We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April on the Big Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“April on the Big Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have seen this resort from the road but hadn't stayed there until April 2014. It is so large that getting around is a feat in itself. We got to the resort at 9 at night and had to take a tram to the oceanside resort rooms. When we got there it was deserted so taking a risk, we took the elevator to the floor assigned and eventually found the room. It was unusually large and comfortable and looked out onto part of the golf course and a distant view of the ocean. In the morning, we explored the grounds and found a very large resort with many people and shops. We walked around the other resort areas and found where they fed the dolphins in the morning and monitored them for any medical issues on their bodies. Expensive, but this was the area where you could pay to swim with them for an hour or so and watch them do their water tricks.
The only downside to staying at this Hilton is the daily $25 resort fee and the $17 parking fee required from everyone. Later in the week and not staying at the resort, we later ate at one of the restaurants in the complex and found that they validated parking so parking was not a problem. We also took a boat at night that also traveled within the complex and found it beautiful with the evening lights. To bad that some of the interior areas wasn't lighted, but it was almost like a Disneyland ride, again beautiful.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the golf course with a slight view of the ocean allows one to walk the grounds...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't stay long enough to experience or view their "environmentall-friendly" practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,866
    2,465
    1,111
    565
    316
See reviews for
2,795
2,738
131
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A lot has been written about this property so I won't repeat other comments about the grounds, the boats, tram, restaurants etc.
On the plus side, this hotel did a great job for a large conference and the F&B were really good considering the size of our group.
Was booked into a suite (no upgrade for this Diamond), and was assigned a room in the Ocean Tower.
The suite was spacious, had a good working fridge and wet bar, but tired and old.
No bath robes (even upon request) or any of what you expect amenities to be for a suite in a resort.
One irritation was the noise of the tram doors closing was directly beneath us.
As a Diamond, had the $10 voucher for each of us, for all of our days of stay which we could use anywhere.
The guacamole in the Cantina bar was quite good (odd there is no garlic in it), and service can be slow, but it's a resort, and staffing seemed to be an issue.
We needed to get a Rx and had to call a drug store that delivered ($25) as there is nothing really on property.
We used the tram to get to and from the shops up the street for meals for the most part ($2 pp each way), and found it convenient when we didn't have a car.
There is a National Car rental counter on site, and the cars are brought up from Valet which was very convenient. I recommend booking in advance on the website as it is likely much cheaper than walking up to the counter on property.
As mentioned, this property is massive, takes time to get anywhere, and if you call Guest Services, often no answer, presumably as they are so busy.

I don't agree with having captive dolphins for the amusement of guests, or the practice of clipping the wings on the birds to keep them on their very own small piece of land.

There is no beach here, as is the case with most of the island, lots of pool space, and never seemed that crowded.

Had room service one night, pizza was disgusting, rest of it was decent. Had pizza at the Lagoon bar and it was much better.

If you have kids, they might enjoy this resort, but as a couple, it was just a massive property with lots of kids, and shabby rooms.

They lose a star for the luggage screw up - took the Speedishuttle back to airport, and bags were loaded by valet after they eventually located them.

Discovered at airport, that one of our bags was not there, and we had someone else's suitcase. Mutiple calls to the hotel to get sorted out, and only thanks to a kind soul at Delta did the bag even get on the flight. The airline still managed to lose it for several days, but it eventually showed up.

In terms of mea culpa - hotel suggested we were at least partly to blame for not confirming identity of our bags while they were being loaded. It was clearly marked with a different baggage check number.

Would recommend Fairmont as an alternative - as a top tier member, generally much better treatment than HH Diamond, all else being equal. Also had breakfast at Four Seasons down the road which was gorgeous, but to be fair, different price range entirely.

I think when the renos are done, or if you have a room in the new tower, and you like a sprawling resort, and have kids, this might work well for you, not a place for a couple.

As a comparison, it's about 1.5 times the size of the Grand Wailea in terms of acreage.

Room Tip: Ocean view can be misleading, it means if you go to the end of your lanai, squint through the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and surrounding restaurants. I’m happy that you were satisfied with our property’s handling of your conference. I understand that you were disappointed with not receiving robes and with the noise coming from tram doors below your room. I have noted your comments and we are actively improving our on-property experience with guest reviews in mind. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A conference was held there and the service was great and rooms were spacious with double beds. Room faced the mountains, with a balcony. You could walk or ride the tram or ride the boat to and from the conference area to your room. Interesting art works: sculptures, masks, cultural displays are along the way, which adds interest to your walk within the hotel grounds. Staff is helpful and considerate, with much "Aloha."

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiloschild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This property is huge and has everything you might want to try. Snorkeling, stand up paddle board, turtles, birds, dolphins, a boat ride, and a tram. The draw back to a huge property is that you have to wait for the tram to take you to your room on the other side of the property. The plus is that it didn't seem crowded and there was plenty to do. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the ocean. We tried the stand up paddle boards and saw sea turtles swimming in the back lagoon. The restaurants were overpriced, but overall, I would say its a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I really had a great time staying at the Hilton Waikoloa. The staff are awesome especially Romulo. We will certainly come back again. The location and amenities are really family friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Out of our two weeks traveling through the Hawaii Islands, our parents enjoyed the Waikoloa Hilton the most. We will definitely be returning. The staff was accommodating and gracious. We were allowed to checkin early and checkout late, which gave us time to explore the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank michellebF8502PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Our children had a great time with the dolphins, the turtles, the slides and one very respectful and fun life guard named Kelson.

The boat and train and multiple pools as well as the golf courses are fun for the adults too.

Bring the family and enjoy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing