We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hilton grand vacation is fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stay at this resort every year and it never disappoints. Rooms are great, staff is fantastic and you have access to the hotel and all it offers. We love the free tennis courts and tennis clinic twice a week. Weather in Kona is best in the world. This is an amazing property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

As an HGVC owner, we normally have an excellent experience at HGVC Waikoloa. Unfortunately, our latest visit was soured with inconveniences.

* the oven broke; althought maintenance did everything they could to resolve, and were quite pleasant and helpful, they ended up replacing the oven on the 3rd day (which caused us to dine out for 2 days - more than we had planned)

* dishwasher made a loud, grinding noise; we did not advise maintenance because they had already spent 2 days in our unit trying to resolve the oven issue

* downstairs unit ceiling fan cause our unit living room area to vibrate and buzz; we advised maintenance, but were told that the fans were in the process of being fixed. In the meantime, the staff asked the downstairs unit tenants to turn down/off their fan; they complied for one day only; we were unable to spend much time in our living room area because of the noise and vibration (couldn't hear our TV over the vibration noise)

* there was mold on the master bathroom shower head

Instead of spending funds on Playstations and DVDs, perhaps HGVC should focus more on standard maintenance. We plan to return to Waikoloa next year, and hope HGVC plans to make things right for us.

Room Tip: As long as the noisy, vibrating ceiling fans are in each unit, there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Mahalo nui loa (Thank you very much) for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you encountered in your suite with the working order of our kitchen appliances and ceiling fans. Please be assured that we will have these items addressed immediately by our engineering team to avoid a re-occurrence. Again, our sincere apologies and it is our sincere hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Glenn Okamoto
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Or lack of sound, actually. This is a serenely quiet resort, located just up the street from Hilton Waikoloa Village. We've stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village a number of times, and truly like it there. It's wonderful to be in the thick of things at that hotel. This time, however, we had extra company and the hotel didn't work best for us. Instead we stayed at a 2 BR, 2 BA unit in the Hilton Grand Vacations Club. Our unit is on the top floor, facing southwest onto the golf course. It's very spacious, new, and immaculately kept. We are not timeshare owners, just very happy customers/renters.

One important difference between Hilton and other timeshare chains is that we get daily housekeeping service. This feature is important in a tropical climate where we seem to go through towels at an amazing rate. We also love the washer/dryer in our unit. We didn't stress as much about how many clothes to pack since we can cycle these through the laundry as we need.

Another nice thing about this property is that we have full access privileges at the Hilton hotel proper, that is, lots of pools, the lagoon, restaurants, spa, exercise classes, fitness center, and concierge. And by access, I mean we can charge virtually everything to our room here at the HGVC. And this property does have its own benefits. Included in our room rate are tennis, wi-fi, putting green, pools (although not as impressive as the Hilton hotel), fitness including yoga and Pilates, and local shuttle service.

Two final points: first, if you plan to eat even once at the Hilton Waikoloa Village it's worth buying their 10% discount card. It costs almost $30 but comes with $20 in food/drink discounts and once you're here it's easy to see that a family of 4 can spend enough for one lunch to pay for the card. Second, some activities like the Hilton luau are best booked through the HGVC -- you get a substantial discount over what you'd pay if you booked directly with the Hilton hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Doud_FtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

do not go to waikola to swim! golf is good but none of the pools are heated! None at the beach resort condos or hotel! I am an owner if hilton grand vacations! Wait until summer, waste of money in November! I came to swim! So disappointed! Only 5 years old and younger will attempt pools! Bahamas next time for me during winter months!

Room Tip: Super windy at night! If you don't face golf course you cannot use balcony at all! Don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for feedback, we did have some challenging weather last November and December with stronger than normal trade winds, cooler temperatures which is what happens during “winter” here in Hawaii. Our Main Clubhouse pool at Hilton Grand Vacations Waikoloa and at nearby Bay Club are all heated and we have had to make some adjustments due to weather conditions and heating system issues. Our Recreational Water Facilities Team has been successful with maintaining consistent and comfortable water temperatures since mid-January, just shortly after the Main Pool had undergone a major renovation in early December. I am sorry that enhancements to our pool were completed after your stay, I do hope you’ll consider returning to our resort…Please jump right in, the water is fabulous! (That’s the current buzz around the pool deck!)

Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I spend a week with my family and we all had a great time at this family friendly beautiful location. I surely will comeback to this location in Waikoloa. The Village it's an amazing resort with many amenities for all ages. loved it !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank Luis Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is an awesome hotel! We stayed in a two bedroom room and there was lots of space. I felt like a queen. The suite was amazing. The pictures don't do it justice. The staff were very friendly. My only complaint was I that I can't stay there forever! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
3  Thank Kimberly A. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Waikoloa Hilton Grand Vacations Club in Hawaii. The purpose of my trip was a combination business/family vacation. I attended a conference during the first four days and stayed another three days with my Wife and Mother. We stayed in a two bedroom plus condo on the property with a full kitchen, two baths, living room, dining room and view of the golf course. We had full Internet access and cable television. During my conference, I had easy access to the highway and quickly reached my meetings everyday; yet it was quite at my condo. My Wife and Mother took advantage of the pool, nearby shopping and restaurants. This was made possible due to the excellent shuttle service provided by the Resort. They found everything to be a wonderful experience and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. After my conference, I took advantage of the pools, restaurants, lounges and recreational facilites available. I particularly enjoyed the lagoon for snorkeling; the marine life was fantastic! The one item we thought was below par was the Luau. However, having lived on Oahu for several years and returning the the islands almost every year, we have participated in numerous luaus and found the one at the Hilton to be mediocre at best. Otherwise all facilities and guest services were excellent and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
3  Thank Clif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: £216 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing