We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Walla Walla, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and room”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice place to stay although we had a few issues with kitchen appliances not working properly and also did not like the smell of the room. We would stay there again. Staff all very friendly. Wish it was a little closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
4 Thank David Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for the positive comments regarding our resort staff and accommodations on your recent stay with us. Both the Housekeeping and Maintenance departments have been advised of your comments and have already taken action to ensure we are presenting clean, comfortable, fresh accommodations with properly working amenities. I truly appreciate your endorsement of returning to our resort and look forward to meeting you and your ohana the next time.

Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    304
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
590
237
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our room was a premium 2 bedroom room which had some unique amenities such as a heated bidet, extra large master suite with huge attached bathroom. The staff did what was asked but didn't go out of way to be helpful or make you feel as you were paying a lot of money to stay at their facility. The room was clean but not spotless.There were some dirty dishes in the cupboard which make you wonder about the cleanliness of the rest of the room amenities.Would stay at again. Not exceptional experience but not bad experience either. Would stay at again but know in advance to not expect exceptional customer service as we like to get when on vacation and paying more than $500 a night for the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you very much for the positive feedback you had provided on our resort accommodations on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unacceptable cleanliness and service issues you had experienced. Our Housekeeping department was made aware of the failures in cleanliness and have since addressed the issues. I also shared your feedback with ALL departments as we are ALL responsible in sharing the warm spirit of Aloha and striving to provide exceptional service to all guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Kohala Suites at the Hilton Waikoloa Resort are amazing- roomy, beautiful, and with a true sense of "vacation" wherever you go, and from whomever you meet. We recommend that when you book your vacation, you immediately get in touch with your concierge, who can direct you (through phone and Emails) to arrange such amazing adventures as helicopter rides, snorkeling, ziplining and volcano hopping! The restaurants at the hotel are great, but expensive- make sure you spend time down in Kailua-Kona, for cheaper, more "Hawaii" restaurants and shops. The Queens market on the Hilton grounds has everything you'll need for your suite- and the shuttle is super.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank LibertyLaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment had everything we needed. The 4 adults had the bedrooms and the two young adults had the pull out sofa in the living room. The club house had a bar (happy hours) and pool and we liked that you were able to use the Waikaloa Hilton Hotel facilities free including free parking. There were activities to do though we did not participate in any of them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric V. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

At $400 a night, the 1 bedroom with kitchen + small living room + kitchen ( fully stocked with utensils and plates etc ... ) + sofa bed + large bathroom was good. All was clean and quiet area ( 3 stories top ). Free DVD rental.

The front desk staff was above average.

But the concierge desk was VERY poor. Inconsistent service. One concierge was nice. The other one ignored me while smiling to my face -- so rude. They are clearly busy with large groups, but that's still no reason to for the rude inconsistent behavior.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundTheWorld8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We go back to Hawaii (Big Island) on a regular basis and stay at the Hilton Grand Vacations Suites. We find the accommodations are very clean and suitable for both family and non family groups. I would recommend the Waikola Hilton and Kings Land Hilton Grand vacations to anyone...couples, family alike..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff, beautiful room and grounds. We travel often as a family and we always stay at Hilton Hotels. This was by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing