We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful resort in a beautiful and relaxing location. Standard of accommodation is first class. Excellent service from staff.... Nothing is too much trouble. We arrived quite late at night and it was literally pitch black and we had no idea where our apartment was, the concierge led us to our accommodation and then took my husband to the local store for supplies ... Who ever does that? We had a marvellous 4 nights there and look forward to returning in 2015. Thank you to all staff for making our stay so wonderful. There's even a Macy's in the resort...... Heaven!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fabdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    322
    81
    26
    10
See reviews for
655
246
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Waikoloa Beach Resort. The rooms are big and comfortable and the area quiet and relaxing with a friendly and supportive staff. we stayed at the Kohala Suites, a 20 minute walk to teh beach. Shuttles are available on a regular basis. The pool is fun and refreshing - colder than I would like but fine for our children. I enjoyed yoga everyday, both on the beach and at the spa. The only draw back is the cost of food which is unreasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Paige P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

There has been some confusion about this property. It is a Hilton Grand Vacation Club called Kohala Suites. It is part of the Hilton Waikaloa Beach Property. These condos are on the golf course versus the beach. They are very nicely appointed. The staff is both friendly and helpful. A shuttle will take you around the resort and to the shops. We were there for Thanksgiving and ordered a partially prepared full dinner from Safeway and were able to complete the process in the Condo. We also grilled in the common areas. We often drove to the Hilton Hotel (parking was complimentary if you showed the valet your key and got a get out of the lot free card). We would use the pool and the Lagoon (getting towels there). Meals can be charged on your room card. We also used the pool at the condo. For on the ocean beach work we would head up to Hapuna Beach (about 15 min drive North). This is a great place from which to base your trip to the Big Island. Lots to do both on the resort and off. We have been there several times and now own a week a year.

Room Tip: Get a room looking toward the golf course, the sun sets that direction. Close to the check in is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la jolla, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here for nine nights, and are vacation club owners here. Upon our check in, we were told the pool would be closed for renovations starting today, and for the remainder of our stay. BIG FAIL, not notifying us in advance of this situation. in the past we have stayed at the vacation club at the Flamingo in Las Vegas, and have ALWAYS been notified of their construction noise. We, needless to say, had planned this family vacation for months, and had looked forward to our return to what we had considered paradise. Not only are we denied use of the pool, we are ALSO being denied our peace and comfort due to the jackhammer being used, which started at 8:30 this morning. We cannot use our lanai, nor enjoy coffee, breakfast, or the wonderful Hawaiin trade winds, as we need to have all of our windows closed. Even with the windows closed we can still hear the incessant, constant jack hammering.

I have checked the resort website, and there is no notification of this ongoing construction. Hilton really dropped the ball on this. As a loyal Hilton Honors member for 15 plus years, and a vacation club owner for three years,we feel cheated. Hilton has not reciprocated their loyalty to us. Shame on them.

We are EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED by the total lack of communication. Our hard earned, peaceful vacation has been hijacked, and aborted.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rakaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and noise that our pool resurfacing project has caused you. We know that there is never a good time to perform these necessary renovations at a resort facility, however, the beginning of December provided us with the occupancy opportunity to minimize the impact to our customers . Again our sincerest apologies for these inconveniences and please do not hesitate to contact our Resort Management Team anytime over the remaining days of your vacation with us as we would love to assist you in enhancing your vacation experience.

Glenn Okamoto
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were nervous about this property because there wasn't direct access to the beach but Hilton right next door had a large lagoon with turtles and fish swimming in it! It was beautiful. I would recommend driving to Hapuna Beach which is just a few miles up the road if you want a great beach. Condo was amazing and great quality for our two teenagers and the two of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stay at this resort every year and it never disappoints. Rooms are great, staff is fantastic and you have access to the hotel and all it offers. We love the free tennis courts and tennis clinic twice a week. Weather in Kona is best in the world. This is an amazing property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As an HGVC owner, we normally have an excellent experience at HGVC Waikoloa. Unfortunately, our latest visit was soured with inconveniences.

* the oven broke; althought maintenance did everything they could to resolve, and were quite pleasant and helpful, they ended up replacing the oven on the 3rd day (which caused us to dine out for 2 days - more than we had planned)

* dishwasher made a loud, grinding noise; we did not advise maintenance because they had already spent 2 days in our unit trying to resolve the oven issue

* downstairs unit ceiling fan cause our unit living room area to vibrate and buzz; we advised maintenance, but were told that the fans were in the process of being fixed. In the meantime, the staff asked the downstairs unit tenants to turn down/off their fan; they complied for one day only; we were unable to spend much time in our living room area because of the noise and vibration (couldn't hear our TV over the vibration noise)

* there was mold on the master bathroom shower head

Instead of spending funds on Playstations and DVDs, perhaps HGVC should focus more on standard maintenance. We plan to return to Waikoloa next year, and hope HGVC plans to make things right for us.

Room Tip: As long as the noisy, vibrating ceiling fans are in each unit, there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Mahalo nui loa (Thank you very much) for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you encountered in your suite with the working order of our kitchen appliances and ceiling fans. Please be assured that we will have these items addressed immediately by our engineering team to avoid a re-occurrence. Again, our sincere apologies and it is our sincere hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Glenn Okamoto
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing