We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundance of Wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alamo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abundance of Wildlife”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Hilton Waikoloa is the best place for families. Young children will love the lagoon with shallow water filled with small fish and an occasional sea turtle. It is romantic enough for honeymooners with lighted torches along the paths near the ocean and plenty of quiet spots to be alone. It is best suited for those who love to walk and you will be rewarded with lovely streams and waterfalls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,997
    2,545
    1,171
    583
    334
See reviews for
2,945
2,851
133
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,889)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
635 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our favorite resort when staying on Kona side of Big-Island – never falls short of meeting our expectations. Resort is exceptionally beautiful (and big) and has all the amenities one seeks at a resort (sunset dining, pools, lagoon to swim/snorkel, Spa, Shopping, etc.) when coming to relax and enjoy the Islands. Was given a room in the newly renovated Lagoon Towers and the beds are quite comfortable, nice view (ask for side of lagoon/ocean) and very quick walk to the lobby. Fast internet speed and Lagoon Tower is right next to Spa and the Gym (over 25 cardio and good selection of weight equipment). During our stay renovations were going on and the Lagoon tower pool and Italian/Chinese restaurants were closed. If you want a pool closer to your room ask to stay in the Ocean Tower, if the pool is not done.

Tip 1: Ask for a high floor (6th is highest) if staying in the Lagoon Tower to get the entire beauty of the resort/ocean.

Tip 2: If a Hilton Honors member (Gold and above) then you get to use the Spa (Hot Tub, Wet/Dry Sauna, Locker room) for free every day – well worth it and we used it every morning to start our day.

Tip 3: Snorkel the lagoon early in the morning (as sun is just beginning to light the lagoon) and swim next to the waterfall – that’s where the turtles are (we swam with four turtles for an hour). Lots of fish, eels and turtles to enjoy. One turtle slleps inside the wall next to the waterfall so look closely.

Tip 4: There is supermarket in the Shops close to the resort – also a very good food court with a fantastic Thai Restaurant (Lemon Grass) worth a stop. Also recommend Merriamans Mediterranean Restaurant for good food at a reasonable price.

Tip 5: Go to either end of the property for one of the best sunsets you will see in Hawaii. Also, drive up to top of Mauna Kea (where the observatories are) and see the sunset…then do not leave. Wait for it to get completely dark and then step outside, with a blanket/jacket, to see the most phenomenal night skies you will ever see. We do this every time here and take the rental car….so it is OK. When done come down to the half-way point and look in the telescopes the local people bring for tourists to look through. If you do a tour, be advised they come down long before it gets dark……that is why we always drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights on the tail end of the honeymoon. It actually started off on a bad note - when we were checking in, we were told the main pool is closed for renovations. They were apparently supposed to notify us ahead of time, but we had never heard anything.

Ultimately, it didn't really matter, as the highlight of the property is the salt water lagoon. They don't have a traditional beach - the coastline is rocky and unswimmable - but they have an artificial lagoon fed from the ocean, with a sandy beach and plenty of fish, and at least three sea turtles. With it being a lagoon, you don't need to worry about waves, currents, etc. when trying to swim or snorkel. It also wasn't crowded at all - never a problem finding a pool chair. Maybe they had low occupancy due to the pool closing, which made it a blessing in disguise. Absolutely wonderful.

We tried the other pool that was open, but it was fairly small and mediocre - nothing really to set it apart. The lagoon is definitely the star attraction.

We stayed in the Lagoon Tower with a "dolphin view" room overlooking the Dolphin Quest pool. Very fun to watch the dolphins play around from the lanai in the morning. The room otherwise was well equipped (including a PlayStation 3) but didn't really have much in the way of island charm.

It is a mega-resort, with multiple hotel towers and a tram running to ferry guests about. It doesn't take too long to walk, though - especially if you use the bridges over the lagoon to cut across from one end of the property to the other. We ended up walking most of the time, as the tram schedule is fairly slow and the boats only operate in the afternoon.

We only tried a few of the restaurants, but they were all very good. The sunset dinner at KPC is a must-try if you stay here.

There are a few things to watch out for. Lots of up-charges - it's only property I've seen that charges separately for a resort fee AND parking, so you quickly end up paying $50+ more per night then your room rate. They also lack some amenities you would expect, like a free shuttle running to the real beach or nearby shopping centers (although they're walkable if you really want to go).

We also had a few errant additional charges show up on our bill - double-charged for parking and such. Easy to correct, but something to watch out for.

This was our first stay on the Big Island so I don't know how this property compares to it's nearby competitors. However, we definitely want to go back for the lagoon alone.

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisLki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Back on Nov 18, 2013 we decided to check out the Hilton Waikoloa Village for a possible future stay. We drove to valet parking and read the sign stating $3/hour. We told the valet, Sheldon, that we would only be an hour or less. Less than 1 hr later we returned and submitted our ticket to the cashier. She said, "that will be $22". Initially we thought she had read it incorrectly so she rechecked it and said, "no, you owe $22". We pointed to the 1st and 2nd lines on the Parking Rates sign directly in front of the cashier. It read: Each hour $3. Daily Maximum $17. She claimed that was for the Self Parking rates. We challenged her and said that is NOT what the sign reads. At that point she called over Sheldon. She seemed perturbed with him and we got the feeling this was not the first complaint. We reminded Sheldon we originally told him we would only be there for an hour or less. Sheldon argued with us and pointed to the bottom portion of the sign. It read: Registered Hotel Guests (per day)
Self Parking $17
Valet Parking $22
We said we are NOT registered guests and that the top portion of the sign should apply. The top portion does not specify Self Parking and seriously, we are standing in the Valet Parking area, not the Self Parking area anyway.
Even one of the other valets asked the cashier to just charge us $3 but apparently that seemed impossible to the cashier. The nice valet (sorry didn't get his name) apologized and seemed to acknowledge we had a legitimate complaint.
If the Hilton staff reads this, please also be aware that we toured 2 other high end hotels on the island that week and used their valet parking for less than one hour each. Their charge: Gratuity Only (definitely NOT $22/hr!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2Koby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while parking at our hotel. We will take your comments into consideration as we work to improve the parking experience and provide the highest service to our valued guests and potential future guests. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great experience in August 2013. Stayed there for 10 days. #1 rated resort on this island. First-class all the way. It's as big as a small town village. Everything you need is there. Ensure that you eat at the restaurant at sunset, worth the price. If you can afford this hotel, (Hawaii is not cheap), this is the one. Not for those who don't like to walk, this place is huge. See YouTubes on this resort.

Room Tip: Hilton Gold or Diamond Members get extra perks. Become a member today.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TvilleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Gorgeous! Property is impressively laid out balancing the beauty of Hawaiian nature with convenient resort amenities. Good choice for travelers wanting a resort experience, not a good choice for those focused on Big Hawaii all-day experiences that leave little time to enjoy resort amenities. The cutbacks in the tram and boat service made me happy we were at Lagoon Tower, the closest to the resort entrance, parking and lobby. Our Lagoon Tower room was very nice, updated and spacious -- with wonderful ocean views. Service is on par with typical resort experience -- adequate, not great. Convenience will cost if you choose to dine, drink and play on the property.

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower is closest to lobby and entrance. Convenient to Kona pool as well as lagoon, dolphins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hawaii is an expensive place, and this is one of the cheaper resorts on the island.

I read some reviews that the place is big and takes forever to walk anywhere, but isn't that the whole point of a resort is to be big and have lots of things to see/do? If it didn't take forever to walk somewhere, that would be a bad thing, because it would mean the resort is tiny. PLus, the walk isn't that bad - you can either take a cultural walk through the museum (longer route) or the scenic route along the beach. yes, the trams can take awhile, but for the cheaper price tag on this hotel, that's expected. Also, because of all the things to do here, you don't ever really need to leave the hotel!

This is a very family friendly place, so if you're looking to party, not the place for you. Also, keep in mind that this is a good 30 minutes away from the "city" side of town (Kona) where all the night life action is.

Lastly, the place has gotten a little run down since it opened, but I'm not expecting five start luxury at this low price.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room, be advised this is the FARTHEST tower from the lobby - a good 10 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.6 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing