We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds but long walks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds but long walks”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We had the chance to stay 5 days and it was fun. As stated in many reviews, the resort is huge. Plan on doing a lot of walking. We ate at multiple restaurants on the resort and they were good. The pools were nice but found many times during the weekend trouble finding spots to sit at. Now to the defense if the resort it was the holiday weekend so that probably played a role. The rooms were nice however the bed was horrible to sleep in. Felt a spring in my back and had to sleep on top of the comforter to get to sleep. The lagoon was great and has sea turtles in it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JAF1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,961
    2,525
    1,157
    578
    329
See reviews for
2,906
2,822
132
628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,880)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Although undeniably beautiful, this hotel is so over-the-top and unnecessarily wasteful. it disgusted me. To begin, they have a pool where they keep 10 or 12 dolphins and use it to make pure profit with no consideration for the animals who are taken from their families and homes for the sole purpose of generating a profit. how is that justifiable?
secondly, unless youre a million stay away, because on top of the insanely expensive nightly costs, everything there is more than double it should be.
stay away if you have any morals and concern for the environment.
theyre evil!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We apologize for being unable to provide you with the type of stay you expected during your recent trip to Hawaii. We appreciate the feedback on pricing. The dolphins are indeed well cared for and loved and we invite you to reach out to Dolphin Quest to learn more about the exceptional care the trainers provide. You can learn more about Dolphin Quest's care here: http://www.dolphinquest.com/index.php/hawaii_faqs?cfid=57#19. Thank you for your review!

Kind regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for an on site wedding. Really impressed with the property and staff. Bring comfortable walking shoes in case you take the tram going the wrong way because 64 acres is a big deal. Felt a little guilty to be there without the kids, so we'll be sure to bring them with us next time. This place very family friendly - lots of things to do to keep the kids occupied!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was clean and modern .The grounds well kept and beautiful. There are so many fake Hawaii things to do why would you ever leave to see the real Hawaii? Don't get caught up in the fluff get off the grounds! It sounds easier than it is. Yes they have a monorail and a boat for transport but you will waste valuable time waiting for either unless you are lucky to find it waiting for you when you are ready. Be prepared for long walks to get anywhere and to be able to leave. Unless you have pockets full of money you will need to leave to at least get groceries. Save yourself a step when you leave the airport and take a right drive about 15 minutes to hit the Target or Walmart to get groceries. The food and beverage is beyond ridiculous at the hotel. Even expensive food feels cheap once you pay those prices. It is a good place if you are carting around a pile of kids and don't want to cart them anywhere to be entertained. The food is average at the hotel no matter where you eat. You will see everyone carting groceries to their room it doesn't take folks long to figure it out. There is a small fridge in the room. They do have a kool free movie setup in the hotel so that you can rent dvd's and games for free to watch in your room. After a long day of fun that comes in handy. I enjoy a nice quality hotel like the Hilton. I was disappointed in the overpriced food, rentals and parking. The fake Hawaii atmosphere was well done but I prefer a more natural environment. However the land on that side of the island is literally an ocean of lava on the land and I guess they had to create the environment no matter how fake or no one would come. Honestly I have mixed feelings on the place, but would have been happier without the price gouging for no reason. If you didn't get out of there you might chalk it up to Hawaii being really expensive in general. However I assure you that the prices on the island are pretty close to any place USA if you drive 15 minutes down the road or right around the corner to the Lava Lava club which became my absolute favorite, It is around the corner from the Marriott. I wish I had found it sooner. My advice, get the cheapest room possible and get off of the hotel grounds. Enjoy the real thing. There is a beautiful white sand beach 10 minutes up the road. It is one of many. Oh and buy your activities off of the internet instead of the marked up hotel prices. Don't go to the 8am complimentary Island briefing or you will find yourself suckered in to 3 hours of your life wasted at a timeshare presentation so you can get the same discounts you could have gotten if you had just purchased on the internet. Trust me it is not worth it. Yes they sucked me in to going they said 90 minutes it was 3 hours and no I didn't buy it.

Room Tip: Select a room closest to the main entrance so you will spend less time going to and from your room...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hmmm. I didn't really notice. There was recycling but that was all over the island not special for the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mojoredbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are traveling with kids, this is a great place to stay! We were traveling with our two kids, ages 14 and 12. Check in was a breeze and check out relatively easy too - though busier and we did have to wait about 10 minutes. The property is very well maintained and pretty. The kids loved the extensive pools, water slides, sandy beach cove, water toy activities, dolphins and the ice cream shop! They also enjoyed seeing and petting the roaming cats on the property! We stayed in the Ocean tower, which is more in the middle of the property, but spent most of our time by the pools and beach area closer to the Lagoon Building. It was a good 10 minute+ walk back and forth, but we didn't mind and liked the "exercise" it provided. Just be organized and bring everything you need to avoid walking back and forth too much. Our room was spacious with 4 of us and we had a great view of the property and ocean. The bathroom (shower, toilet) was a little small, but functional. Sink area is good sized though and outside of the bathroom, which was nice with 4 of us trying to get ready at times. Room cleanliness was decent - not the best I have seen, but not horrible. Beds were not the best, but ok. One was better than the other. My biggest gripe was the hair dryers, which were not very strong - if that is important to you, bring your own. I kind of wish I had, but it worked ok. There is also a mini fridge in the room - which is nice. They do have a tram and boat for getting around the property, but we generally preferred walking. They also had a good fitness center, with great equipment with TVs. It seemed small for the size of the property, but was not busy in the early am (5:30-6:30 am) when we were there.

We really liked the property overall and it is perfect for families with kids. I do agree with other reviews though that their food and beverage prices are WAY too high. Most drinks/wine were $12-13 dollars vs. about $8-10 at Waikiki and at other restaurants we visited on the Big Island. Too bad too, we probably would have spent more than we did if prices were a little more reasonable. There are shops a mile or two away where you can buy food and beverages to keep in your room and cut the cost down a bit. I was also not wild about all the Chinese/Japanese art throughout the property. I would rather it had more of a Polynesian flavor and frankly found the artwork extremely excessive and not a great use of money for a resort like this.

Overall though, we were happy with this hotel/property and would recommend to others with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview and probably lagoon tower to be closer to more of the pool area, dolphins and fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The grounds and artwork are incredible and a must see even for non guests. Its very easy for your kids to see turtles, dolphins and sharks in their cultivated and beautiful grounds. Great for kids & young families. Very safe with lots of nooks and pools for relative privacy if you don't mind walking. The tram service however was terrible. The intent seems to be to hold guests hostage to the grounds. Multiple Trams were capable of running as well as the boats but the boats never ran once during our stay and only one Tram ever ran causing us to walk the seeming quarter mile back to the lobby several times.... otherwise it was always over a 20 minute wait just to get out of your room area. For a long stays you need to plan your excursions around the tram schedule. The $30 breakfast was good but pricy and the only real option. I couldn't even find any vending machines. If you want a snack or drink you must use one of the expensive restaurants on site. (Which are very good but limited menus and pricy) Also they have reserved the only close parking lots for employees and valet... so if you have a rental car (which is absolutely necessary) be prepared for another long hike in the heat (just about as far as a non guest would have to see the grounds)....And they charge you a very high parking fee for this inconvenience! Using the valet parking is probably worth it. The shopping malls in the area did not have a grocery store. There is a real grocery store north on the highway in the next resort area. (Its where you go to see the petroglyphs) Drive to the highway..turn left/north then left on Mauna Lani drive. You go past a line of trees that look to be straight out of a Tolkien book...then the second exit of the traffic circle has a real grocery store. Enjoyed our stay but you don't experience the real Hawaii without driving quite a way. If you like to stay on site and see a beautiful well maintained, resort it's perfect.

Room Tip: If you have a choice and want a view...take the last column of rooms toward the ocean. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have traveled around the world and by far this is the best hotel I've ever been to. Since it is in a remote location the many inlucded ammenities make it possible to be satisfied. Such a beautiful please to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank npachiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing