We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want a resort, but Whoa! was I pleased......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived at the Hilton Waikoloa resort after spending seven days in a beautiful house with pool in south Kona, candidly I did not want to leave the house as I am not a resort type person. As we drove in, the property is simply beautiful. Just like a resort should be.....

To my very pleasant surprise from the moment we arrived the Hilton the staff were awesome!! Eric at the front desk was patient with all my questions and assisting with our room upgrade, explained everything without being overly sales oriented. (Buy the discount card!) Once checked-in we proceeded to our room in the Palace Tower. Our luggage was already in the room with the bellman standing by to answer any questions.

Granted the place is huge, but the Museum Walk is so interesting with new details each time. If you do not want to walk they have a tram and boats for you. Remember, when here you are on vacation/conference and things take a little more time.

As for the nature sounds, they were really nice throughout not bothersome at all. We live full time in the Appalachian mountains of Georgia, very remote and very quiet therefore wee are extra sensitive to extraneous noise, but no worries here.

The Chinese restauarant, Kirin was quite good and I am a very particular "foodie" due to my travels. (Will review seperately) In addition, the beach side restaurant was really good. Vanessa was the BEST beach host, always attentive and there when you needed something (Blueberry Mojito, oh yes) Tuna burger....I could eat one right now.

The folks at the beach rental hut were INCREDIBLY nice and helpful. Kau, TJ, John and the rest were so pleasant and kind to our 9 yo daughter, they remembered my name each and every time making for a much more personal experience than one would expect at a resort. We rented paddle boards, peddle bikes, snorkel guy...the whole enchilada and everytime we have excellent service from this team. It made the cost of the rentals much easier to handle!

Also, as a parent this team made us feel very comfortable giving our daughter a little more latitude in how far she could explore on her on. Not free rein but .....

I could really go on and on about the positive experiences we had at this Hilton Waikoloa, even though I did not want to stay there. This hotel and the staff are great, well trained and extremely attentive to their guests needs.

To the entire staff, thank for a great final week on the Big Island! We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The Palace Tower ismore centrally located and does not have an aviary. The feral cats and the mongoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I appreciate your honest review of your recent family vacation at our Hilton hotel here on Hawaii Island. It makes us so happy to hear that our hard work to provide outstanding service and experiences is paying off with a memorable time for you and your family. We will pass along the comments on our staff, they will be happy to hear them. I value your review and hope to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,179 - 4,185 of 8,172 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I surprised the family with a Hawaiian vacation for Christmas, and as a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, I chose the Hilton Waikoloa Village. The property is definitely beautiful, but it is absolutely HUGE. They have a tram to shuttle you around the resort, but it is really slow and makes multiple stops adding 30 mins each way to whatever you want to do. Breakfast was only served in one location, so it took us 30 mins to breakfast and 30 minutes back to room after to change and get your stuff for the day. This completely wasted the morning.

The most important thing to know here though is that THERE IS NO BEACH! The photos show a "beach", but it's a tiny strip of sand on their own small "lagoon". The resort map even shows a white area that looks like a beach, but when you get there you find out that it is actually just rock. They get away with making it look like a beach on the map by saying that it is actually coral and not rock. Yeah, I'm sure that's why they made it look like a beach on the map.

I complained to management about the breakfast location and also asked why they don't clearly indicate that there is no real beach here. They totally blew me off without so much as throwing a free drink my way or anything. I was pretty shocked by this as I was a Hilton HHonors Diamond member (their highest tier). They gave me some BS about how this property is the highest redemption property for HHonors members as if that somehow made it better? It is the highest redemption property because they completely mislead you about what you are getting.

Needless to say, I will never stay here again. On top of that, I have since switched allegiance completely away from Hilton and will take my substantial business and personal hotel stays to a competitor.

Room Tip: Check the map to get something near the pools and restaurant or you are stuck taking a tram 30 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dagwood777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I appreciate your honest review of your recent family vacation at our hotel. I apologize that breakfast was located far away from you as comfort and convenience are some of my highest priorities for our guests. I’m sorry that our lagoon did not meet your expectation and I have reviewed your comments with the appropriate members of our team to see how we can improve for future guests. I value your comments as a loyal member to our brand and I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great place to stay whether you are solo, on business, or for a family vacation. Meeting rooms, guest rooms, restaurants, fitness, or relaxation needs will be met here. If you have not seen Hawaii, start here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There is a lot of things to do with kids but very pricey if you are planning on staying longer than a couple of days. Breakfast could run 50 or more for just two people. If you don't plan on leaving the property that's good other wise expect to take about 30 mins. from room to parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Footeloose53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is impressive in brochures and it is a place I've wanted to visit when going to the big island. The disappointment with the property started soon after our arrival. There was a long line checking in and it set a tone for our stay.
Restaurant reservations were difficult to get.
We were on the far end of the property and only the first trip by boat felt fun and neat. The distance from the lobby to the room was way to time involved.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize for the long wait you experienced at check-in and that it was difficult to secure a restaurant reservation. We will put an emphasis on speeding up our check-in process and I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii for our anniversary and enjoyed the time we spent here. The grounds were beautiful. Everywhere you look there were scenic views and great spots for a sunset drink. It's easy to get to different locations on the property by tram or boat ride.
The location was convenient for a walk or short drive within Waikoloa Village to the King and Queen shops, other resorts, and restaurants as well as about a half hours drive to Kona. Other people feel the place needs updating. Personally I don't care. My number one priority when I travel is location and outside amenities. My only pet peeve was they tried to hard sell us to purchase another vacation package. (Which my husband did :(

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHappyTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This vacación spot has one good thing going for it…the green turtles! The snorkeling in the bay is great fun and being that accesible to the green turtles was amazing! Upon check in, I found a long black curly hair on the bathroom floor. Turn off! Gross! The rooms are in major need of remodeling!!!! Food very mediocre! Very hard to get around inside the hotel!!! Not user friendly in the slightest. Won't return!!! Oh…forgot the bonus…my room was located above the hotel train transportation. Awesome!

Room Tip: Don't go! Not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Robin,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in Hawaii and that you enjoyed visiting with our turtles. We apologize for the problems you encountered while you were here. We have noted your comments about our guest rooms and have addressed the bathroom issue with our housekeepers. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £196 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing