We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, huge property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife, two year old son, and I stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village for four nights in January. We had a great time and would stay here again. Everyone was super nice and helpful and we had a blast every day. There are a ton of fun things to do from mini golf to four or five pools to a saltwater lagoon. You can swim with dolphins or simply watch others swimming with dolphins. There are six to ten restaurants on site that all were satisfactory. We were dining with a toddler so we didn't try out any of the nicer places.

The biggest drawback of this resort, one that cost them a point in my rating, is the size of the place. The property is in the shape of a U with the ocean in the middle. It takes 20 minutes to walk from one end of the U to the other. Our room was at the very end in the Ocean Tower and we felt that going to most places in the resort was a big effort. It was a pain in the neck when we forgot something as our room may be 10 or 15 minutes from where we were.

I could go on about the size, but I think I have made my point. Our room in the Ocean Tower was dated but fine. We were on the second floor, which actually is the ground floor, facing the ocean. There was an adults-only pool nearby which was fine and then a larger pool with slides and the like a little further away. The coffee shop in Ocean Tower was hopping in the morning as was the Mexican themed bar in the afternoon and evening.

Notes specifically regarding travelling with a toddler at this property: Our son LOVED playing on the beach of the lagoon. It is sandy and fairly shallow and he had a great time and made toddler friends. There are fish in the lagoon which swim up to your feet and he found that amazing. Most of the restaurants on property have a children's menu and even have a specific dish that was free for children with the purchase of an adult meal. The size of the resort made walking around with him a schlep at times, but it also meant that there was a ton of room for him to play. There is a tram to help you get around the property which was great if only because my son loved watching it go by. While it was fine travelling with him here, I think it would have been a lot more fun for him if he was a little older.

Overall this place was great. Family friendly in a really beautiful location. The sunsets were sublime. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,327 - 4,333 of 8,188 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's a large resort with 1200+ rooms on 3 different towers so it the experience for everyone maybe different but you have to expect what not everything is perfect in ANY hotel. People on all the review sites all say to stay in the Lagoon towers... so make sure you get a room in the Lagoon Tower.

Granted we stayed for 3 nights in one of the best rooms in the hotel, Dolphin Suite in the Lagoon Tower, it was a fantastic experience. Dolphins playing right outside our balcony and the hot tub. It was fantastic. My 6 yr old didn't want to leave. I can't say much about the other towers but all the rooms on that side of Lagoon tower had a beautiful view of the ocean, lagoon and dolphins.

And everyone was so friendly and I have to give a shout out to Kelli at the HHonors desk. One of the friendliest check-in experience I've ever had. When I had a discrepancy with a charge that wasn't mine on my bill, the person on the phone promptly took care of it.

The Luau was very loud and could be heard from the parking lot and the hotel but only few days a week no big deal. We did not eat dinner at the hotel because we had other plans on all 3 nights already set but KPC looked really nice.

The large pool near the lagoon tower was awesome and the lagoon itself was pretty cool. Tons of fish and turtles swimming by makes for excellent snorkeling without the pounding waves of the ocean.

Self parking is quite large and not a bad walk. We chose self, over valet since we'd be going in and out 3 to 4 times a day and the walk wasn't bad at all.

Gold or higher HHonors members get 2 x $10 vouchers per night (assuming two guests) toward any food in the resort. We used ours for two breakfasts at the coffee stands(coffees and breakfast sandwiches) and ice creams from the shaka shack. It's resort pricing so it is not cheap but the vouchers help make it more palatable.

All in all we have to give two thumbs up and we will DEFINITELY be coming back.

Room Tip: Everyone says you should get a room in the Lagoon Tower. I agree. Trip to the Other two towers takes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagatorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place was pretty amazing! I've never stayed in a place quite like this before. It's a very big with lots to do without even leaving the resort. Beautiful views, pools very everyone although the water in all of the pools were freezing except for the adult pool. Mini beach with fish and sea turtles was pretty amazing. There was a tram and a boat that ran the entire length of the resort or you could just walk and enjoy the view. Breakfast buffet was excellent but expensive. You can swim with the dolphins but at $100 per person I was fine with just watching. Only downside would be that the only real beach nearby is a pretty long walk and it wasn't that good of a beach. Also it would have been nice to be able to buy something along the line like a hamburger for less than $20.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We agree with many of the recent comments made about the Hilton Waikoloa Village. We are fortunate enough to have stayed at some similar high end hotels, and, for what we paid the experience was below par. The rooms were spacious, but AC was hard to operate, so we ended up turning it off at night, consequence being the room was humid and we got little tiny flying bugs in through the deck screen door. It is a big property indeed, so be prepared to walk. That might be a good thing though, at least it was for us some daily activity. There is a small train which goes back and forth between various parts of the hotel, but it doesn't run frequently at all times, and it takes about 15 minutes to go from one end of the property to the other, including pauses at various stops along the way. So, you could end up with a long wait. Fortunately, the pathways are covered, and have some pretty awesome antiques to view as you walk. Bars close unexpectedly early, about 5:30 to 6 pm depending on which bar you visit. Not all of them will let you order a drink without buying food, at the bar in the Japanese restaurant for example. Restaurants were indeed pricey. We enjoyed our one dinner at the Kamuela Provision Company , but a meal at the Marriott nearby was much better and for less. We also ended up going to places in nearby towns. Sam Choy's is a good place to go if you are visiting Kona. Getting to other areas around the island can take anywhere from 90 min. from Hilo to Waikoloa to 2 to 2 1/2 hours from Waikaloa to Volcano National Park. Parking at the hotel is very hard to find in the late evening, but the first night the hotel valet parked our car and charged self-parking rates. (We did not pay a resort fee due to the fact we were attending a conference. It's possible parking would be included under the daily resort fee). Service and attitude of hotel staff was okay, not particularly welcoming, not hostile or ignoring guests.

If I were to spend time in a Big Island Hotel for vacation rather than business, I would probably choose an entirely different venue. I don't go to a hotel just to stay there, but like to explore. I don't think I would be looking forward to staying here if I have the chance to attend this conference again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ira1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is an amazing property, filled with beautiful artwork. This was our second stay. We stayed in the Lagoon Tower again (one of three towers). We had a beautiful view of the ocean and of the playful dolphins in the pool right below our room. You do a lot of walking at this huge place, but the views make it all worthwhile. And if you can't walk, you can take the boat or the train. It's a lot like Disneyland! When you swim or paddle boat in the lagoon, you have a good chance of being accompanied by a sea turtle, since the lagoon is open to the ocean, and critters swim back and forth from one to the other. The restaurants are all excellent, with the exception of the Mexican cantina, which was truly the worst Mexican food we have ever tasted. The other downside is that we had booked our rooms six months in advance, with a request to be as close as possible to the other couple we were travelling with. We ended up being three floors apart, with the front desk unwilling to do anything about it.

Room Tip: The Lagoon tower is closest to the ocean: be sure to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed in the Hilton Hawaiian Village and really enjoyed it. We had heard that this Hilton was even nicer. It was a great disappointment. The hotel in in bad need of an update. Our first room was dark, had no view and several of the appliances did not work. After complaining and a long wait, we were given a second room that was worse. The desk staff that "served" us consistently broke promises of help and only when we got the name of the manager, Debi Bishop, were we properly served. After a half-day wait, our third room was acceptable.
The grounds are very nice but there are so many problems with this place that we will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Frank,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here one night to check the hotel out before moving down to stay at the Kona Coast. The Hilton is a beautiful hotel, well maintained, very nice rooms, beautiful indoor and outdoor settings everywhere you go, a service oriented staff and many eating choices on site, abundant swim and seating areas, lots of places to walk, fun transportation on site to get from place to place ( a tram, and boat ), and a late check out.
The downside was trying to figure everything out and where everything is. We opted for the cheaper self park which was a bit of a walk from the entrance. The key I was given to swipe for entrance to the lot didn't work and I had to drive back to the lobby to get a new key. As I'm writing this it is raining rather hard and very windy and I'm not looking forward to walking down the hill to self park to shag the car. To get your luggage back and forth you need to reserve a time to have it picked up. Lots of add on costs (self park $17), tipping for luggage etc. and the food and drinks were on the pricey side. Not a place for the budget oriented consumer.
Mostly a good time and glad we stayed here a night before moving on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £197 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing