We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought I had died and gone to heaven.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rock Springs, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thought I had died and gone to heaven.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for a week in March, 2014, and was every disappointed when we had to leave. I loved, loved, loved this place. We have stayed at many different resorts on all of the Hawaiian islands, and this one is definitely on the top of the list of favorites. The grounds are gorgeous and have statues everywhere so you actually feel like you are in paradise. The resort is very, very large and we were in the ocean tower so we had a good jaunt to our room, but the walk was good and enjoyable. We rode the tram only a few times during our week stay. The boat rides were so calming and relaxing, we would just get on and ride through the resort and enjoy the scenery. I would go back to this place and would highly recommend it. I only hope and pray that I will get the opportunity to visit again because it was on a scale of 1 to 10 a 10 by far.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeri1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,033
    2,572
    1,180
    588
    339
See reviews for
2,992
2,878
134
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,900)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

They do not honor their 7th night free promotion. They charge $160.00 for a late check out. Food is over priced and not good. They birds in the ocean tower were very load at 4:30 am. The room was not clean when we checked in. The service in the restaurants was horrible. There is no true access to a ocean beach. Pool water was very cold

Room Tip: Do not stay in the ocean tower. Very noisy and a long ways from everything to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50birthday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests to help identify ways in which we can improve our guest experience. We regret that your 7th night free promotion was not recognized properly and that outside noise was disruptive to you in the morning. I also apologize that our dining experience did not meet your expectations and have shared your feedback with the appropriate members of our team. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again so we may make your stay a pleasant one. I encourage you to reach out to me at the email address below regarding your billing concerns, and I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The location is ideal for someone who wants to remain ONLY at the hotel. The pools excellent for children, but there is a price for everything. Extremely big and inconvenient, you must bring along everything you need before leaving your room, otherwise you will need to hop on the tram, that will represent 15 to 20 minutes wait. There is no actual beach, but the view is fantastic during the sunset. If you want to spend between $100 to $150 for a meal for a family of 4, this is your place. Limited to the real culture of Hawaii.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank barbaras8042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Difficult review to write. There is a lot of great things about this hotel, but also a lot of not so great things. Lets start with the good. The staff were excellent, the room was very nice, and I slept very well throughout our week long stay (this is high praise - I usually do not sleep well in hotels). The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, and the overall location is good. Not too far from Kona and the resort itself is near some restaurants and shopping areas. Anaeho'omalu Bay beach is a brief walk or even briefer drive away. The lagoon area is nice on days when the surf is too high and if you want to swim with sea turtles, or have kids and you worry about them being caught in high surf, etc., the lagoon is a big plus. While I am an experienced swimmer and snorkeler, the wife was totally new at snorkeling, so it was nice to be able to have her practice and get used to things without getting tossed about in the ocean or worrying about finding a place to stand.

The big big big (stress on the word big) negative is the physical layout of the resort itself - its just too big. My wife and I love nothing better than a good walk, but it takes such a long time to get from the parking lot to your hotel room, its just ridiculous. To add insult to injury, they charge you for parking...and the parking lot may be up to a 15-20 minute walk from your car! Sure, there is the tram, but its painfully slow and often crowded. Come on Hilton, if you are going to make me walk that far, don't charge me for parking. They should make a parking lot closer to the actual hotel rooms, especially the Ocean building.

In addition, the restaurants at the resort close pretty early. They do keep on restaurant open until 10. Given that many guests arrive around 9-10pm, it would be nice to have more options for dining later in the evening, nothing fancy just some drinks and sandwiches for those who like to eat and/or drink later in the evening.

We are also Hilton Honors members, and at other Hilton hotels we have stayed at, we usually get some kind of reward or perk. Even if its just a bottle of water, its just a nice touch. In addition, it was my wife's birthday. At other hotels, they usually do something, but here, nothing.

I heard the resort was built in the 80's - it feels like the mantra of that era - it's big and a bit over the top. I don't necessarily mind that, but Hilton needs to address the issue of ease of accessibility. Nobody wants to waste half an hour of their precious vacation time each time they have to walk or ride a tram to/from their car. Put parking areas near the hotel buildings and give us back a few hours of our vacation time.

Room Tip: I think the Lagoon and Palace towers are closer to the parking area...stress the word think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FrednJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have been to other resorts but never as big as the Hilton at Waikoloa Village. There are three towers for guests ( lagoon tower is the best as it is nearby to lagoon beach) and you can either take the tram or boat service ( kids love it) to go from one end to another. The resort is well equipped with many facilities including its own lagoon, dolphin center, golf course etc. Though I wish there was a good sandy beach inside the resort, one can always take a 15 min drive down to Kua Bay (my favorite) or Hapuna beach for a great beach experience. ( A rental car is a must on the Big Island)
The Hilton is located in a place called Waikoloa with other resorts/hotels nearby. There is a queen's market place within 5 min drive for everyday shopping ( including groceries) if you wanna eat outside (highly recommended since the food in the hilton restaurants is expensive and not worth it). Each tower is equipped with its own free dvd/game rental kiosk (there is a PS3 for kids to play in the room), restaurants and concierge services. Another surprise in the hotel was a laundry machine room which was nice since I was staying for 5 days in the resort.The Luau at the Hilton seems expensive but great to watch. I can't compare it to other Luau's since it is my first time in Hawaii. The buffet in the Luau is not up to my expectations but the show was nice to watch and my son loved it.
Overall a good resort and I just wish it had great restaurants (with high quality food) within the resort to give it a 5 star ranking.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose the Lagoon tower since it close to nearly all the great facilities at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bpr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This family resort is located in Big Island. It is on the beach with lots of amenities for kids and family. They have a monorail as well as a boat for travel within the resort. With many pools (including an adult pool), paddle boating, sandy beach area as well as dolphin training, and many restaurants one could just stay in the resort the whole time. The rooms are not the best that we have stayed in but we did not stay in our room as much with so much to do in the resort and on the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jswam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Upgraded to an Ocean-View Lagoon and absolutely gorgeous. Honestly, I think I walk faster than waiting for the monorail and thinks it just kills the whole island vibe, but great service, decent room service, and dinner at sunset at the Provisions restaurant is highly recommended! Pools are so so fun, even for big people :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.6 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing