We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice tropical resort but not Hawaiian resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice tropical resort but not Hawaiian resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Writing this while sitting on room patio looking out over the Pacific. The view is just wonderful from here. Weather is great, view is great, room was great, hotel is great, but have to say the ohana feeling in not here.

This is our third stay here and i just love walking through the buildings. There are museum quality art from many different Pacific cultures (though North/South America is left out if you want to be picky). An exotic waterway runs through the spine of the property with boats and a train to carry you around. Multiple pools for kids and families. A lagoon, with sea life that includes reef fish and turtles, that connects to the ocean is a centerpiece. Connected to that, but also fenced off is a pool with sharks and then the dolphin experience.

What we see is a very pretty Disneyland type of place that could be on any island in the warmer parts of the world. Just bring your money (and very large amounts as everything is Expensive) and enjoy. No welcoming you back home, few truly friendly staff (though there were exceptions to this from housekeeping), just a feeling of here is your vacation, give us your money, and next please.

Will I come back, don't really know. If I do, will bring grandkids as activities for them are great and I find a large pile of money.

There are also little issues that I did not care for. The property shows the effect of time and ocean. There are no where near enough beach chairs around the lagoon, or really any place to sit while enjoying it. It is far from anything and you must take a crowded two lane road to get there. No microwave in room to reheat the leftover pizza from the great Pizza restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get Deluxe Ocean View. Expensive but, wow, what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stoshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,859
    2,460
    1,109
    564
    315
See reviews for
2,788
2,731
131
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have no! words to describe how wonderful our stay was in this hotel. From the arrival to the departure it was amazing! Excellent costumer service! we stayed at the marriot for 2 days and couldn't wait to get out of there, so I called and see how early we could check (it was 9 am in the morning) and they said to give them 1 hour so they could have our room ready. As soon as we arrived we where offered an upgrade to a Makai for a little extra money, we took it and it was so worth it. We had a beautiful view to the dolphin lagoon, and it was like a dream come true for my daughter. We were also offered to buy a discount card for the restaurants for 30.00 which was really good buy as they gave us back immediately 20.00 dollars in coupons. As Hilton gold members we also got 20.00 in credit for breakfast every day. We tried every single restaurant. Our favorite one was the Japanese , a little pricey but worth every penny. the mexican restaurant is good too, the only thing we didn't like was the charge for the salsa, that was 6.00 for 2 sides. Breakfast had a lot of different options, and a good value. Kids receive a colorful bracelet every time they eat in a restaurant, and can trade 6 of them for a free ice cream at the beautiful pool! The lagoon is amazing, we got to snorkel and swim with the turtles, and a lot of other sea creatures .We got a discount with our resort fee for rentals at the lagoon. The boat ride is nice. The birds are beautiful too. The only problem we had was when the next room from our overflow and we had to be moved tho a different room, the front desk manager was nervous with so many movements, but it was really ade to us by Laura who send my daugher a little something and by the Guest experience manager which I don't have his name.Swimming with dolphins is pricey but was a wonderful experience for the kid. Walking thru the property is like being in a beautiful Museum. The Lei and Hula classes were fun. Overall they wowed us from the check in to the check out.. We where very sad to leave and we are hoping we can go back soon. Spend 6 magical days there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Best Hawaiian trip ever! This place is huge with dolphins, sharks, turtles, private lagoons, and pools with slides. Costco travel was great as the package included air, car, daily breakfast buffet, luau, and resort fee. They beat out Expedia, Travelocity, and Orbitz. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Our server, Sheryl greeted us every morning by name and remembered our drink orders. Our OJ and coffee was brought without our asking. Jairus and Stephen, the servers' helpers were always attending us also! The breakfast hostesses were also greeting us by name every morning. The hotel resort is huge with a tram and boat service to your room tower. It takes about 20 mins to the lobby, so don't forget anything. Otherwise it can be a long round trip. My only complaint is that there is hardly any fish in their natural lagoon. If they can house dolphins / turtles / sharks... Why not more Hawaiian fish like humuhumu, yellow tangs, and moorish idols? This way we can safely snorkel there with the kids instead of paying $$$ to go out on a boat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great resort for resort holiday. There are some very nice touches that really make this sort of thing. The lagoon is great and provides a fantastic opportunity to swim with turtles. They were everywhere. Even by the pool there is sufficient amount of seating so that you are not wandering looking for a chair.
Food was pretty good and we didn't really have a bad meal. Staff were always very friendly and went out of our way to help, even when we had a small crisis which says a lot about the people there.
It is a resort so be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4_inda_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSM, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was a wonderful treat to be and stay at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. This was our 2nd stay here, the last about 5 years ago, and we enjoyed every minute. Our room was on the top floor in the Ocean Towers with a garden view. We were certainly pleasantly surprised during the busy summer months to obtain this great room with a nice view. We booked the cheapest room they offerred just knowing it would be fun just being there and not being concerned about where our room was. What a wonderful treat to have it on the top floor Ocean Tower. We did not have any ocean view but we did have a nice view of the gardens and property. Though the room location was close to the elevator (1st room next to it) we never heard it at all. In fact, it was extremely quiet in and around our room area the entire stay. The rooms are large, plenty of space for 2 people, and do have small refrigerators which was a blessing. We spent most of our day time at the lagoon sunning and snorkeling. There are plenty of "beach toys" to rent an enjoy. We did not go to any of the other pools. As far as the restaraunts, they are pricey. Even more so than you would expect. If you can live off sandwiches and cold foods, it will save on food expense. The parking fee is $17 per day for self park. All in all, we really did enjoy ourselves and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No matter what the price category room you choose, ask for a high floor. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

beautiful place, no real beach, just the fake lagoon beach. kids loved the pool. my wife decided to leave our 4 sets of snorkeling gear on our chairs at the lagoon to sort of "save them" while we went to get something at our room. come back and all our stuff has been stolen, along with a beach bag and our towels. some trashy southern folks were on our seats. like 20 staff people that work there were constantly walking all over the place taking food orders and picking up towels yet no one saw anything? right. security was useless, as were the staff. complete rip off of a place. to use a paddle board for an hour is 100$. to do ANYTHING even remotely fun is 100-300 per hour. dolphin experience? if you want to pay 300 bucks to watch the dolphin trainers play with the dolphins while ordering your kids around, then this is a great place.
one bright spot: Manager lady at the burger place next to the dolphin experience was the only helpful and nice person I interacted with. 20 bucks for a pineapple burger and fries. prepare to get gouged on food costs. the onsite hotel tour place you call is highly suspect. I think they get some huge commission whenever they arrange a trip with the local touristy things. I just called some local businesses that run the snorkeling and manta ray cruises (there are like 15 businesses that do them) and got a manta ray and snorkeling trip line up for 115$ just manta ray is 90$. the onsite "tour arranger" guy was quoting me 170$ just for the manta ray thing. hmmmmmmm? I think he is pocketing like 80 bucks per person?

by the way, for manta ray trip I recommend Big Island Diving

oh, 70$ for the breakfast buffet? rip off.

if you valet, they tell you 5 minutes to get your car,,, more like 20. if you are in a hurry, don't believe a word they say.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. We take all comments we receive from our guests very seriously and your suggestions will help us improve our property. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If we can help in any way, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa with family members who were visiting from the Mainland. We love coming to the Hilton Waikoloa anyway but it especially felt like a vacation for us even with our large group. The views and grounds are incredible, the rooms are super comfortable and quiet, and it was an excellent experience for all nine of the people in our group.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing