrade their asset.

We hope you'll visit again and recommend The Big Island to everyone looking to come to Hawaii.

Mahalo,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a very comfortable condo complex that offers a very safe comfortable feeling. A gated community with a pool, multiple BBQ's, tennis, easy and discounted golf. The room we had was clean with all the cooking utensils and dining basic kitchen needs. The room and interior was dated and the fridge was very noisy in need of a serious update but overall a very comfortable place to stay. The amenities such as movies and PS3 games were there but we did not take advantage of them as we were to busy touring the island and leaving souvenir golf balls for others to find. Our MAJOR complaint was zero blinds on the massive window that faced East and the gold course. In the morning it was hard to see and watching TV would of been impossible if we wanted to and at night walking around you were clearly visible from the tennis court, BBQ area, road and golf course. Late check in was seamless and in the morning the desk staff was excellent. I would not hesitate to go back to this complex except I would not want room 217 back as it has no blinds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Aloha Nola R,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the review.

We'll have blinds up in #217 in the very near future! Really sorry about that.

We appreciate that you will recommend us and hope you return.

Warmest Alohas,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although some of the units are a little dated that didn't really matter to us. Our unit was very well maintained. The grounds keepers are superb, they are there all day! The location is fantastic, you can walk almost anywhere. It was quiet, had outdoor grills, patios you could sit out all day on. The pool was great, the staff were all very accommodating. The downside was the poor wifi but whose on their computers much while vacationing? We love it here and will be back. Not much for kids to do right at the hotel, but plenty to go do. Also, they need to change their sign. It was hard to find because it doesn't say Aston, it reads The Shores.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Aloha Ken D,

Thank you for your business and kind review. We appreciate the endorsement.

I just cannot understand for the life of me why the wifi is an issue occasionally. I mean we have the best company, plenty of bandwidth and service available with the company to check problems all day. I just do not have the technical knowledge to answer all of these questions. I do agree with you on the "who needs internet" when you are on vacation but it is something we do provide and it should work!

Thank you for the kind words about our staff too.

We hope you will return.

Warmest Alohas,

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Waikoloa Colony Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.2 mi away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Shores at Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Address: 69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5737 (Formerly ResortQuest Shores at Waikoloa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: £163 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Shores at Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A view of the golf course can be as exhilarating as a view of the ocean. Located on the sun-drenched Kohala Coast between the King's Course and the Beach Course in Waikoloa Resort, this resort features suites and golf villas with large lanais and full kitchens. Guests have access to the nearby shops, restaurants, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aston Shores at Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Shores At Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Shores Waikoloa
Shores Waikoloa
Waikoloa Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing