We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I have ever visited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I have ever visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Swim with the Dolphin Experience, Hawaiiin Beach front resort with a Private Lagoon. Family Friendly. Conference Center, Water Taxis between hotel buildings, Disney like tram between buildings,

Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RonaldG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,860
    2,461
    1,109
    564
    316
See reviews for
2,789
2,732
131
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Wonderful spot for a family vacation. The rooms were clean and spacious and the resort was wonderful. My children loved the boats and monorail and according to them the slide was awesome it made you feel like you were somewhere special.
There were only two negatives about the resort we stayed in the ocean tower and the noise from the birds drove us nuts and woke us well before people on holidays want to get up. The other problem was the welcome gift that was left on the childrens beds had to be paid for.
The grounds were perfect and beautiful. I am so glad that we decided to go the big island as well as Waikiki. It was what I imagined Hawaii to be. The kings and queensmarket place shops were very useful and could be travelled to by a shuttle. We loved it here and next time would skip Maui and spend the extra time on the big island. Its hard to please 6 people but this place did. If you get a chance take a tour with Mauna Kea Summit Adventures my husband and two teenager children raved about it. I spent that time in the pools and having dinner by the dolphins with our two youngest and felt perfectly safe and happy. Our family had a fantastic feeling of peacefulness here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We just returned from a stay at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. My husband and I prefer smaller resorts but we got a deal on this hotel (we had to attend the 90 min. presentation they offer to sell you a timeshare) so we decided to try it.

I think if you like the bigger resorts then you may really like this place. There was a beautiful salt water lagoon where water came in from the ocean, but it was very calm (no waves), had a decent amount of fish and you could occasionally spot a sea turtle but if you like the feel of being right by the ocean with waves, this location does not have a "beach." You can of course venture out of the hotel.

If you like large pools, they have a pretty impressive pool with a waterfall. The place also seems to be kid friendly. It was relatively quiet while we were there which we like, but again the size of the resort was a bit too large for us. We found that it was time consuming just getting around the resort. They have a boat and tram that you can take from one end of the resort to the other but it takes about 20 minutes or so. It seems to move slower than the turtles so we decided to walk most of the time. Just wanted to mention this in case you may not be that mobile.

One of our complaints was that they seemed to nickle and dime you. For instance they had a couple of bottles of water in the room but they were $6.50 a piece. The breakfast buffet at the Water's Edge restaurant was good but it was about $60 for the 2 of us. They also charged me $6 for a cup of tea because I didn't order the buffet one morning (ordered off the menu). That just seemed exorbitant to us. We understand things are more expensive on vacation but we didn't want to feel like we were being ripped off. We would recommend you stop at the Waikola Village supermarket if you have a rental car where you can pick up water etc. as the dollars can really add up. If you do have a rental car they will charge you $15 per day to park or $21 per day to valet. Also they have a business center for Internet usage but they charge you for that as well.

They have a really great restaurant there called "KPC" that is right on the water. It was absolutely beautiful and the food was excellent. We would definitely recommend you go there for the sunset. Would not recommend their Chinese restaurant called, "Kirin," the food wasn't great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kredrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island WA
Level Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

It had been two years since our last stay and when I reviewed the resort in Dec of 2007. Since my last review I have noticed several improvements:

Staff: A much better attitude overall. In speaking with an employee who we have grown to know during our four visits over the last eight years, he remarked that there was a well needed management change that created much more of a focus and a more positive atmosphere. Everyone we encountered was quite friendly and actually seemed pleased to serve.

Grounds: The renovation of the dolphin area is completed and this place is the cleanest that I have seen it. Twice in the early morning, I witnessed staff using a power floor cleaner on the paver stone walk ways. The spa/locker rooms are remodeled.

Food service: -Yeah, I know, it's expensive. Welcome to Hawai'i... However, they did add some options to take the bite off of families through the addition of a cereal bar open in the AM next to the dolphin pond and kiddie lunches at the grill. Also, the italian restaurant is open and renamed during busy periods serving more modestly priced dinners (think Olive Garden.)

Lagoon Area: Again the waterfront staff seems to have undergone an amazing attitude improvement; they used to be kind of nasty and now they are fun. They added several of the paddle surf boards that are kind of fun.

Tram: Brand new trains!! They have three, two in service and one backup. Best of all they were working the entire time we were there!!

For the many folks who are here via HHonors Diamond 175K Award, the free breakfast bar in the Ocean tower is closed and I say 'good riddance.' The place was inconvienent for those in Lagoon or Palace towers, crowded and you don't have to guard a stale dry muffin from the flocks of birds. The best part is that it was replaced by $10 chits (coupons $10/night X 2 for double occ.) meaning that you have $20/ day per room to spend whereever you'd like. While this doesn't cover a full breakfast, it does cover some food, drinks at most bars, coffee etc. It is not nearly as complicated as one previous reviewer remarked. Just read the coupon for where it can be used and pretend it's a $10 bill. The water bottle coupons are just as simple: There are two bottles of hideously overprice Fiji water in your room, take a bottle, leave a coupon and it's all good. Two bottles per day per room. Also to my fellow diamond friends, room upgrades are much easier if you are a friendly, charming guest who would be willing to provide the front desk clerk with a small token of appreciation. $20 got us an upgrade to an ocean facing 2 room suite in Palace. (Just please be discrete, check out a website called "thetwentydollartrick" ) A small price to pay for a very nice room for six nights.

We were there before Christmas and it was kind of quiet. The Ocean tower restaurant was closed as was the Italian place. As we got closer to the holiday, they opened the italian place, added a few more taxi boats that matched the occupancy of the hotel. Again, this just seems like smart management.

Some of our favorite things to do... Happy hour on the boats: We mix up a cocktail or two and ride the boats for a couple of laps, nice and relaxing. Sunset at Buddah Point: uncap a bottle of vino and enjoy the show that God puts on every night. Time your visit around sunset and you'll get to see the final stop on the tiki-torch lighter's run. Lagoon: This is the best chance you'll have to snorkle up close and personal with turtles as well as some tropical fish. Go early in the morning before the kiddies get the water all stirred up and murky. Boatlanding Pavillion: On the weekends they have live guitar music and some very good sushi.

There is no beach on site, however Hapuna Beach is just six miles north and repeatedly listed in the top ten American beaches.

This is a great hotel for kids young and old, romantic couples and anyone with a sense of fun. Not a good place for people who don't like to walk, don't have money, are freaked out by dolphins or are expecting a Four Seasons level of resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Great great great hotel... just expensive (that's why we went just before Christmas new years... specially the restaurants... there is a food court close by--eat there! You really can't go wrong staying here we had an amazing time.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SaharS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed here just before the Christmas holiday and really enjoyed ourselves here. We stayed here 3 nights after staying in Maui for 10 nights. We were sorry we did not stay here longer.

Getting to the hotel is easy- only 20min drive to the hotel. The airport is so small, getting in and out is so easy!

Check-in was also very easy and took 5 mins. We had an oceaview AND Dolphin lagoon view room on the 4th floor of the Lagoon Tower. My three year old son and I just loved hanging out on our balcony watching the dolphins play! The pools are really nice- for those of you with small children, you will love the pool section with the sandy beach. The water came up to my son's waist only and he loved playing in the water. Also, next to the sandy pool, is a water fountain that sprouts water from the floor that the kids loved.

The pool I highly recommend for those of you with young children is near the Ocean Tower section of the resort. There were small/kiddie sized waterslides there where you could spend your entire day. My three year old had no problem going down the slide by himself. You must go there- such a blast!!!

One other thing we enjoyed about the hotel was the great service- you always bumped into someone who asked you if they could help you find a part of the resort or any other general question. We enjoyed eating at the resort - Lagoon Grill was our favorite- most nights they have a dinner special and you can get 50% off your bill if you are there before 6pm to eat. Breakfast at Water's Edge was good- the made to order omelets were great and they had good selection of eggs, fruits, cereals, etc (even small smoothies). During the day, the Orchid Marketplace was good for things like hot dogs, pizza, ice cream, sushi, and panini sandwiches.

Housekeeping gave us extra towels without us asking and also kept the room so clean and well stocked with the shampoo and conditioners from the spa (coco-mango).

We went to see the volcano by driving to the Hilo airport (1 hr 45 mins) and your must go with Blue Hawaii Helicopters! What an experience... Also, there is a macademia nut factory nearby about 25 min drive from the hotel that we enjoyed- the concierge had some info about that. It beats the drive to the other side of the island to the Mauna Loa one.

So, like other reviews note- the resort is huge and on 62 acres. The train and boat come every 5 minutes and that was never a problem for us. There is a $15 per day self park fee at the hotel. If I had one negative to say, it is that the pools are ice cold- it takes time to get used to the pools. You NEVER see anyone in the pool until the hot sun comes up around noon.

Otherwise, we really loved this place and will go back next time we are in Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer1975_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

First of all if you’re going to travel to this resort and don't want to hire a bell-man pack light, as this resort is huge and getting your bags from the reception desk to your room is a major feat. You will need to drag them for miles, or wait for the extremely slow and busy tram, or the boat.
After checking in we spent hours wandering the grounds to explore the resort and only saw a small portion of it. After all that work we got back to our room for the first time after check in to get ready for dinner. That was when my wife found the toilet full of urine and cigarette buts... :( The bathroom had obviously not been cleaned upon the last check out, and overall it was very dirty.
After two calls to the front desk housekeeping came and swished the bathroom. We asked to talk to a manager about our displeasure that night and again the next day and it never happened. It is obvious that these people just don't care...
We were so mad we lugged our four large suitcases to the parking lot ourselves, and it seemed a mile away. After we checked out we left for Kona Village Resort down the road. Now that's a place to stay if you want clean rooms and good service...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberta-Hotrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
No photo provided
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing