We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This week end was saposed to be an awesome experance. My family and I don't get to vacation much. Let alone get a day off. Due to my husband and I owning and running a business. This weekend was not exactly that. Arrival was great we were able to check in early and the staff in the lobby was awesome. After we got settled we went to the pool for sun and fun. And we're greeted with a roach in the pool. Understanding that things like bugs aren't to be helped in a tropical location we simply found a staff member and asked if he could remove it. His responce was " that's not my job". Shortly after we were met with a woman sweeping the water on the only working bathroom at the pool. And all was fine till the moment I tryed to step out of her way. I guess I was disrupting her because I was rewarded with toilet water being swept onto my legs and feet. I'll Stop at there and leave with saying the only thing good about this vacation and experance was having the family together. Next time were taking our vacation else where

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davalynn1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent weekend away from your business. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness problems you encountered in the pool and common area bathroom and regret that your concerns were not appropriately addressed. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve much better. We will make every effort to ensure our property meets the highest standards of guest satisfaction in the future. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you visit Hawaii with your family.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,041
    2,579
    1,185
    594
    339
See reviews for
3,002
2,882
134
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,903)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a great vacation destination if you are looking to stay at a resort where everything is available and you can relax without having to drive around. The gardens are lovely for walking around and they have an ocean lagoon and several pools. The rooms are far from the reception but they have a train and boat that can take you. Everything is very well maintained and cared for. The size of the resort means it does not seem crowded however the lagoon can get a little busy with kayaks, paddle boards and swimmers. If you come to the Big island to experience Hawaii away from the crowds then this is not the place for you. If you want to relax and stay at a beautiful location then this is an ideal place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank small_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here with a number of co-workers. Four of us had roaches in our rooms at different times throughout our stay. I came home with about 3 dozen bed bug bites (see photos). I hope I didn't bring any home. Won't be going back to the Hilton Waikoloa...ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Andrew,

I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you and your co-workers experienced at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that may occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been addressed.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We are still here and loving every minute!
The first night we stayed in a suite in the Lagoon Tower and it was a beautiful room, newly refurbished.
The rest of the stay we spent in the Presidential Suite in the Palace Tower. The room is very large and wonderful for a family. I really wish all resort rooms were like this, extremely spacious. I did request the Lagoon Tower Presidential Suite 6 months in advance and did not receive it. We are celebrating our 25 yr. wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday.
I was a little let down when I discovered we did not receive this tower, but the room size is wonderful (almost 4,000 sq. ft.).
The kitchen...kitchenette was extremely small but worked to store our cold food In our mini fridge. I was told before check in that we would have a cooktop, there is not one. The kitchen has a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot and a sink only. Which means cooking any food is out of the question.
The staff was very accommodating and nice. Expect to walk a lot, I love it but it would be tough for those with small children.
I will attach photos to this review later as we are still on site and really enjoying the Aloha spirit!!!

Room Tip: I am not sure what more I could have done to secure a good room, you can request the Lagoon Tower, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greencozmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was our first visit to the big island, and the hilton offers a nice local discount, so we went with it. I was shocked to see a monorail upon checking in, and then when we went to our room, we learned why it is needed. To say this place is huge would be an understatement. It took us about 15 mins to get from the main lobby to our room. If you forget something in your room, forget about going back for it. The rooms were quite spacious, but definitely in need of updating/refreshing. We definitely hope to return to the big island next year, but will stay somewhere smaller.

Room Tip: we stayed in the ocean tower. nice view, but room is in need of updates/refreshing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Update March 29, 2014- I was sent and evaluation by the Hilton and told them the same information I provide below. I was contacted by the Hotel they state, “ The ‘Splash and Relax’ option should not have been anything but a fluid process…” They refunded half or rate and state they will address my stated issues with their staff- I hope they do.

We took our adult kids and their 18 month old for the day reservation. It is $160 base price for 4 persons- they charged $20 additional for the 18 month old 5th person. It proved impossible to get a reservation on the phone- I talked to people on 3 different days with a different definition of what "bookings only 7 days ahead" means. They also made it clear that this type of reservation is not a priority. It left me with a bad taste and if the "kids" hadn't wanted to do it I would have given up. I finally want to the property to book in person. The room was in the Ocean Tower with a king bed. There were only 2 towels for showering after swimming. It might be wise to keep your beach towel and return it to the pool after your shower if you have a group like we did. It was fun to use the pools, slides and lagoon. We swam with several turtles in the lagoon and the fish are huge. Lunch was around $100 for 4 people- there was a free Kieki meal with adult meal. All in all a good family day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooseMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, IL, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent eight nights in March. This was a return trip for us with our two girls. Our memories from 2003 were enhanced. The resort itself is first class. We stayed in the Lagoon Towers. Our girls loved the pool, waterslide, swimming with the dolphins and snorkeling in the private area. The Big Island offers so much and the Hilton Waikola is a paradise in and of itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.6 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing