We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hilton on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I've been here three times, the first time thirty years ago, and the last time just last December. It was during off-season, just before Christmas, so the resort was half empty. The rooms are a bit dated, and I think they have been slowly upgrading the rooms; notwithstanding, the rooms are all quite nice, with private lanai. The nicer ones are, of course, facing the ocean. The place is great for families or couples, or travelers who are going there just to relax. It doesn't have a hip nightclub on-site, and if that is something you want to do at nights, you will be spending a lot in taxi money to get to Kailua town. There is a lot of walking to do, so if you don't like to walk, this may not be the place for you. Service is very good, and the various restaurants are quite nice.

Room Tip: There are ocean-view rooms in all of the three towers, just be sure to specify when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFBayTravelSensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,818 - 3,824 of 8,179 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is seriously a village! Although massive in size, check in was super easy. We got to the hotel at 10:30AM and they allowed us to check in early since the room was ready. When we arrived to the Ocean Tower, we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful suite and ocean view! The room has one of the strongest internet connections I've ever experienced! The in room coffee maker left a lot to be desired but I used it anyway. Coffee was almost $5 at their coffee kiosk. Breakfast was included and it was pretty much the same daily. We attended the Luau but it happened to rain. Employees were ready for the rain and brought out towels. The lagoon was amazing with so many sea creatures! Sea turtles everywhere! The lagoon grill was good for our afternoon lunch. Burgers and fish and chips are an excellent choice. The wings were good but the ranch and blue cheese tasted like chemicals. The walking was insane. It's great if you can catch the monorail or the boat but if you don't time it right, you could arrive at your destination quicker by walking. Wear comfy shoes! Valet never seemed to get backed up but we opted for self parking. We must have walked 3-5 miles each day through out the resort! This is a great location with many activities and friendly service amongst the staff.

Room Tip: Get one closest to the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

On the island of Hawai'i, "the big island", this is very good as a complete resort. Water related activities are supported in almost every way, with a large, man-made lagoon for protected swimming (no wildlife, calm water, in a supervised setting). Paddleboards, pedal-boats, kayaks and other non-motorized water toys are plentiful and the area is spacious enough to never get a crowded feeling. The ocean is close and accessible as well. Dolphin Quest supports research as well as a "swim with the dolphins" program to make people familiar with real wildlife. The hotel occupies 64+ acres, so there is space for many activities, including golf and a "real-world" putting course (18 holes with green manicured surfaces and different putting "challenges"). There is a curator on staff to manage the multitude of fine art lining the long passageways and various lobby areas. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: Most rooms are "ocean view" and large. The "Dolphin Tower" is very close to bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We are Hilton Gold Members and HGVC owners. We visit a lot of Hilton sites. We have been visiting this site for around 15 years. Waikoloa Village is a wonderful place for couples and families alike, one of the best in Hilton's entire chain. This time we (by chance) had a conversation in passing with one of the pool / recreation staff, Hiti of Ocean Sports. Very nice guy, friendly and helpful. He is a good example of the quality service you can expect while a guest here. Visit, relax, enjoy.....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mje12518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Seriously two of the coolest dudes I've ever met at a Hotel in Hawaii!! Brian is super friendly and generous; he makes a mean Virgin Piña Colado and Chocolate Smoothie for te kiddos and a kickass Lava Flow w floater for the adults. When my 5 year old dumped his smoothie in the sand before even sip one, and he returned to Brian with his empty, pebble-strewn cup, Brian said "You don't even have to ask! I got it" Stellar dude!

Brandon was fun and friendly, giving all kinda of good tip on how to et maximum speed and full velocity on the big slide.

Highly recommend this hotel
And their amazing staff! Hilton Waikoloa is the bee's knees!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winslowwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Although I give this place a high rating, this hotel is for those types of people who like resorts over exploring their actual destination. This resort is much like Disneyworld. It is so huge, they have installed trams and boats for transportation. you can still get around by foot but it will take you a good 15 minutes just to get in and out of your hotel each day if you decide to go explore the island. The place has two main pools that are for the majority equipped with waterfalls, slides, jacuzzis and even a lagoon where you can go snorkeling, paddling, etc. They also have a secluded pool that is only for adults but beware of the animals in that vicinity (very noisy) there are quite a few shops and restaurants on the inside so if you are happy enough to just call this resort your vacation, you can.

I cant give it a score of excellent because I don't fall into this category of traveler. I prefer that my hotels remain a place to sleep and where I have easy access to simple amenities that dont create distraction from my main trip objectives- in this case, to explore the beautiful island of Hawaii. The Hilton was a nice experience but it is too much eye candy for my taste.

Room Tip: I would think all rooms here have a good view of something. It's Hawaii
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anchi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel is so massive it cannot deliver good service, but it is a beautiful property. On site concierge was great. Buffet breakfast a mediorce zoo with awful service. Be prepared to walk a lot, because while there is a tram it is slow with long waits and you will get where you want to go faster on foot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £197 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing